We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love White Bay Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love White Bay Villas”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Talk about the perfect location, amazing staff and gorgeous bay. My family spent 10 days in the Plantation Villa and loved every minute of it. I cannot think of a better view to wake up to every morning. The beach is fantastic and when you want to get out of the sun, go to Ivan's for a painkiller. Thad was extremely friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to go back and enjoy all White Bay has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathanThalmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    58
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
341
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in Papaya seaside cottage. It was nice and basic. It had everything you need and the view was great. Thad was very nice. The walk to the beach was very steep and long. Our package did include a rental car and you can take a cab to get the beach. If you like to just walk out of your place and on to the beach I recommend staying at a different place that is on the beach. The bed was not very comfortable and the toilets you could not flush any toilet paper down so it was a little annoying taking out trash every-time you had to go number 2 especially since I have IBS and go more often than most. Overall it was a great trip. We were expecting a little more seclusion and peace and quite. Its nice to hear the waves in the cottage while you sleep but we were woken up in the morning by a truck coming to water the plants and you can here some traffic from a near by road. Lucky there is not a lot of traffic on the island. Again it would be better to stay on the beach as apposed to on the hill to avoid this as well. Jost van dike is a very nice little island and everyone was very nice. White bay is a great beach and is for the most part peaceful and relaxing. You can walk a short distance to the beach on the other side for of the Bay more fun and excitement. We will be back to Jost Van Dike in the future. Just make sure you budget accordingly. They island is expensive (food/ drinks)once you get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolagirl1230, Manager at White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Jeff, thank you for taking the time to write your review. Since you are no longer in the US, there are things that are different on our little island of paradise. There is no public septic system on Jost (the entire Island), so each private septic system is very sensitive and no tp is supposed to go in the toilet. It is like that in every home, restaurant, bar, Inn, Villa, hotel. I hope you understand and hope that this wouldn't deter you from coming back and stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at White Bay Villas and hope you will be back again at a future date
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at White Bay Villas. Our cottage overlooking White Bay made getting up in the morning and going to bed at night worth the trip!
Bring good hiking shoes as you walk the myraid of hills on Jost. Best vacation ever!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at White Bay Villas. Our cottage overlooking White Bay made getting up in the morning and going to bed at night worth the trip!
Bring good hiking shoes as you walk the myraid of hills on Jost. Best vacation ever!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Jost Van Dyke and stayed at White Bay Villas' Agave Hillside Villa using a Living Social deal in April 2013. We took the ferry over from St. Thomas and were overwhelmed with how beautiful and unspoiled Jost was in comparison to the other islands down there. It was paradise. The WBV staff was great before we arrived; Bonnie and Thad helped detail our different travel options to and from Jost and even helped connect us with a marketplace on Tortola that could deliver groceries to the villa for us.

Once we arrived, we actually met the owner on the truck ride up to get our "jeep" rental and he was ecstatic to meet people staying at one of his villas and was incredibly helpful, telling us all the places to visit on and around Jost. We arried at our villa early and met Michelle (I think??) who was cleaning up our villa from the last group that stayed there. She was an absolute sweetheart and took our bags in and put them aside while she finished cleaning. We went down to the beach for the rest of the day and soaked up painkillers at the Soggy Dollar and just enjoyed the view looking out over the crystalline blue waters of White Bay.

We came back to the villa later on and were finally able to take in the spectacular view overlooking White Bay to a soundtrack left playing with the likes of Kenny Chesney, Jimmy Buffet, etc. The view was breathtaking from the moment we woke up each morning until the time we went to bed. The villas themselves were perfect too - we had a king-sized bed, a lounge area with a TV (that was never used), a full kitchen, bathroom, and a deck with table and chairs with an unbeatable view of the water. The bedroom had A/C which we found helpful for falling to sleep at night but didn't use it otherwise.

Thad was very helpful as well, he gave us a full "orientation" of Jost and the villas when we arrived and basically hung around chatting for a good hour. He also helped us arrange a trip to Tortola later in the week to swim with the dolphins.

White Bay Villas were perfect and Jost Van Dyke is the hidden gem of the Virgin Islands. I would highly recommend it to anybody who wants to truly experience paradise and isn't as interested in sitting by the pool at a big enclosed resort all day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin4525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in the Coconut Hilltop villa. The view of white bay was amazing. We spent every evening watching the sunset on the porch. The sun sets over the bay and over the end of the island and were gorgeous every night. The furnishings were basic, but clean,nice and roomy. The bathrooms and kitchen were appointed with anything you might need. Chad, the property manager spent a half hour giving us the lay of the land and tips and recommendations. He even put us in touch with a local guy whose boat we rented for the day. It was great to not have to take a ferry to Tortola or St. Thomas to rent a boat. The local grocery store has all the basics and there is a liquor store- with limited selection. You might consider provisioning you cottage through Bobby's on Tortola. It was great to have all we wanted stocked in the fridge and cabinets. Bobby's has a very wide selection of gourmet foods, wines and liquors. We had a wonderful trip and recommend White Bay Villas to any traveler. Also, we rented a jeep and couldn't have done without it. I say it's a must- the hills are steep, curvy and abound. It makes life easier to do so.
White Bay Villas is a beautiful place and I will return.
The island itself is our style, relaxed, casual but with plenty oh eating/bar options. You can find a party if you want to or be quiet if that is what you prefer. this is not the place for travelers looking for a St. Barths swank and celebrity spotting. JVD is for the traveler who wants a beautiful setting but doesn't require an Hermes boutique. We love JVD!

Room Tip: If you want sunset views then get a hillside villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to the VIs. We stayed 5 nights at one of the Seaside Cottages at White Bay Villas on JVD. It was a great experience. The cottages are rustic but in a charming way. They are well equiped and offer outstanding views. Easy access to both White Bay and Great Harbor makes a car rental unnecessary (Big hills coming back from gh, but just catching a cab for the ride back up is signifigantly cheaper than renting a car). The manager/owner (Thad) was a tremendous help both prior and during our stay. We would without question return and recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: Stayed at Tamarind. Better view than the rest of the Seaside Cottages due to its higher elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorcrossFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jost Van Dyke
6.5 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
5.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
407 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
7.0 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
752 reviews
15.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages

Property: White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages
Address: White Bay, Jost Van Dyke
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jost Van Dyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the U.S. Virgin Islands, the British Virgin Islands and the Caribbean as it was 75 years ago. Come and see what St. John used to be. The beachfront White Bay Villas and Seaside Cottages on Jost Van Dyke are the perfect place for a Virgin Island vacation with serenity, peace and relaxation. Our Caribbean Rental Villas offer complete accommodations to suit your every need. A family-friendly island, Jost Van Dyke offers many comforts that larger, more commercial Caribbean islands don't. Unlike St. John or St. Thomas, you don't need to drive. You can walk to beautiful White Bay beach from your from your vacation villa anywhere, anytime day or night and feel completely safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Bay Villas And Seaside Cottages
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages Hotel Jost Van Dyke
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing