We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Neddies Harbour Inn
Nearby Hotels
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Rocky Harbour)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Lake Motel(Deer Lake)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Inn(Deer Lake)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corner Brook(Corner Brook)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
166
57
15
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
57
15
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack spruce restaurantsun roomgros morne national parkbonne baydining roomstunning viewsthe ground floorcomfortable bedshot tubfine diningglass of wineamazing locationonsite restaurantboth nightsboat tourviews from every windowexcellent choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 246 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This stay was booked as part of our East coast vacation, being in Gros Morne, which was what we came to see. The Inn exceeded all expectations and added immense value to the visit.

We stayed in the Deer Arm Suite with spectacular views down the 'East Arm'. The room was very spacious and the bed comfortable. Decorations are minimalist, but tasteful: a bit of an IKEA feel that, we're sure, comes from the Swiss background of the owners.

As a renovated Seniors' residence there are certain limitations that they must have faced converting to an Inn. One advantage is that there is a modern elevator installed for those who need it. Drawbacks, however, also existed. Our washroom was enormous, for wheelchair access. Again, great if still required. It did translate into a lot of wasted space if one is ambulatory. It was also very easy to hear noises from other rooms and the hallway.

The sunroom and deck are a treat. On our last evening we ended an early-ish dinner with a cheeseplate and port on the deck drinking in the sea air. One suggestion here: the gyp-rock inserts on the deck railings serve to obstruct the view whereas plexiglass inserts (maybe only partial in order to retain some privacy) might enhance the experience.

Overall, this stay was one of the most pleasant surprises of our trip. The website just does not do it justice.

Room Tip: Deer Arm suite has a great view. The proximity of a nearby house requires some consideration when opening the blinds.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tango9R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are right about our minimalistic style and simple design having a European feel, however all our furniture is hand made with the exception of our chairs. Although our Inn is a renovated Seniors Home, the property has little resemblance to the original building. The larger washroom in the suite was intentionally designed to be handicap accessible, allowing all guests the option of staying in our suite regardless of physical limitations. The elevator is also a new addition with the renovation. Thank you for your suggestion for the railing inserts on our deck, it is actually something we want to change and are looking for suitable options. It is also helpful to hear that your actual visit surpassed your expectations after viewing our website, we will certainly work to improve on that with better photographs. Thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had reservations dinner at the Black Spruce Dining room at Neddies Harbour Inn, The view was fantastic and the room was sparse but tastefully appointed. Our waitress was helpful and friendly. We all ordered the local Arctic Char. Our friend had a creamy parsnip and apple salad garnished with cranberries and hazelnuts to start which she liked. My husband had a rich creamy seafood chowder with lots of seafood. I ordered the root vegetable soup purée. It was the consistency of baby food with almost no broth left in it. I had to send it back as it was very, very peppery and masked the taste of the vegetables; I got a Caesar salad as a replacement. It came as full leafed chunks of romaine with a couple of pieces of bacon and thin slices of parmesan. It was ok but the creamy avacade dressing seemed more like bottled dressing. Regrettably all of our orders of Arctic Char was overdone although the waitress told us that they tend to undercook their Arctic Char! It was served with roasted carrots and a spiced parsnip seasoned with cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. The meal was priced at $32 00 for local fish. We agreed that although the staff were pleasant and the view was wonderful, the food was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank talktomona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your meal here as we are so proud of our restaurant and the overall positive feedback we receive. As you mentioned our Caesar Salad is served with an uncut half head of romaine head, however our creamy avocado dressing is made fresh right here. We often get requests for the recipe. It is also very disappointing for me to read that your Char was overdone and we did not get the opportunity to fix it. Had we known at the time, we would have been happy to prepare you another serving cooked to your taste. Our Arctic char is actually flown in and not a local fish. I am happy to hear that you did enjoy some aspects of your visit with us and I truly appreciate your feedback, it is very important to us that our guests have a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Neddies for 5 nights in July, and had the most wonderful time. It is a very modern, clean, comfortable inn, with a truly excellent restaurant, and perhaps the nicest accommodations in the region. We were unable to get the same room for 5 straight nights, and had to change rooms half-way, but that was very easy and the helpful staff took care of it for us. Rooms are quite basic, but very comfortable beds and big bathrooms.

The inn sits above the beach, with a breath-taking view of the fjord below and beyond. Sitting in the comfortable Muskoka chairs (or whatever they call those chairs in Newfoundland), in the back of the inn at night, was really wonderful. And we ate every dinner there - because the food was so fresh and excellent, and we didn't find anything else nearby to compare (although we did have 2 fabulous lunches at Java Jacks in Norris Point). There was fresh fish and seafood, right out of the Bay, every night. And excellent wine list. Doesn't get any better.

And the owner, Bettina, a lovely, friendly engaging woman who used to guide mountain hikes in the park, gave us some very useful advice about hiking in the area.

All in all, one of our best experiences in a Canadian inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighcroftManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the time to really appreciate the space and have a relaxing vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Inn is tucked away in a quiet cove near Norris Point in Gros Morne National Park. It is one of only a few places in the park offering really good food. The rooms are relatively small and ordinary but adequate. The first night we stayed in a room beside the reception which we liked but it looked on to the parking lot by the front door and it was not the best location to have a room at all. The other nights, we were moved to a room in the floor below which was better but it was partially below grade which made it seem like a basement room (not a well designed building) though it was quiet. They obviously do not expect the warm weather we had which meant we had to use a portably air conditioner hooked up to a vent in the wall which sounded like a 747 taking off all night long.
The mean in the restaurant was excellent but a bit pricey. The breakfast was superb and the best we had over a two week stay in Nfld.
It professes to have a fitness room, sauna and whirlpool but the sauna and whirlpool were locked (for winter use maybe?) and the fitness room had no real equipment (get some real free weights at least). With the hiking trails all involving climbing, the fitness room is probably not needed anyway.

Room Tip: You want to be on backside in the upper rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm sorry to hear that you were not entirely pleased with your stay. Our Inn is actually a renovation, the original building would have been approximately 70 to 80 years old. When renovating we set out to preserve as much of the history of the old property as we could and therefore kept the same footprint which results in the layout you observed and perhaps explains somewhat what you felt was not well designed building. We are actually quite proud of the property and the work that was done here. Our rooms, although quite simple in design, have locally made furniture, mattresses and flooring. We have kept our style minimal with clean lines.
You are correct in your observation that we do not generally have much use for the AC units in our rooms, especially downstairs where it tends to be cooler naturally. I'm sorry that your unit was noisy and disturbed you, this should not be the case and it is always good to know these things so that we can check the equipment and make any necessary repairs or maintenance to ensure that our next guest does not have the same problem.
I'm sorry that you did not get the opportunity to use our Sauna or Hot Tub. Had you inquired at our front desk we would have explained our policy. We do lock the doors to both and ask our guest to reserved time slots for usage. This ensures privacy for each guest as you don't have to share the facility with others. Our guests really appreciate this feature. This policy is also explained in our guest book on the desk in all rooms.
Thank you for your suggestion of adding some free weights to our fitness room, we will certainly look into this. As you alluded to, this is not a room that gets a lot of use, but we like to make improvements whenever possible.
I'm glad to hear you did enjoy our restaurant. We strive to offer local, well prepared products at a reasonable and competitive price point. We face many challenges operating in a rural area and continue to move forward. Again, I thank you for your comments, all of our guests are important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent four nights at Neddies which is in Gros Morne National Park. The view was breathtaking to say the least. There is a sun room where you can play cards, read a book or look at many of the brochures that are available. There are also chairs outside to sit in where you can watch the tide come in and out if you just wish relax a day away. The staff bent over backwards to satisfy our requests / needs. Also, there are two computers for guest use.
The Inn also has breakfast and dinner facilities onsite.

Room Tip: There are 15 rooms at this Inn whiched seemed to be booked for most nights so reserve early
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to have the time to appreciate our Sunroom and other facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews