We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the midst of heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norris Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neddies Harbour Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Norris Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at Neddie's Harbour for a few days, and all I could say at the end of it all was- 'I really don't want to leave'. First of all, the Inn is situated in the most scenic spot overlooking the water. We simply loved watching the sunsets and sipping on a glass of wine. The rooms were clean and eco friendly. The breakfasts ranged from french toast souffles and eggs to fish cakes and bacon. The staff were incredibly helpful with information, suggestions for places to eat, and things to do. We even had dinner one night in the restaurant, and all three courses were outstanding. Guests have the option to book the hot tub on premises for private use, which we took advantage of. There is a beautiful deck and reading room at the back of the property looking out onto the water.

Just want to say thank you to the staff and owners for creating such an escape from the chaotic and hectic lives we live sometimes. We hope we can go back there someday and stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buggaboo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I can't tell you how nice it is to read about your experience here and what it meant to you. What you have described is exactly how we want our guest to feel. I do hope that you do get the chance to return someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Neddies Harbour Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 241 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stunning location in small house on a point steps away from inn. Viewed minke whales feeding near shore each day. Very large with three/four bedrooms, two baths, large kitchen and living room with gas fireplace. Very clean.

Two downsides: room was not ready at three o'clock checkin, no dw, do not allow use of sauna in inn although advertised on same website, horrible mattress - more like a futon, very unfriendly owner/host.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatureEnthusiast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at Neddies Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Monty's Shorescape. It certainly is a stunning location! I apologize for the fact that it was not ready upon your arrival, that is not a common occurrence but due to the nature of the business it does happen occasionally. It your case, we did have a late checkout for a family that did stay for nearly a week which always requires a thorough cleaning to ensure that it is up to standards for our next guest and as you commented on the cleanliness of the house I'm sure you do see the value in this.
I'm sorry for your disappointment with the sauna. Generally use of the sauna and hot tub is not extended to the vacation houses as a rule for it is not always convenient for the guests of the houses, however we always try to accommodate those that are interested and I'm sorry that this was overlooked in your case. You make a good point about the website perhaps not being clearer on this and we will look to correct.
I'm surprised that you did have a problem with our mattress, most guests will tell us how comfortable the beds are. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, we will certainly look into it. We do however have a futon in the TV room which is probably a little less comfortable.
Lastly, it is really disappointing that you felt or sensed unfriendliness anywhere in our facility for this is certainly not the usual comment and also against everything we try to accomplish. I sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding or misinterpretation and again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed at Neddies Harbour Inn in Gros Morne for 4 nights and what an amazing stay. The rooms are clean, sleek and very spacious. The view from the sunroom was outstanding and overlooking the ocean. It was very serene and peaceful, one can stay here for days :-) Enjoyed daily breakfast, although it was simple with only one hot dish. One suggestion, have little containers of jam/jellies at every table as it ran out frequently and had to be replenished often. Loved the baked apple jam :). Very helpful suggestions of things to do and how to do them provided by the wonderful staff, nice art on the walls. Overall rating due to very high expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sohail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, I am so happy to hear that you found relaxation and peace here with us as this is truly how we want all our guests to feel. Also, thank you for your suggestion of jams on each table, it is working out quite well for us. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the art , we are very pleased and honored to display such talented artists. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was the setting for our final night in Newfoundland, and it was better than the cherry on top. The rooms are beautifully decorated with an eye for style. The furniture is nicely crafted, the hardwood floors are glowing and immaculately clean, and the splashes of color in the window treatments are bright and warm. We enjoyed time spent in the gorgeous sunroom with an amazing view of Bonne Bay and comfortable furnishings to relax in.

The staff were all very cheerful and welcoming, looking for opportunities to make our experience as enjoyable as possible. Dinner in the restaurant was the best meal we had during our entire visit, and has been reviewed separately. The one opportunity for improvement was in the breakfast buffet. The items that were offered were quite good, but there were no protein offerings. We enjoyed the fresh fruit and pancakes, and there were cereal and toast available, but it would have been nice to have some kind of meat, cheese or egg choice.

Overall, this was the perfect finale to our travels in Newfoundland, and this Inn is a true gem in the heart of Gros Morne National Park.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarpGirl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. It's so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and to read your comments about our style and decor. We truly appreciate your feedback and have since incorporated an egg dish when we offer pancakes for breakfast as well as a selection of cheese and cured meats. I hope you get the opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I found Neddies Harbour Inn to be the perfect vacation location. We only stayed two days but would've happily stayed a week if we had known in advance how much we would enjoy it. Our room was 108 on the bottom floor. I chose this room because of the photos and room description on their website. The windows look out upon Bonne Bay, Shag Cliff and the grouping of crayon colored Adirondack chairs in the yard. Magnificient and so peaceful! We had dinner both nights in the restaurant and found the service and food impeccable. We even had an opportunity to chat with one of the Inn's neighbors about his whirligig that we spied one evening through the dining room window. Such friendly folks in Newfoundland!

After a morning of kayaking and an afternoon of hiking, we soaked our tired bodies in the indoor hot tub. It was splendid, immacuately clean and just what we needed. There is also a sauna, but we didn't have an opportunity to use it.

Previous reviewers have described the furnishing. I thought the light color of woods chosen for the floors, woodwork, and furniture throughout the facility was very appealing and relaxing. The space definitely has a European feel. It's a wondeful, well run place.

Room Tip: The website for the inn has accurate descriptions.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_JoTallahassee_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy that you found us and especially that you felt relaxed and serene here, that is so important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely Inn twice while visiting Newfoundland. The location itself is a perfect stopover before and after the long drive to L'Anse Aux Meadows, but the Inn and Norris Point are a destination not to be missed.

The Inn itself is spacious and light. I enjoyed the color scheme and the minimalist european design. The light woods, the wonderful platform bed and the gorgeous hardwood floor in the guestroom. Everything was immaculate, no detail overlooked. My room faced out to the water and mountains. There were multicolored adirondack style chairs directly outside of my window. The scenery was spectacular, especially watching the setting sun cast shadows on Shag mountain which was directly across from my viewpoint.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They arranged for private hot tub time and dinner reservations for the onsite restaurant. The hot tub is brand new and like one you'd find in a private home. The bonus of having private use of the hot tub was a definite perk and very welcome after a long day of adventure. There is also a sauna and a small gym but I didn't use either of them.

Breakfast was plentiful and nicely presented. They served pancakes, fresh fruit, baked nut bread, yogurt, cereals and fresh orange juice and coffee. The cloudberry jam was heavenly and not to be missed. It was excellent with the warm maple syrup atop the pancakes. Dinner was magnificent, it was truly one of if not the best meal we had during our trip. The seafood chowder was outstanding, the steaks were perfection and the desserts were decadent, all served with an excellent and affordable bottle of Argentinian wine. The chef created a memorable meal!

This Inn is not a B&B, it is really more like a modern boutique hotel. All the comforts you'd expect from a high end hotel, cleaner than most hotels I have ever stayed at with excellent amenities. I could have easily stayed longer if I didn't have to see all I could see in Newfoundland. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay, I wish more hotels were run as well as Neddies Harbour Inn

Room Tip: Shag room faces Shag mountain and offers a spectacular view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCALGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a glowing review. It is so rewarding to read such nice comments and to know that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife & I spent 4 nights, 3 dinners here and were very happy with both cuisine and lodging. The Swiss-born co-owner, Bettina, has created a welcoming, caring inn of some 14 rooms on two levels that has terrific views. There's a lounge overlooking the bay which basks in sunshine and affords very good views. Room 216 is spacious. There is a sauna, exercise room-but then the trekking on the trails of Gros Morne provide the real exercise, this is good for chilling out, and hot tub all inside. An elevator is great for people needing help going from the lower two room floors to the top florr dining room. When staying here, do venture to Fisherman's Landing in Rocky Port for an excellent local seafood eatery.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms preferred as 1st floor folks hear a bit of what others are doing. No real distractio...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Gros Morne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norris Point
5.2 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
216 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#4 of 4 in Norris Point
21 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neddies Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neddies Harbour Inn

Address: 7 Beach Road, Neddies Harbour | Box 232, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norris Point
Price Range: $110 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Neddies Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neddies Harbour Inn is a small boutique hotel, located on the waterfront of Bonne Bay in Norris Point, Newfoundland, Canada, right in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. Our tranquil location right on the water frond of Bonne Bay fjord will reward you with breathtaking vistas to the Bay and the mountains. At Neddies Harbour Inn you will discover first class service and accommodations. Enjoy our fine dining and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Neddies Harbour Hotel Norris Point
Neddies Harbour Inn Norris Point, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing