We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate guest house in an impeccable location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jost Van Dyke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adequate guest house in an impeccable location”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are choosing to stay at the Perfect Pineapple, then it is almost certainly because of its proximity to White Bay. In that regard, it is perfect. We stayed in the stand-alone one-bedroom guest house (which is part-way up their little hill) and we were about a 2-3 minute walk to the beach. Which is UNBELIEVABLY PERFECT. Now that I've been to White Bay, I'm actually quite sure I'll never want to go anywhere else on vacation. The accommodations themselves, though, are...adequate, fine, etc... If you do not have expecations of luxury accommodations (which I didn't) then you won't be disappointed. But I think it's important to know what you're signing up for when you book a stay here. There is a little sitting room, a small kitchen area (with fridge, sink, a couple of burners), a bathroom and an air conditioned bedroom. It is all kept clean, but it is a bit worn and definitely, basic. I would also highly recommend bringing in some basic groceries with you (coffee, water, snacks, etc... and maybe things to make one or two meals). It can get pricy to eat out all the time, particularly for dinner as the restauarants on the beach all do high-end, high-price dinners (no place to get a quick and cheap burger after, say, 4 p.m.).

As for the hosts, Greg and Hilda, they were...fine. We had no problems with them at all but I can't say I found them to be particularly accommodating the way other reviewers had suggested. While they weren't rude, I wouldn't say they were terribly welcoming or helpful. They would answer our questions, of course, but often with one-word answers or with answers that I felt were, maybe, incomplete. I'll just say they weren't terribly forthcoming with information and not really the most engaging conversationalists. Oh well, no harm done, but a reason to do your research about the island ahead of time so that you're not relying on the help of your hosts when you arrive.

All in all, we had a fabulous stay on White Bay. To be entirely honest, though, I'd have to give most of the credit for that to the beach and the bay, itself, rather than to the Perfect Pineapple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

An amazing experience that I have nothing but positive things to say about. The cottage we stayed at was at the very top of the hill, and had all new appliances and a new television. It also had two bedrooms with AC that kept the rooms nice and cold. Extremely clean and unbelievable views. 2 minute walk to the beach, and free WIFI in lobby and on porch.

Room Tip: Stayed at the top of the hill on the upstairs cottage. Beautiful views and granite kitchen tops. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Greg is wonderful the staff is amazing. You will not be disappointed they keep the rooms very clean and are wonderful people. You are steps away from White Bay best beach in BVI. If you can find something to complain about here don't go to the Islands. The view is breath taking from the top of the hill rooms. The water pressure is fantastic every day the room is made and cleaned. They have a wonderful check in area with gifts and make a wonderful breakfast for purchase.

Room Tip: Stay on the hilltop room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RESPECTMONChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Perfect Pineapple January 16th-21st, 2013. I believe we stayed in Cottage #1, #2, and #3 (there were 6 of us) at the top of the hill. Yes, the hill was steep but it was the perfect blend of exercise and didn't bother us at all. To DixieWanderer...if you were the couple in #4 when we were there, my apologies to you for having to listen to our music late at night while we hung out on our balconies :)
The room was extra clean and comfortable. Shower was tiled, large, and clean. Fridge was cold and the AC was even colder. I've stayed at the Pink House twice before and I can honestly say I enjoyed Perfect Pineapple just as much. We had an amazing view.
Since we stayed 5 nights, we decided to rent a car which was totally worth it. Greg picked us up at the dock the night of our arrival and we picked up the rental car the next day.
We brought in staple type groceries (wine, liquor, beer, & snacks) from Tortola but ate lunch and dinner out each day. Soggy Dollar for lunch and Consairs & Foxy's for dinner were our favorites. Bushwacker's at One Love are a MUST! If you want to venture out one day look up our friends that own the Wet Woody's boat out of St. John. They are a blast and will give you a day to remember.
This is my 3rd time to stay on the island and my 12+ time to visit JVD. Perfect Pineapple was the highlight of our stay. Couldn't ask for more...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013 in one of the cottages (#4, I believe). The space was great and incredibly clean when we arrived. There is a kitchenette, which we didn't have time to use, but we enjoyed having a refrigerator for drinks and leftovers. It was spacious and cleaned every day, which we hadn't even expected.

The beach is about 50-75 ft. away (1-2 minute walk), which was even better than we had expected. We got breakfast sandwiches down in the office - made fresh each day to your request, with eggs, turkey/ham, tomato, cheese, lettuce ($8). There was also a cooler of cold drinks for sale in the office, which was convenient.

Everyone in the office was very helpful calling us cabs to Great or Little Harbor and making us dinner reservations. We did not see Greg that much but he picked us up from the ferry when we arrived on JVD, without us even asking - a very nice touch.

There have been a number of comments on here about how steep the hill is up to the cottages, but it's really not a big deal (although, we're in our 20s and can handle hills) - especially to cottage #4. Our only complaint about the accommodations was the AC unit in the bedroom (which we didn't even use in January, but will definitely keep the room cold if you like it that way) - it had an incredibly bright light that lit up the entire room at night and we couldn't figure out how to turn it off. We just threw a shirt over it and it was fine.

Everything was great and it was a great value and perfect location in White Bay, by the most beautiful beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblinDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I spend 14 relaxing days at the Perfect Pineapple. We stayed at the unit above the office/store. The room was a great location, steps from the beach. We loved sitting on the secluded porch and watching birds, people, weather, everything. Hilda is wonderful, she is helpful from suggestions for lunch, dinner, to finding a bottle opener, to offering suggestions for a hike. She has a helper in the office and she was great too (cant remember her name) GREG! WOW!, he knows how to run a great business. Posh taxi rides and always on time even if island time. Everyone knows Greg and Greg knows everyone so you cant go wrong with his suggestions for anything on Jost. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room above office doesnt have a hike up the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klfkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

As soon as you drive down, or walk down the hill into White Bay, you see the offices of the Perfect Pineapple on the right hand side. The guest houses are further up the hill yet, but also in plain view.
If you are a lucky enough to stay right above the offices, like we did, you will have your own sitting porch just outside your bedroom over looking White Bay and the beach and big ol' shade trees that add a much needed cooling effect in the warm season.
The PP is a 1-2 minute stroll to the beach and all the little eateries and beach bars like the Soggy Dollar, One Love, Gertrudes, and the rest. The place we had was clean and comfortable with two pull out couches that could accommodate more people if needed. Each morning, for a couple of dollars, you can just walk downstairs and get a tasty breakfast sandwich from the ladies in the Kitchen.
I would suggest taking a little walk on the beach than over rocks to Ivan's Stress free bar. It is a way more relaxing place to get a snack and drink when the cruse ships come in and inundate White Bay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kellybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jost Van Dyke
6.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
403 reviews
6.1 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
382 reviews
14.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages
1.0 mi away
The Sea Crest Inn
The Sea Crest Inn
#3 of 6 in Jost Van Dyke
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses

Property: Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses
Address: White Bay, VG1160, Jost Van Dyke
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jost Van Dyke
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses Hotel Jost Van Dyke
Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing