We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly Staff and Awesome Food”

Sidney's Peace and Love
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Jost Van Dyke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super Friendly Staff and Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We arrived at Sidney's via a rental car as our boat was in another harbor. Immediately Strawberry and her staff were welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed the "Best Self Service Bar" in the BVI and would agree. It was happy hour so drinks were 2 for 1. We had such a good time we came back for dinner around 7:30PM. We both had the fish of the day, a pan seared Grouper - cooked perfectly! It's nice that a $24 dinner also comes with salad, coleslaw, potato salad and rice/beans - a great amount of food for a great value! We will be back when on Jost Van Dyke!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beanski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    76
    18
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Our trip through the BVI would have felt incomplete without experiencing Sydney's.
This place knows how to market. As soon as we moored, they came out to greet us on their dingy. We thought it was to collect for the mooring ball, but they were giving us a menu and asking what time to eat. They also offer the captain a free meal. We couldn't help but go there.
They did everything. We needed a taxi to check out the bubbling pools. They arranged it. We got our souvenirs there.
And the food. Great value because the food is very good. We had the blackened snapper and the lobster. Both we're very fresh and prepared wonderfully. The snapper had some serious spice to it. We also had the shrimp and lobster salad and heard they were great as we'll.
We also loved the sides - especially the potato salad.
The best part of their family-owned is the simplicity. The bar is self service, and pretty much honor bar.
We loved the place!

Helpful?
Thank Dustin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful atmosphere, a great lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

After many visits to Sidney's, it never gets stale.
A hidden little gem in Little Harbour, it's away from the activity and hustle- bustle of White Bay.
You're warmly greeted and led to the make your own drink, honor bar. Sit , relax and have another drink while your lunch or dinner is prepared.
After having ribs, the conch plate, and the Caribbean lobster , you won't find better food. The conch is to die for. I know that owner Strawberry is not likely to provide the conch recipe; it just means more frequent visits.
Find the peaceful and calm Harbour, sit down for a relaxing drink and a delicious meal.

Jim G
East Hampton, CT

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Still great lobster, with good sides and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have been to Sidney's dozens of times over the past years, and it is always a real highlight of the trip. This time was no exception. The lobster was great, plus the sides (love their potato salad) were excellent. We ordered the small lobster and it was more than enough and served with real hot butter . The friendly greeting by Sidney's daughters (Rena, Strawberry, and Janet) is always nice. Still love the "honor bar" where you fix you own drinks. The restaurant was packed and they were also serving a buffet that evening which seemed very popular. They were putting lobsters on the tables in huge numbers. All the tables were full, but I did not see them turn anyone away. Live entertainment started about half way through dinner. Obviously Sidney's is still one of the hot spots on the island most evenings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is one of the few places to still have an honor bar. We had met some good friends here and we wanted to see if anything had changed. We stopped on our way before the Bubbly Pool, and weren't quite hungry yet, but we wanted to see a menu and have a cold one. Strawberry, our server, gave us a menu and showed us to where the bar and tally book was When we finished our beers, she told us we could pay on our way back through. So we left and then came back for lunch after our jaunt. I had originally ordered the crab sandwich, but they were out, so I went and tried the lobster sandwich.
Now, I am not a big fan of lobster, but this, this was amazing. So amazing that we came back the next day to eat it again. We stopped in the little shop next door and even dropped by Harris'. So glad we came back, and will be back again as soon as possible.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl_june2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidney's Peace and Love also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sidney's Peace and Love? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing