We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view & great food”

The Black Spruce Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This Inn feels brand new. Super clean, nice room. Breakfast is to die for. Highly recommend dinner at the Black Spruce dining room there. Chef has made some really lovely menu selections. Gourmet with a twist. Lovely Newfoundland servers, always with a smile. You must spend time in the sun room. So relaxing and well appointed with books to read and comfy couches!

Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is so good to read your review and know that you have experienced exactly what we wish for all our guests. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wonderful gourmet cooking using local ingredients and a magnificent view of the mountails of Gros Morne national part surrounding beautiful Bonne Bay.

Thank 582Lorraine2012582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am so happy that you had the opportunity to stay with us, dine in our restaurant, the Black Spruce, and also to enjoy the beauty of this beautiful park. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This area is a stunning example of the scenery in Gros Morne National Park - pay that little extra and get a room with a breathtaking view - something special to wake up to.
Be sure to eat in their restaurant too - great tastes and a good wine list to offer - again ask for a table with a view !

Rooms are spacious with every attention to detail - wonderful Inn to experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1Ledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, you are so right about the scenery in this beautiful park! I'm always happy to know that our guests have had the opportunity to try our restaurant, the Black Spruce and enjoy dinner there as well as the view. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The restaurant here is to die for delicious, and if you have ever travelled in Germany or Switzerland and understand how terrific a Gausthaus is to stay at - this is the place to come. Wonderful hosts, exquisite views, right in the park, and a wonderful 'vibe'.

Thank DiscoverAndEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atcanad, Manager at The Black Spruce Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our style, we certainly do have a European flavor! It is great that you did get the opportunity to try our restaurant, the Black Spruce, and to also enjoy it's flavor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I both really enjoyed our meals. The wait staff was really fun and we enjoyed their company almost as much as we enjoyed the food. Well worth every penny.

Thank KDMFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Spruce Restaurant also viewed

Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to The Black Spruce Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing