We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belly-popping.”
Review of Harris' Place

Harris' Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Restaurant & Marina located in Little Harbor Jost Van Dyke. Featuring the Biggest and Best Lobsters on Jost Van Dyke. Our Bushwhackers are the best ever or it's FREE !
St. Thomas
1 review
“Belly-popping.”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I never thought that i would be able to get thru with that platter, but i did. My compliments to Cynthia who got over the stove and made me realize that she is one talented lady.... My lady and i owe her our gratitude. We were hungry and it was late. That fish was reduced to bones.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank axa_star1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell J, Owner at Harris' Place, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Aww thanks guys, ANYTIME, you guys were great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    38
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic - Cynthia was the Best!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

This was one of our highlights of our trip. Not only is the lobster outrageously great, but so was our Hostess Cynthia. It was like we were eating at her home, she made it so special for us. You must make this a stop. It is a short dingy ride or a 40 min walk from Great Harbour.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shopdad808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go see Cynthia!”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

As much as I don't want to give away a great secret, I do want Cynthia to continue to run a great business, so for sailors out there, please drop your hook in Little Harbor, Jost Van Dyke! Cynthia Harris runs Harris' Place and she is phenomenal - she does everything: greets boaters in the harbor, bartends, ccoks, and waits tables. She is friendly and entertaining and a wonderful hostess. Be sure to ask her to make her Bushwacker - they are the best! We visited her a couple of times now and will continue to make this a must stop on Jost when we return to the BVI.
Barb-Norm

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb-Norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Little Harbour”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Very good food, prepared simply and well. Cynthia is every bit the character that the other reviewers have portrayed. Charming, down-home service and casual, laid-back island ambiance. The entire dining experience is marvelous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gixxerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT OF THE TRIP-- BEST EXPEREINCE OF THE TRIP!!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This was the BEST restaurant i have ever eaten at in my life (and i've been throughout California, Nevada, Tennessee, Italy, Turks and Caicos, New England, NYC, Colorado Utah and Wyoming, you name it, i've been there!) This was by fair the best service, run solely by a "busy bee" named Cynthia with the most energetic, friendly personality i have ever seen by anyone. The food is delicious and her smoothies and key lime pie are [as Cynthia would say] "to live for!" She is so funny and nice and really great with kids. Cynthia has about three members in her staff, and the waitress/ hostess/ cook comes around to your boat to see if you will eat with her and she will make your reservation-- plus FREE MOORINGS if you eat at Harris' place. I mean that is why we originally went, but if we had to pay for the mooring and double the [inexpensive and delicious] meal price for the same food, service, and atmosphere, we would! Great selections for any regular or picky eater, some healthier options and amazing desserts and smoothies! They have all kind of food also-- forget what i checked off. Honestly, this is the best place for families to dine at in the world, and although it may not be the most romantic dinner for couples (i would place that within italy) it sure is the best in the British Virgin Islands and throughout the UK to be precise! I WOULD 100% RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY ONE WANTING TO HAVE A GOOD VACATION! I promise this restaurant makes the vacation 2 times better (my daughter was sulking around for 3 nights until dinner here and had a cheerful vacation for the rest-- except some fighting with her older sister :)
BOTTOM LINE, SKIP FOXY'S OR RESTAURANTS REVOLVING AROUND THEIR BRAND, SPEND A NIGHT IN THE QUIET LITTLE HARBOR AT HARRIS' AND I PROMISE THIS WILL BE THE BEST VACATION EVER!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_Expert_Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris' Place also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Harris' Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing