We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific time at the Sheppard's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheppard's B and B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trout River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheppard's B and B
Ranked #1 of 1 Trout River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrific time at the Sheppard's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Sheppard's B & B in Trout River last month. The hosts, Doris and Tom, were very welcoming, warm people. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and totally clean. We had a great time swapping tales of our excursions in Gros Morne with the other guests, over hearty and delicious breakfasts. The B & B is in a quiet location overlooking Trout River with fabulous views of surrounding hills and mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artsofmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

From being welcomed with a cup of tea and a home-baked tea-bun with our host and hostess on our arrival to the farewell in the morning. We can only concur with the other 'excellent' ratings.

The place, according to my wife, is 'spotless', that is not an accolade she bestows lightly.

The breakfast was excellent with a choice that would, I feel, satisfy most tastes. It certainly did ours..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 12 wonderful days here. Our hosts were terrific - we felt at home immediately. The location is awesome. It was worth every minute of our time and we shall return.
JoAnn Meade and Derek Guthrie

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the minute we walked in the door at Doris and Tom's B&B, we felt like we were part of the family. Wonderfully welcoming hosts who shared their house and their stories. A highlight of our trip was attending a local kitchen party in Trout River with our hosts and the other guests.
The rooms are clear and spacious, with plenty of sitting space upstairs and a fridge for your food. Breakfasts are plentiful and very social.
"Mom" Doris was happy when all her "kids" were safely back home after the day's activities. We loved sitting down with them at night and talking about the adventures of the day. Trout River is a perfect base for exploring everything in Gros Morne Park. We hiked Gros Morne Mountain, took a guided walk of the Tablelands and saw whales in the bay near Woody Point.

Room Tip: They are all equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanVicky079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This a very nice, clean, comfy home. Its the kind of B&B that is actually someone's house, so very homey. We stayed in the room right by the door, so it was easy to get our stuff in, and did not have to navigate the stairs with a toddler. We did see rooms upstairs, and they looked really nice, and there were 2 sitting areas up there.
The beds are really nice and comfy, nice towels, and linens. We had the only room with a bathroom outside of it, just for us to use. But we wanted it this way, so when the baby was asleep, we hung out in the rest of the house, and did not have to disturb her.
The breakfast was great, with various homemade jams, and muffins. (the only place we got that, of the 4 we stayed in). Lots of seating, and no feeling of being cramped.
The owners are friendly, kind, and hospitable. Chatty, but not annoying.
Overall, we felt very comfortable there. We only stayed one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

It just doesn't come any better. Doris and Tom are natural born hosts. A neat little fridge for your perishables. Lovely living room to snooze in. Lovely grounds to walk. Dead quiet at night. Warm and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Brenda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

After a long day of driving the scenic west coast of Newfoundland, there is nothing better than the comforts of home, and that is what we found at Sheppard's B and B. Tom and Doris are a charming couple and we enjoyed our stay with them immensely! It was a major highlight of our entire trip! If you're heading to Gros Morne, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helens452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trout River
12.2 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
12.2 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#6 of 15 in Rocky Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheppard's B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheppard's B and B

Property: Sheppard's B and B
Address: 1 Sheppard's Lane, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Trout River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trout River
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New 2- story house over-looking the Town of Trout River .360 degree views, Tableland Mountains, Trout River Pond and Alantic Ocean, Very quiet away from main traffic ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheppard's B And B Trout River, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing