We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norris Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Garden Cottages
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful view”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

we stayed one week in cabin # 5 in late September of this year, 2011, and we loved it, quiet clean and with great views, a good location to day trip to Western Brook Pond, the Tablelands, and many features within a couple of hours of this location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This place is fantastic. Located across from Neddie's Harbour with the Tablelands as a backdrop. Both sunrise and sunset views were spectacular. The cabin was very clean, very roomy and well equipped. It was quiet at night and we slept well. There was even a BBQ for grilling fresh fish that you can buy from the local fish market in Rocky Harbour. We stayed for 5 nights and it was a great home base for exploring all of Gros Morne. You can stroll along the rocky beach at low tide. Norris Point was a lovely little town that was hard to leave. If you are there on a Saturday - stop by the Cat Stop Pub to listen to a local muscian play outside in the sunshine. Will most certainly return to Big Garden Cottages when we visit Gros Morne again.

Room Tip: Cabin 3 had a great view out the living room window and the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelasadventures63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Big Garden Cottages are simply wonderful. We always stay in Cottage #5. The view is excellent. The cottage is immaculate. This cottage has one room with a brand new queen size bed and another with a double. The bathroom has a super soaker tub with shower. The cottage is equipped with all you need for a great stay. The cottage is quiet and very private. We would highly recommend staying here and highly recommend Cottage #5. Big Garden Cottages are central to everything. Dora is a wonderful, gracious host who will help you with all your needs for sight seeing and dining. Just finished our 3rd time back to Newfoundlandand. We stayed at Big Garden Cottages each time. Looking forward to our next visit. In our opinion, Big Garden Cottages is the BEST place to stay in Gros Morne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrankQ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Beautiful location, great view from our cabin (#5), clean. Very noisy bed (squeaky). Dora was very welcoming, brought us a pot to cook lobster and pan to fry up Cod, partridge berries to try. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sdecker123, Owner at Big Garden Cottages, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Hello
I would like to inform you, as well as everyone else, the "squeaky bed" situation has been rectified. New beds have been put into the Cottage.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Big Garden Cottages is a perfect place to stay. Very quiet area with an absolutely amazing view.

Pros: We had the cabin facing the water (#5). It was the only one that directly faced the water, and I recommend getting this one if you want a view. The others had balconies that faced sideways (i.e. faced the cabin across from it). We could see the great view from inside, while having coffee on a cool morning. That alone is worth the stay. We drove by some of the other nearby places in Rocky Harbour, and none of them looked as nice (either they were too close together, or right on the road, or the view was of the store across the street with water behind it).

The cabin had a great array of dishes/glasses, etc. The appliances look very new. The whole cabin looked very new. Each room has independant heating control, which we needed once or twice to keep the chill at bay when the night temps dropped.

Cons: The major con was the beds. Both rooms had beds that had very hard, yet non-supportive mattresses, and the beds and bedframes creaked and squeaked incredibly any time you moved, which we had to do many times due to the discomfort, which would wake up the person beside you.

Other con of cabin #5: It is attached to the main office, so you hear the phone ringing at all hours, and hear Dora doing laundry and so on when she is there - luckily not before 9am.

Another tip: There are no fresh vegetables available anywhere near Norris Point or Rocky Harbour, unless you happen to catch the tiny all-purpose store on the right day. You should plan to stop in Deer Lake on the way in and pick up what you need.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blue-J-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The cottage we stayed in was bright & very clean. Had everything in it you'd need. Cottages are across the road from the harbour. Gorgeous view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.s.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Beautiful place to stay. Cabins are very clean and well kept. Owner is very friendly and accommadting. We loved staying there and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — there was nothing we disdliked
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kajdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norris Point
4.1 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
8 reviews
0.8 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#3 of 4 in Norris Point
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Garden Cottages

Property: Big Garden Cottages
Address: Park House Road | P.O Box 173, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Norris Point
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Big Garden Cottages Norris Point, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing