We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood and presentation”
Review of Justin Thyme bean and bistro - CLOSED

Justin Thyme bean and bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian, French, American, Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Justin Thyme Bean and Bistro offers a great coffee and tea selection , a full lunch menu and it features a black board supper menu that changes every day we can and do accommodate all diaetry requests
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood and presentation”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We ate twice there in late June and had excellent meals both times. Other reviewers have lauded the mussels which are indeed very good, but I found the scallops to be among the best ever. There was also a good selection of reasonably priced wines.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave2496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    52
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Tasty, fresh food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had lunch - probably should have ordered the mussels! Enjoyed the fish burger and soup. Very fresh and homemade.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowser, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“upbeat and nice”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was recommended to us by our B and B hosts and they were right. It is a small some may say medium resturant but was excellent food. My friend had the beef and she could almost cut it with a fork it was so tender. We also had dessert which was incredible. Our waitress, the chef's wife told us that he went every day to select his fish to make sure everything is very fresh. Both waitresses we spoke with were up beat and very knowledgeable about the menu. really enjoyed our time there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorenekimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Musselmania”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you enjoy mussels, you will love the west they are done here. For ten dollars you receive a very generous plate of mussels in a secret cream sauce with a hint of pesto. To die for. Every table was ordering them. This restaurant is a gem. Try their home made French onion soup as well yuuuuuuuuum

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitewaterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wipperfurth, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It's more a Restaurant than a Bistro. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they have also a nice choice of wine. We tried two different starters and two different main courses and everything was very good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanja27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Justin Thyme bean and bistro also viewed

Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing