We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of my trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chemin Royal (Royal Road)

Chemin Royal (Royal Road)
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Highlight of my trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We thought we could do this island in a couple of hours. It took us all day! We crossed the bridge and decided to head towards the right and go counter clockwise. Our first stop was the chocolaterie. A definite must. We spent the hole day stopping at various shops and art galleries, and sampling local products. It was berry season and the local berries were amazing! I would not recommend that children ride their bikes. The roads get narrow and some cars drive fast. My younger kids did not enjoy this day as much as my teen and the adults in our group. I would still do it all over again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food, History, Calm, a vacation from your vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This island is a quaint peaceful country drive with a slow pace, lots of food, and historic sites.
Take a car over the 1930s bridge across from Montemorency Falls and drive the ring rd (Chemin Royal) around the island. Plan either a half day or a whole day depending on your pace and your appetite and whether you want to include the falls or not. Most food stands close around 5pm. There are three paved "across the island" roads if you need shortcuts. Plan a visit to the Maison de nos Aïeux Museum as an early stop (drive clockwise and you will find the museum in a large yellow house set back from a large church between route di Mitan and Route du Quai). This museum will give you perspective on the original French settlers in the 1600s (some ancestors are still here they love it so much). You will better understand the layout of the island and get great recommendations from the tour guides on the best places to visit.
This island is the place to buy local fruits and preserves. Stop at the road-side stands in the summer for the best prices, best conversations with locals, and the freshest products. We found products from this island in Quebec City but at much higher prices. Fruits, cheese, wine, seafood, vegetables can all be sampled on the island. We sat down for a nice seafood meal at the end of the day but spent the middle of the day just sampling everything along the road.
There is a tall lookout tower at the northern tip of the island with wonderful panoramic views. You can nearly see where fresh water meets salt water.
On the East side of the island, large ships silently cruze by. There are lots of tractors and agriculture, lots of kids riding their bikes. The island gets really lazy in the evening and romantic as the sun sets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwight B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Scenic Country Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, we took this scenic drive in late May before any of the agri-businesses were open for the Summer season. While we could not buy fruit, veggies, jam, cheeses, we did find a chocolatier that was open. We did see beautiful farmland, old farm houses and barns, shady woods and quaint villages. The drive was a wonderful way to spend a half day away from the city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The island is like Cape Cod, interesting little houses set back from the St Lawrence, little shops and restaurants dotted all over.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Will come back at more happening time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Early May is not the time to visit l'ile d'Orleans if you are looking for a gourmet tour. Strawberries...not in season yet. Fromagerie...not open. Duck place (Au Gout d'Autre Foie)...not open. Although I was somewhat disappointed, the trip was not a total loss. The weather was absolutely gorgeous. My husband and I had a great time just driving around. We stopped by Cassis Mona et Filles and got some jams and digestives, and then had an informative tour at a maple sugar shack (Érabliere a visiter). We also stopped at a wine shop and a chocolate place. For lunch with a view, the Cafe Bistro de la Plage hit the spot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HopHopBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chemin Royal (Royal Road) also viewed

Sainte-Famille, Ile d'Orleans
Saint-Jean-de-l'ile-d'Orleans, Ile d'Orleans
 
Saint-Francois-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans, Ile d'Orleans
 

Been to Chemin Royal (Royal Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing