We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ile d'orleans , great views, great strawberries”

Chemin Royal (Royal Road)
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
montreal
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ile d'orleans , great views, great strawberries”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is very special with Martha Vineyard type vibes. One is definetely in Vacation country here. There are two sides to it. One is catering to the tourists with fancy restaurants, the other is oblivious to it all and just farms on it.
When I visit Montmorency Falls, I head for the miniature Golden Gater bridge and go seek out the farms and their bio produce. There is an apple farm there that makes excellent cider and several melon and strawberry farms. From its southern tip, there is a great view of Quebec City.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Île d’Orleans: Island of Tranquility”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

If Quebec City is your destination and you’re traveling by car, than add a drive around nearby Île d’Orleans to your itinerary. This sprawling island on the St. Lawrence River is accessible by car across a bridge just off the main highway along the river east of Quebec City. Once on the island, the best thing to do is simply drive around its perimeter (via “Chemin Royal”) with a leisurely attitude, unhurried pace, and willingness to stop frequently. There is much to see but nothing really jumps out to grab your attention (well, the many colorful red roofs do!). Part of the beauty of this place is the “understatement” of its attractions. Île d’Orleans is a quiet rural setting where agriculture, heritage, and, of course, tourism dominate—along with various small “cottage” businesses. It is where the first French immigrants to Canada settled back in the 1600’s. Pride in and attachment to family and cultural heritage are still exceedingly relevant forces on the island. Our stop at the “ancestor” museum (Maison de nos Aïeux), cemetery, and gardens on its southern side was the clearest evidence of this as memorial markers old and new testify to those first pioneers whose family names survive today in abundance some four centuries later. Our journey around the island also brought us to a picturesque old church with a school and small harbor next to it. We stopped at a tiny pottery shop and later, when hunger hit, happily discovered a “fromagerie” (cheese shop) where we eventually picked out three or four wedges of delectable local cheeses. Down the road, cheese in hand, we stopped at a country store for fresh bread, then sat ourselves down at a picnic table and feasted. What bliss! There is much to discover on Île d’Orleans but if you don’t keep your eyes peeled, stop the car and explore, then you might just miss something memorable. We barely scratched the surface, but the afternoon spent there was wonderfully scenic and most rewarding—even without sampling the island’s ubiquitous strawberries!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Footpathsforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very nice place to visit! Pleasant drive and beautiful views.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mel1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
413 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Nice pleasant drive”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

During the week this is a nice, pleasant drive with great views of Quebec City from the west end of the Ile d'Orleans, and of the Basilica of Sainte Anne-de-Beaupre, and Chute de Montmorency from the northern side. There are six very picturesque villages, some pretty churches, and a handful of places to eat. If you go on the weekend you'll find the traffic a little frustrating. Through the week you'll have it to yourself.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Island tour with family and teens”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had a wonderful tour of the island. I would say this tour is much better in summer than in winter. That said, we did some teen friendly stops along the way as well as an art gallery, chocolate shop. If you like beer, stop at the Brasserie Berthilda Vanderen near the bridge. The owner was very friendly and we ate our lunch in her hall and had a nice beer tasting session there. Enjoy the island.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Langroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chemin Royal (Royal Road) also viewed

Sainte-Famille, Ile d'Orleans
Saint-Francois-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans, Ile d'Orleans
 
Saint-Jean-de-l'ile-d'Orleans, Ile d'Orleans
 

Been to Chemin Royal (Royal Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing