We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch”

Gertrudes Beach BAr
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Jost Van Dyke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tortola British Virgin Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Came on a day sail and I was looking for Soggy Dollar Bar however Missed it as they didn't had a big sign and went straight to this place.

The food is very expensive for my taste however the food was great So I guess it all played out well.

There wasn't anyone there as yet however I loved the setting of the bar as you can sit either inside or outside on the sand which is great for the tourists.

Gertrude was really nice as well as she had great conversations with us.

I really thought the guys that were around the place were a bit off putting but just ignore them and they are fine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachgurl284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    29
    11
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quick stop at Gertrude's was great!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We only had drinks and conch fritters at Gertrude's but the service was great and the fritters were, too. Gertrude was so friendly and interesting and the open air setting was awesome for taking in the sights and sounds of Jost Van Dyke and White Bay. Would defintiely recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Had a fun time at Gertudes!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our group of 12 on a sailing trip made a stop at Gertrude's and had a blast! Gertrude's Bushwackers were the best and we all had a great time dancing in the sand and leaving our names in marker on the walls! We enjoyed the feeling of Gertrude's place much better than the Soggy Dollar down the beach. Unfortunately we didn't get to stay for dinner but maybe next time :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLH613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gertrude is Great and so is her bar”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We only went for drinks, so can't recommend the food. The service was excellent, and Gertrude is a very kind person. We enjoyed talking to her and a couple of the locals - made us feel very welcome, and we would recommend it if you are in White Bay.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinoujscie, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Typical open air Caribbean Bar”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hi. I am very often on this island. Caribbean BBQ food is good, drinks excellent and atmosphere gorgeous. Anyway all bars around White Bay are nice, peoples very friendly and looks happy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gertrudes Beach BAr also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Gertrudes Beach BAr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing