We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we liked it”
Review of Sugar Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sugar Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Norris Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Huge, nice and quiet room. Overall feel of the place was kind of sterile. Staff was helpful when we could find them. Breakfast was buffet style and average. On site evening dining was pretty good but expensive and you need to make reservation, even though that was hardly necessary.
Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrossRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 99 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I booked this room on line for two nights. She loved it so much that we stayed for an extra night. This was the nicest hotel we stayed at during our two week tour of Newfoundland and Nova Scotia. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the Inn is right in the heart of Gros Morne Park. Hot tub, reastaurant (with complimentary, delicious breakfast), and laundry facilities - also complimentary. Glad we could stay there.

Room Tip: The room we had was as big as a football stadium. (Compared to most hotel rooms)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We opted for the cottage behind the main Inn. Very clean and comfortable, partial view of water from the side deck. Cottage had table and two chairs, where one could enjoy their drinks. Staff very accommodating and super pleasant. Amenities in the main Inn included a Jacuzzi, laundry area to do ones wash(no charge), lovely common area, where we meet the owner and one of his dogs. Nice breakfast, though we did not stay but took with us muffins and fruit for our drive to the Tablelands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nidaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This property has only one shortcoming, it has no view. What a shame in this gorgeous corner of the world. But it is a very short walk to a very nice scenic viewpoint. Excellent beds, the rooms are spotless and attractively furnished, lovely common areas, and an outstanding breakfast. the staff are uniformly welcoming and professional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Such lovely accommodation in the heart of Gros Morne. We were met by friendly staff who took the time to show us all the amenities of the Inn. Some of those amenities included a large bright common room, a jacuzzi, internet, laundry, and a pretty dining area. The room itself was spacious and well appointed. The bed was comfy, there was an abundance of towels. Our room also had a sitting room accessed through double doors. Here was a 2nd TV, fridge, writing desk and a comfortable couch. We enjoyed 2 breakfasts during our stay, 2 packed lunches and one evening meal. All were exceptional. I really did not want to leave. Two days was not enough!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really enjoyed this lovely inn, gracious and friendly staff, quiet, beautifully decorated main rooms to enjoy. Comfortable, well-appointed bedrooms with all amenities. Local art showcased throughout the inn, including a David Blackwood print in the bedroom. Delicious breakfasts, including scrumptious berry muffins, local jams, eggs, ham and egg strata. Also, this location is well situated for all exploring in the Gros Morne area, Norris Point is a lovely little village and this inn is a real treat!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed July 2 for 3 nights. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary with our first trip to Newfoundland. We opted to stay in room 11, the cottage, so it was very quiet and private. The first night we dined at the restaurant at the Inn and the meal was amazing. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The Internet connection was hit and miss in the cabin but we were able to access the Internet in the lobby. The continental breakfast was unparalleled. In fact it put all others to shame on the rest of our travels. Thank you to the management and staff for not only a great stay, but a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norris Point
4.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
216 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
113 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#4 of 4 in Norris Point
21 reviews
12.1 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hill Inn

Address: | P.O. Box 100, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norris Point
Price Range: $146 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sugar Hill Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Parl. we are a 3-5 Min drive from the Bonne Bay waterfront, and only a short walk! Close to a couple spectacular hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hill Inn Norris Point, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing