We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neddies Harbour Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Norris Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Enchanting view ,clean ,and quiet with great hospitality. We stayed for five days overlooking the harbour & "Shag Cliff" . The breakfasts were tasty and friendly. The room spacious and comfortable. It was everything we had hoped for and more!
If I could make one comment , they have free internet, thank goodness ,as my air card wouldn't work in Neddie's Harbour but better yet, leave your computer at home and just enjoy!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaCammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    51
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
145
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Myself and my husband had been vacationing in Gros Morne for a week before we had experienced our stay at Neddies Harbour Inn. We both love the area - the serenity of nature, the boats on the water, the mountains, the lushness of the hills, the sunset on the Tablelands, the waves crashing on the beach, the tourist you meet along the way, and the merriment of being with friends, and, in our case, family.
The atmosphere and surroundings of the inn allow you to experience all of this without leaving the premises! What a packaged deal!
The rooms are fresh, bright, airy, and extremely clean, as is the rest of the building. The sunroom offers a quiet spot to read and reflect or just sit and absorb the spectacular view. The meals were tastefully prepared and served, with promptness and style, and with choices to please every taste. While we did not have time to avail of other luxuries, such as the sauna, workout area, and internet access, we did enjoy a wonderful nights sleep. With the comfortable beds, quality bed linens, and lofty duvets, one is assured a restful sleep.
Overall, Neddies Harbour Inn was an excellent experience with comfort, quiet, clean surroundings, smiling faces, fresh air, and breathtaking scenery!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Our family had the most wonderful dinner here last week while we were camping in Gros Morne. The food was very tasty and represented a good combination of Newfoundland fare complimented by a modern twist. I had a Turbot with Partridge Berry Sauce that was just fantastic and the views back over the water (ask to sit by the North windows - they seem to have the better view) were lovely as well. Will return to stay in the future!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank sksuthneedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

This inn definitely offers beautiful views. The room we had on the ground floor were extremely spacious, included everything we needed. It was a wonderful stay, although too short! Our only comment (we were 4 people) is the "fine dining". Coming from in international city with spectacular restaurants, we wouldn't classify it as such, however, the food was good, well presented. I do have to agree with a comment from one person regarding the "size" of the breakfast that is included in the price. My husband did have to order another breakfast as what he chose was really a very small portion. The dining room staff was very friendly, a smile on their faces - pleasant to see.

  • Liked — the views!
  • Disliked — the institutional like door into the dining room !
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank franmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a two-week vacation in Newfoundland. We spent four days in Gros Morne National Park. The park is just as beautiful and, indeed, breathtaking, as the other reviewers of Neddies Harbour Inn have described - as is the physical setting of the hotel itself.

We booked into Neddies Harbour Inn on the strength of the reviews of this hotel that we read on this website. We very much regret having done so. We have two reasons for making this statement.

First, as others have noted, the Inn was constructed with hardwood floors throughout. That might be fine if you are assigned a room on the second floor. Unfortunately, we were given a room on the ground floor. Because there are no carpets in any of the rooms (apart from a tiny mat on each side of the bed), and because there is apparently no sound-deadening material between floors, we were forced to listen not only to every footstep from the guests above us, but to their conversation and TV as well. That might be tolerable at 8:00 p.m. It is not tolerable at midnight (one night) or at 1:45 a.m. (on our last night). On the latter occasion, I called Herbert to complain. The following morning as we checked out, he told me that he stood outside the the room in question for 15 minutes but could hear nothing. In fact, the noise did stop just after I called him. I suspect that was because the offender upstairs heard my raised voice as I spoke into the telephone to Herbert. Nevertheless, combined with the added insult on one night of having to listen to the snoring of the guest in the neighbouring room, neither of us slept well at Neddies.

The other problem is the breakfast. It is included in the room rate, which in our case was CAD$175 per night. The first morning we were served a tiny breakfast, consisting in my case of a single spoonful of granola (I am not exaggerating), two very small pancakes, and four small pieces of fruit. My wife's breakfast was similarly infinitesimal. The presentation was very attractive, but the calory count was negligable. I suppose this is fine if you are a Santa Monica stick insect who traveled to to Gros Morne to enjoy small, beautifully presented meals in a fine upscale restaurant. For our part, we were there to go hiking and we tend to prefer rather more hearty fare, so after that first morning, we found a little restaurant in nearby Rocky Harbour that serves terrific breakfasts.

DS & MP

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wichoo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Owner / Operator at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2008
We are very sorry that the customer didn't have the best possible experience at Neddies Harbour Inn.
We did address the breakfast issue immediately and would like to encourage our guests to voice their concerns right at the breakfast table. This would enable our staff to fix the problem right there.
We also would like to apologize for the unpleasant noise disturbance this customers were experiencing. 99.9 % of our guests are very quiet and don't cause any grief to their neighbours below and besides. But there definitely was a rotten apple in the basket. I wish I had noticed it myself before the customer had to complain in the middle of the night. Most of our guests do appreciate the beautiful Newfoundland grown hardwood floors. They have so many advantages over carpets (look, style, hygiene, chemicals, smell, allergies, carbon footprint) that we never would consider to cover them up with carpets.
Herbert (Co-owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed for four days in July 2008 and wished we could have stayed longer. The inn is both luxurious and very peaceful. The location is amazing, at the end of the road in Neddies Harbour, looking over beautiful Bonne Bay. The restaurant is world class - the young chef is both talented and creative and makes great use of the abundant fresh, local seafood. We will most certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — The location, the comfort and the food!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mandb_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We just returned from our stay at Neddie's Harbour Inn and can't say enough about it! The location is absolutely stunning, the rooms beautifully appointed and comfortable and the food delicious. It was an amazing place to return to after a long day of hiking or outdoor activities. The combination of the spectacular surroundings of Gros Morne National Park and the refined beauty of Neddie's Harbour Inn seemed almost too good to be true. Best of all, it seemed to be achieved in harmony with the community and the environment. We highly recommend Neddie's Harbour Inn!

  • Liked — Comfort and beauty
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tamachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norris Point
5.2 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
185 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
95 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
92 reviews
5.4 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#5 of 16 in Rocky Harbour
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neddies Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neddies Harbour Inn

Property: Neddies Harbour Inn
Address: 7 Beach Road, Neddies Harbour | Box 232, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norris Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neddies Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neddies Harbour Inn is a small boutique hotel, located on the waterfront of Bonne Bay in Norris Point, Newfoundland, Canada, right in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Our tranquil location right on the water frond of Bonne Bay fjord will reward you with breathtaking vistas to the Bay and the mountains. At Neddies Harbour Inn you will discover first class service and accommodations. Enjoy our fine dining and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Neddies Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neddies Harbour Hotel Norris Point
Neddies Harbour Inn Norris Point, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing