We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for basic cottages”
Review of Tableland Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trout River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tableland Cottages
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent value for basic cottages”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Staying in Trout River is a bit more out of the way than Woody Point but may fit your schedule better (i.e. stay at the farthest point).

These cottages provided the best value of our stay in Gros Morne and are centrally located in Trout River. They were clean and everything was fine. However, it is just a bunch of cookie cutter cottages pretty close together beside a store/restaurant at the road turnoff. Does the trick but not at all memorable.

Note the wifi was shakier here than other places we stayed at. Rogers cellphones don't work in Gros Morne and the payphone by the restaurant was out of order. If you have a Bell or Telus phone you'll be fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montrealais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed in the honeymoon suite cottage in Sept. 2011. I cannot think of one negative thing to say about the cottage. It was immaculately clean, very spacious, quiet and everything was provided. The owner was fantastic and extremely helpful! The town is beautiful and try the Seaside restaurant if you want a nice place to eat! Would definitely stay here again and probably will!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newfie2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We spent two nights at the Tablelands Resort this July. Its location in Trout River puts it away from the more touristy sections of Gros Morne which makes it ideal for those who are looking for some quiet in their vacation. There is none of the usual noise associated with highways etc. that often accompanies vacations. There are no ocean views but there are hills, houses, and clotheslines. The walk to the seafront and picturesque harbour means saying hello to just about everyone you meet including friendly teenagers who aren’t talking or texting because there is no cell phone coverage: bonus.

The very clean units have two bedrooms with 54” beds, ceiling fans, basic furniture and appliances, and laminate floors. There is a gravel parking lot with picnic tables but no comfortable outdoor seating anywhere. Buy your groceries before you get there as there isn’t much anywhere in the area. We were able to buy live lobster at nearby Woody Point and cook them back at the resort for the best meal of our trip.

Tablelands Resort was well worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. The cabins are in immaculate shape. Our host was absolutely wonderful. There is much to do in the area.....hiking, fishing, canoeing. The restaurant in town(Trout River) is quite well known. Had an unbelievable meal there overlooking the ocean. The cabins are well worth the cost!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YokelCletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

I almost didn't want to write this review so I could keep these cottages a secret to myself LOL

My family still talks about these cottages a year after our trip.

The cottages are huge, new, and clean. There are two bedrooms each with a full--or maybe it was queen--size bed. There's a living room with a TV and a couch that can be unfolded into a bed. The bathroom is clean. There's also a kitchen section stocked with pots and pans and plates, etc. and also a toaster, refrigerator, and freezer. It's a great feature to have, but unless you've stocked up on groceries in Deer Lake or earlier, you can't really find groceries in the area to cook your own meal. It would be a good idea to stock up though (we didn't and regretted it) since there isn't much to eat in the Park area. Everything is very practical for a family. We stayed at the Sugar Hill Inn another night on the trip when we were in that area of the park, and while that room was also huge and beautiful, it wasn't as practically set up and had just one big enormous room.

My family has been on tens of thousands of road trips, and this was the BEST accommodations value we've ever found.

A few things you need to know before booking here: First, the location is in the southern Tablelands region of the National Park. It's quite a drive to get to the northern area of the Park, which has the most popular sights and trails including Western Brook Pond. The Tablelands are beautiful and much overlooked based on my conversations with other visitors to the Park, so the location is still desirable--I guarantee you've never seen a geological formation like the Tablelands. You'll just have to drive a bit to get to the "main attractions". I think this is why the prices are lower than in the other section. The second is that they don't allow pets at all, even though the setup of the cottage would be perfect for pets.

My dad took some pictures of the inside of the cottages (that's how impressed we were!) that I'll try to get. You can message me for them.

  • Liked — Layout, cleanliness, practicality
  • Disliked — No pets, no phone or internet
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomatonose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova Scotia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2004

The side trip to Trout River took us to Tableland Resort Cottages for a one-night stay. We were so very pleased with our findings. These cottages are so clean, you could literally eat off the floor!! They are fully equipped and nicely decorated. Would love to have one as a summer cottage of my own! Excellent restaurant on site, and again, spotless clean. Just a super place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cutsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trout River
12.5 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
185 reviews
12.6 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
219 reviews
12.1 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
92 reviews
11.7 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#5 of 16 in Rocky Harbour
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tableland Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tableland Cottages

Property: Tableland Cottages
Address: 101 Main St., Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Trout River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Trout River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tableland Cottages we have a well trained and courteous staff that will help you be as comfortable as possible in our well structured, beautifully flowing, clean styling cottages with thousands of acres of land to discover in and near Trout River. Come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tableland Cottages Trout River, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing