We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norris Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Garden Cottages
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found our cabin very clean and well kept. It provided a comfortable and cozy base of operations for exploring Gros Morne Park. The kitchen had all we needed, the rooms were good size and the beds comfortable. Dora is excellent to deal with, most hospitable and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingjib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 44 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our fourth year staying here. Great location, very peaceful, clean, roomy cottage. Will continue to be my first choice. book it early as they go fast.This is a very quiet location in Neddies Harbour. Boat tours, kayaking is a 5 minute drive.

Room Tip: Cottage #5 and # 3 have best view but all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

very nice spot to spend a few days and enjoy what gros morne has to offer. very clean,well equipped. service was great. breath taking views. a great place to sit back and relax after a day of touring gros morne. would recommend to anyone wanted the conforts of home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,307,251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Full sized fridge, so joyous. The cabin is LARGE, with a living room area, two decently sized bedrooms and the bathroom. The wifi was very poor, you have to put the phone in the window sill just to get a single bar of reception. Skyping is out of the question. Dora in the office is super friendly. The cabin is only a 7 minute drive from the Visitor's Centre, 10 minutes to Rocky Harbour, 5 minutes to Norris Point and 12 minutes to the head of the Gros Morne hiking trail. You can get coffee at the FoodEx in Rocky Harbour. It would have been nice if the cabin had coffee filters and sugar though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Big Garden was a great home-base for exploring Gros Morne. Our cabin was clean and well stocked. We enjoyed the BBQ and deck at the end of the day. Great view of Bonne Bay!

Our only problem was getting the wireless internet to connect - it would only work outside.

Dora Decker was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The cabin across from the office probably has the best view of Bonne Bay and a great lawn for sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were so pleased with our decision to stay at Big Garden Cottages. The cabins were basic but spotlessly clean and very comfortable. For a temporary rental kitchen we found it very well-stocked, although there was only one morning's worth of coffee, so we picked some up in Rocky Harbour the next day.

The view from the cabins is beautiful, and there's even a firepit (although it rained every evening we were there, so we never got to use it).

My only reservation is that there was no phone in the cabin, and my cell phone signal didn't work very well in Norris Point, so we had no reliable way to make calls. The wifi signal was also very weak, but we didn't go to Gros Morne to spend much time online, anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We loved our stay at Big Garden Cottages, cabin #5. The cottage looks out onto the scenic Harbour. Dora and her sister were very helpful.
This is a very clean and spacious. We had two bedrooms with double beds, fully equipped kitchen, dining table and chairs, living room with TV and a nice bathroom. Very comfortable. Although dishes, cutlery, glassware are supplied as well as cooking utensils, remember to bring your own salt, pepper, sugar and the like. Most people, on their way in bring their supplies from Deer Lake's Foodland but that is a good hour's drive. RJ's Convenience Store across the harbour has most staples and it has a bakery with fresh partridgeberry muffins and breads. They also sell home made jams and jellies. The location is about 10 minutes drive from Rocky Harbour and easy access to the water taxi and Gros Morne attractions.

Room Tip: We loved #5 as it looks directly onto the scenic harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talktomona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Garden Cottages

Address: Park House Road | P.O Box 173, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Norris Point
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Big Garden Cottages Norris Point, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing