We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar Inn not so sweet”
Review of Sugar Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sugar Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Norris Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We stayed at Sugar Hill Inn after reading good reviews on this website but we found our stay disappointing. On arrival, the first area guests see is the very clinical, unattended reception area which requires guests to 'call for assistance' to check in. Considering the size of the inn, we expected a warmer, more personable welcome, but it felt very much like 'end of season fatigue' or that we were playing second fiddle to conference guests (see below). The inn appears to have been recently extended and the new parts are modern and airy but bland. The older rooms are slightly dated in decor but clean and well equipped. The first room we stayed in was under the stairs to the dining room which was noisy until the early hours of the morning. We were moved without any trouble but were then under the owners' accomodation which was also noisy until late at night and then early morning. Sound insulation between floors and rooms seemed very poor. There was a conference being held locally and some diners and guests were very noisy at night. We ate in the dining room on one night, the food was good but again the room is sterile and the staff seemed detached. We were very glad of the internet access (in reception area) as we lost our cell phone coverage (Rogers users take note). Hospitality skills need honing considerably. We would not stay here again nor recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CanucksRUsHalifax_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 101 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2007

Stayed at the Sugar Hill Inn for three nights and was very pleased with all aspects of the establishment. They have recently added on to the building but there weren't any obvious signs of building works. We stayed in the older part of the hotel and although some of the decor or colour scheme is slightly dated, the hotel was very clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and friendly. If I had a complaint, it would be the lack of a hot breakfast. A cold breakfast is included (toast, cereal, muffins, fruit salad) and you can buy a cooked breakfast in the restaurant. The hotel is more expensive than most other accomodation in Gros Morne but you must remember that there is a gap in the mid range accomodation. It seems there is the basic (cabins and b&b's) but nothing mid range. So your only option is to pay more to get more. We ate in the restaurant as there is essentially nowhere to eat in Norris Point - and I mean nowhere. You can drive 10 minutes to Rocky Harbour but the options (especially for vegetarians or those who would prefer not to have a deep fried meal) are still limited. The food in the restaurant is pricey (entrees $20 - $30) but the food is good and plentiful. The chef is very friendly and often checks on everyone in the dining room - on our last night there he came out to ask us what we'd like him to cook. After two weeks of suffering with few vegetarian options, it was nice to know that someone cared!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vanboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2005

We stayed in the cottage,late may/early june. Moose in the garden on our 1st morning, lovely quiet place, attentive staff, great base for the area,quality food. Try it!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gartoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

The Sugar Hill Inn was very nice and apparently is one of the few inns/hotels that has air conditioning. We stayed in the detached cabin. It was good size, clean, tastefully decorated, had cable tv, an ironing board, hair dryer and jacuzzi tub.

We had dinner at the Inn. The food was excellent as was the continental breakfast the next morning.

With all that being said, it was a high quality Inn with excellent food, but it was relatively expensive. Our dinner was very nice and very good quality, but for two people with wine, it was in excess of $110. The room rates, like those of other hotels, are relatively high compared with the B&B.

However, if you prefer a hotel to a B&B, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mhask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cestbonlavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers11, Front Desk at Sugar Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dieter61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norris Point
4.5 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
220 reviews
4 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
117 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gros Morne Cabins
Gros Morne Cabins
#3 of 5 in Gros Morne National Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#4 of 4 in Norris Point
22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hill Inn

Address: | P.O. Box 100, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norris Point
Price Range: $65 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sugar Hill Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Parl. we are a 3-5 Min drive from the Bonne Bay waterfront, and only a short walk! Close to a couple spectacular hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sugar Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hill Inn Norris Point, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing