We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get much better than this”

The Black Spruce Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

"Using only the finest local ingredients, Chef Jason Lynch, Co-Chef Joy Newman and their team provide the guests of The Black Spruce a real taste of Newfoundland." This quote from their website really says it all. We truly enjoyed our dining experience at The Black Spruce.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Rums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am always so happy to hear from our guests! I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for dining with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    32
    19
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful: food, service and the view”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We ate twice at Black Spruce during our stay at Norris Point and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. It was difficult to choose the second visit as we had enjoyed our selections so much the first time but did want to try other items. We were not disappointed either occasion. We had a delicious parsnip and apple soup the first visit, and a lobster timbale with generous amount of lobster it's taste well accented by simple serving with capers and lemon. The fish we had both nights was beautifully cooked and presented: Arctic char on one night and a local fish (forget the name) the second. The beef tenderloin from a local farm was equally delicious and perfectly cooked medium rare. Vegetables were just right, good accompaniments without overwhelming the main course and the dessertwsere droolingly good. Great wine selection and our waitress ensured we liked the selection. Service was friendly but professional and charming. The view is marvellous at either end of the restaurant and from our table in the back room we saw a whale in the bay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaviniaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. I loved reading your descriptions of the food, we are so pleased to offer fresh and local ingredients and I am so happy you came back the second time! Thank you so much for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

After reading previous reviews and the web site hype we had high expectations of a gourmet dinner at Black Spruce. The reality was disappointing, poor value and much lower quality than the other meals we enjoyed in the area ( at Java Jacks and Justin Thyme). Aside from scallops there was no fish on the menu. The mussels were small, tough and stringy and difficult to get out of the shells. All this was surprising when other restaurants nearby can serve a choice of fresh fish and excellent mussels. The carrot and parsnip salad was no more than a pile of shredded vegetables with little taste. The main course was tasteless potato cakes that would not have been out of place accompanying a breakfast. We did not try dessert as we didn't wish to waste many more money.
We hope that our experience was a one off and not an indication of the decline of this restaurant as we otherwise had such good experiences at the Neddies Harbour Inn.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaResortlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review . You stated at the beginning that you had high expectations as you read about our restaurant etc., which indicates that you were dining here for the first time, however at the end of the review you indicate that you had had other good experiences here...a little confusing. Either way I do appreciate the feedback and I am equally disappointed in your experience. We have a market fish on our menu that changes daily as well as seafood chowder, a Lobster dish and the mussels that you found to be lacking. Surprising actually as they are sourced from the same fish market as the other restaurants you named. That is actually 33% of our menu which I feel is fair as we are not solely a seafood restaurant and do wish to offer selection to all of our guest. I am sorry you felt you had wasted your money and also sorry that you did not express your disappointment at the time. I am happy however that you have had the opportunity to try some of the other restaurants in the area and found them to be more of your liking, it's wonderful that this area has such great selection for all types of diners. Thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice meal.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at Neddies Harbour Inn and dined at The Black Spruce the first night. We had very good meals but it was quite pricey. The atmosphere and view is very good and the service was exceptional but there are better restaurants in the area for your dollar value. Breakfast is provided in the same room each morning and it certainly provides a good array to start the day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your meal. Our prices are actually quite comparable with other similar restaurants in the area. Here at the Black Spruce, everything from our crackers to our desserts is made from scratch. Even our ice cream! We take pride in fresh product at a value and considering our location, this can be challenging at times. Thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A first rate meal at the foot of Gros Morne mountain”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We happened upon the Black Spruce within an hour from arriving at Rocky Harbour (15 minutes from the restaurant). I called the restaurant after seeing it listed in a guide book and the owner was so pleasant and helpful in guiding us there that I was looking forward to it. We were greeted very warmly by the owner and were seated very quickly in a pleasant room with a view of the water, surrounded by 4 occupied tables. The service was impeccable and very attentive.The menu offered a varied but not overwhelming choice of meat and fish.It was beautifully presented and it was delicious.Between my husband and I we tasted the parsnip and apple soup (delicate and delicious), the ceasar salad (very well seasoned) the turnip and sweet potato salad (perfect combination of tart and crunchy) and their special of the day roasted Halibut (perfectly done). The dark chocolate pot de creme was a perfect ending to the meal. We live in NYC and have traveled and eaten extensively. This was on par with good restaurants in urban centers. As much as we enjoyed the simple local fare, it was nice to indulge in a high end meal,which was very good without being pretentious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I loved reading your descriptions of the food! I'm so happy you found us and that you enjoyed your dining experience here. We take pride in what we do and it is very rewarding to receive such positive feedback. Thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Spruce Restaurant also viewed

Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to The Black Spruce Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing