We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lobster!”

Sidney's Peace and Love
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Jost Van Dyke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic lobster!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is the ultimate native restaurant and the best place to enjoy lobster in the carribean! Be careful when you order lobster - small, medium, or large. We made the mistake of ordering the medium, and it was way too much - we took what was left back to the boat and had lobster salad the next day. Sidney passed away several years ago, but his daughter's Strawberry, Rita, and Janet, are doing a great job in keeping his fun traditions going. The "do it yourself" bar is a hoot! Come in early and you can see them unload the live lobsters daily. This is the only place in the BVI's that our grandkids (15 and 17), asked to go back to the next evening

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    80
    18
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun, however disappointing”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We docked at Sidney's with much fanfare and expectation. However, the make your own drinks was fun (I was the bartender), but the lobster was disappointing. For the price we paid for food and drink, I expect more. Strawberry was very pleasant to converse with, however, I will look for alternatives on my next excursion to the BVI.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rdcrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lobster disaster”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Please don't sell me a $40 dinner and expect me to be happy with a frozen lobster the size of a crayfish. The graffiti plastered all over the walls, ceilings & pillars made me wonder how clean the kitchen was. This was the only night we went back to the room still hungry and that's even after the garnish on the plate for added nourishment. It may have been due to off season, my recommendation is to close the place down. Give it a fresh coat of paint and start serving fresh seafood in a portion that is worthy of the price. Run away, run away!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, lousy food”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just returned from a trip to the BVI and ate at Sidney's on October 30, 2013. We were really excited to be trying the lobster. We found the restaurant to be very welcoming. The serve yourself bar was fun, but found the choices a bit limited. Of the six of us in our party 4 of us had the lobster. We were extremely disappointed in the lobster and I personally couldn't even finish it. I found it to be very tough and overcooked. The butter seemed more like cheap popcorn oil. The other couple that did not get lobster were also disappointed with their meals.

I said I would never again eat Caribbean lobster again, however two nights later we went to a different restaurant in Tortola and my husband convinced me to give it another try so I did and found this to be a completely different experience. This lobster was grilled perfectly and served with real butter. Save your money and do NOT go to Sidney's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank teknofauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Low key”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had been to Sidney's several years ago. I wanted to take my husband back for a visit. The day we visited the island is was almost deserted. We took a cab from White Beach and were not planning on ordering any food. We just wanted drinks and to hang out. Many liquor choices at the honor bar. A bit more limited with the mixers. It's not a place to snorkel but you can cool off in the water. As we were the only customers during our 90 minute visit we enjoyed the unusual atmosphere and casual setting. The place next door had on CNN yet no customers but again it was a very quiet day and late in their season, August 17. We purchased a few shirts and long sleeve shirts. Our cab driver came back when we had asked and we were on our way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvu2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidney's Peace and Love also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sidney's Peace and Love? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing