We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience Overall”

The Black Spruce Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Windsor
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Experience Overall”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The breakfasts had a nice variety and had new hot cooked choices each morning along with fresh baked bread and homemade jams. It was always a satisfying meal before starting the day. The dinner menu was good but a little pricey. Overall it was a nice experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ea640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfast, I agree that a good breakfast is so important, especially for a day of hiking and exploring. We do try to keep our prices comparable with similar restaurants in the area and of course we all struggle with the cost of goods and supply in a rural areas. Thank you so much for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    35
    20
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Big city meal at out-country price.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We are from Vancouver BC and hence are used to outstanding restaurant food. The dishes we had tonight would rival pretty much anything we've eaten. We shared Moroccan scallops, a fascinating salad with grated apple and parsnip, a pasta, and the halibut special. Each was marked by one or more local touches--the scallops themselves, sea buckthorn ice cream. In each case the dishes were marked by the perfect balance between complexity and simplicity which provides interest without excessive muddying of flavours. For dessert, we we risked the figgy duff, a dish I normally dislike, but in this case we loved it. We found the prices for food and wine very reasonable for the quality. This was a big city meal, at out-country prices. The service was also superb, and the view, on this longest day of the year, divine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed and descriptive review, I got hungry reading it! I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your dinner, we are very proud of our restaurant and it is wonderful to get such a wonderful review. Thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Inventive food in a magical setting”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting for a meeting and stayed an extra night so dined alone. The service was cheerful and friendly, so I didn't at all feel lonely, indeed quite welcomed. I sat by the window and took in the amazing views of Norris Point - they literally change minute by minute as the sun sets. The food had an international flare that I hadn't expected in Newfoundland and the chef carried it out beautifully. Every dish I had I would recommend. I ordered 3 starters and a dessert, accompanied by a an Australian Riesling-Sauvignon Blanc (and delicious homemade bread and bread sticks). Moroccan heirloom carrot soup Finished with coconut milk and cilantro; Apple and Parsnip Salad With dried cranberries, Sea Buckthorn gastrique and toasted hazelnuts; Mussels Steamed in white wine and finished with a roasted garlic and parsley sauce; Figgy Duff Served with molasses sauce and Sea Buckthorn ice cream. Oh, and I almost forgot the amuse bouche: a Moroccan seasoned scallop on a bed of greens. All in all, an enjoyable meal in an unforgettable setting!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank yygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and such a detailed description of your dining experience with us! I am so happy to know you had a relaxing and enjoyable meal. Thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Okay, not much else in town”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the cottage next door and gave the restaurant a try. CHowder was sub-par (cold, too creamy), entrees were okay. Wine was good for the price. Menu items are not terribly expensive, so it is okay but not at all memorable. Would try Rocky Harbour (many choices) next time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KateKewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that your meal was not up to your standards, certainly not a comment we hear often. It is also a disappointment that your chowder was not heated, something our servers would have rectified immediately, given the opportunity. I will note however, that there are other choice here in Norris Point as well as Rocky Harbour. Thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful view & great food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This Inn feels brand new. Super clean, nice room. Breakfast is to die for. Highly recommend dinner at the Black Spruce dining room there. Chef has made some really lovely menu selections. Gourmet with a twist. Lovely Newfoundland servers, always with a smile. You must spend time in the sun room. So relaxing and well appointed with books to read and comfy couches!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is so good to read your review and know that you have experienced exactly what we wish for all our guests. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Spruce Restaurant also viewed

Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 
Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to The Black Spruce Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing