We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn at Norris Point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neddies Harbour Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Norris Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Inn at Norris Point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Neddies Harbour Inn for one night on our way through Gros Morne down from St. Anthony. The rooms have a Scandanavian-style decor and are immaculate and clean. Beds were comfortable except for the sqeak from the slats on my side that disturbed our sleep when I rolled over in the night. That was our only complaint about the room. Breakfast was included and very good although the scrambled eggs required seasoning and there wasn't a salt and pepper shaker to be found. Overall, we'd stay at the Harbour Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StillAqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm very sorry about the squeaky slat, our beds are hand made and do require adjustments from time to time. We do not have the salt and pepper on our tables but our server would have been happy to get one for you, I'm very sorry that it wasn't available for you, eggs just aren't the same without it. Thank you so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    51
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
144
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were here 4 nights last July. Receptionists were friendly and helpful. Our room and en-suite were large and clean. Dinner in the restaurant was good and I would disagree with the recent review about breakfast. It was as the manger described in response - wide and varied with two hot dishes which changed daily.

I too had problems connecting wifi but borrowed a cable from reception and obtained perfect reception from there on. My only, slightly, adverse comment would be the difficulty of hanging clothes in the rather confined space in the wardrobe.

In our view this was just right for our visit to the park.

Room Tip: Choose Shag Cliff which gives views on two sides and easy access to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abmoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always good to get feedback from our guest. I'm so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our restaurant. We do experience problems with WiFi at times but I can honestly say we are continuously working to improve it and it does seem to be working much better now. Thanks for the comment on the wardrobe, I can see how it could be a little tight in there at times. Our wardrobes, like all the furniture in our guest rooms (except the chairs) are actually hand made from NL Birch. I am happy that you had a good visit to this beautiful park and tthank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Bettina's Dream which is a property owned by Neddies Harbour Inn. Perhaps the first clue should have been when we got our key and the woman told us that the people staying below us were there for a family reunion and were only there to sleep so we "shouldn't have any problems". The first night the group below came home with friends at 1 a.m. and although they were certainly not quiet I think there is little to no insulation between floors so we were kept awake until they went to bed at 3 a.m. Then we could hear the man below snoring throughout the night. To their credit, the hotel did address the issue with the people and they were quiet the next night. We found the beds quite comfortable but the rest of the place certainly didn't reflect the room rate in our opinion. The kitchen was super basic and no adult could sit on the couches. We were told they needed to be replaced but if that is known I am not sure how they can justify the price as we were relegated to sitting on kitchen chairs. If you kept your eyes focused on the water it was a pretty view but the neighbouring properties had piles of wood, snowmobiles, etc which took away from the ambiance. Neddie's Inn itself appears to be a first class property although we were told in a letter found in the house that we weren't able to use any of the amenities there. We didn't have any plans to but it left a bad taste as we booked this through Neddie's Inn and this point was not shared when we booked it nor when I got the keys. My advice to Neddie's Harbour is to drop this property as it taints their brand or at the very least do not rent to two people at the same time. Note: We did get a small credit to reflect the poor stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingbelladonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank your for your review, I am so happy to get the opportunity to address your concerns again and actually explain that the noise you experienced on the first night of your stay with us was not from the guest downstairs as you had thought, but actually from a neighboring party. A rare occurrence, but out of our control. Again, I am sorry you were disappointed with the accommodations, our kitchen may be basic but does have all necessary appliances plus a washer and dryer. We have repaired the couch and do plan on replacing it soon as I mentioned. I'm sorry for the confusion about the usage of the amenities at the Inn, the note stated that usage of the facilities was not "included in the rate" of the house. It did not say that you were not able to use them. I agree that this house is older and not at the same level as the Inn, which we explain when booking, but it is a nice space and our guests do enjoy it. The wood and snowmobiles in the surrounding gardens is out of our control and actually part of the community we live in and the lifestyle in a rural area and many of our guests actually enjoy the immersion. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John, Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived about 9 pm after late ferry in Port aux B & long drive. Beautiful location in Gros Morne, but no views from rooms. First rate restaurant for little town with nothing much else. Only stayed one night, would have enjoyed exploring the area. Very nice rooms & service, but my husband felt the inn was too bland & new & not very interesting, even in such a beautiful place. Expensive for Newfoundland.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I was so sorry to read that your visit was so brief and limited your ability to have a look around our community. We actually have much to offer here in Norris Point, 3 restaurants and a pub, a boat tour and a Marine Biology Center plus hiking trails and just beautiful scenery in general. Not all of our guest rooms here at the Inn have views but many do. Our building is a renovated property and in an attempt to preserve something of the history of the building we kept the same footprint of the old property which indeed does limit the view in some rooms, however we did leave the room with the best view of all, open as a common area so all guests could enjoy it. Our guests generally like our clean lines and simple design and most especially the clean new feeling of the building, but I do understand it's not for everyone. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very lucky to get a room here for one night after there was a late cancellation. Our room ws great and the bed very comfortable. We had a fantastic view of the bay. Staff were so friendly and helpful. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and it was absolutely fantastic! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad that you had the opportunity to stay with us and that you enjoyed your visit. I hope you do get the opportunity to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently spent three nights at Neddies Harbour Inn at Norris Point in Gros Morne
Park in Newfoundland. The Inn is on a picturesque point. It is centrally located for
visiting the various attractions at Gros Morne.

The Inn is very nice. Very clean Scandinavian inspired design without all the silly frilly
arts & crafts that tend to take over some of these Inn's and B & B's. Light blond floor and
wood details throughout create a feeling of openness and airiness.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable if a bit sparse. Nice amenities including necessary
toiletries, and bathrobes which is always a special treat. And, of course, a coffee maker and fridge.
Beds were comfortable with great sheets and pillows.

There is a large sunroom with a beautiful view of the water where one can use
the library and there is also a mini bar.

The in residence restaurant "The Black Spruce" has some of the finer cuisine that
Newfoundland has to offer. The mains are quite pricey but worth the splurge.

My only suggestions would be that when booking a room try to get on the second floor
(with a water view). The rooms on the first floor are half below ground so there is a feeling
of being in a basement with windows higher off the floor. Still very comfortable and well
ventilated.....but not the ideal.

Also, the hours for breakfast are 7:30 to 9:00. While some people did straggle in after
9:00......one had the sense that they wanted to wrap the breakfast service up because
they need to get on to lunch preparations. For someone flying in from places more
west in Canada (not to mention other countries) this can mean having to get up what
feels like 4:30 or 5:00 their time to make breakfast in time. Even coming from Toronto
which is an hour and a half earlier I found that I wished I could sleep in a bit but was
worried about missing breakfast. This must be very hard for someone coming in
from Alberta or B.C...! Not sure what the solution is but just wanted to mention....

All in all a good experience and all staff were friendly and helpful and displayed that
wonderful Newfoundland hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenatoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It's always good to get feedback from our guests. Our breakfast hours generally work good for our guests as many do like an early rise to get out and explore. We did try to run the breakfast times later but it did not work out. I'm happy to read that you did enjoy your visit, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this Inn for 3 nights. It was in a great location, very clean, modern, and spacious, but overpriced. The breakfast was very basic - eggs and toast, fruit and yogurt each morning. The wifi was hit and miss - I had to go outside to make a phone call. The restaurant was very expensive as well and served tap water that tasted like it came from a swamp. We stayed on the lower level and could hear footsteps and snoring above us in the evening/night.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have a beautiful location here in Gros Morne. I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed with our breakfasts as we feel we offer a wide selection on our breakfast buffet. Fresh fruit, homemade granola, cereals, yogurt, meats, cheese, muffins, bread and a selection of two hot dishes that change each day. Our wifi has certainly been hit and miss though and we have been working constantly to improve it...a downside to our beautiful location, is the difficulty receiving and maintaining a good wifi and cellular connection. Also I guess our hardwood floors throughout can be noisy as this is such a quiet location you do tend to hear everything, however they do help to maintain a clean, crisp style. Thank you again for your feedback, it is important to us and also thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norris Point
5.2 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.4 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#6 of 15 in Rocky Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neddies Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neddies Harbour Inn

Property: Neddies Harbour Inn
Address: 7 Beach Road, Neddies Harbour | Box 232, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norris Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Neddies Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neddies Harbour Inn is a small boutique hotel, located on the waterfront of Bonne Bay in Norris Point, Newfoundland, Canada, right in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Our tranquil location right on the water frond of Bonne Bay fjord will reward you with breathtaking vistas to the Bay and the mountains. At Neddies Harbour Inn you will discover first class service and accommodations. Enjoy our fine dining and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Neddies Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neddies Harbour Hotel Norris Point
Neddies Harbour Inn Norris Point, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing