We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little cabins!”
Review of Gros Morne Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gros Morne Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Quaint nice little cabins, not a five star hotel but certainly met our expectations. We had an ocean view and could park next to our cabin. bbq available next to each cabin to use.Very clean, kudos to whomever does the housekeeping. Brand new tub surround in the bathroom. Cabins had everything you could possibly need, if not, lots of supplies available at the store. Very close to the fish market down the end of the road. Would be nice if they put in a playground or some equipment for the kids, only grass on back of the cabins and two old wooden swings, not much fun. Wifi was hit or miss. Earle's across the street had a great ice cream bar and homemade sweets. great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewsbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Gros Morne Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We would not return to Gros Morne Cabins nor would we recommend it for anyone else.

We booked our spot back in January - surely one of the first to do so - and were shocked to find that we were assigned to one of the duplex cabins. There is nothing on the website to indicate that some cabins are inferior to others (at the same cost) and clearly they are not given out on a first come first serve basis (you must need insider information). The duplexes are terrible - the noise carries as clearly as if the people are in the room with you. We were fortunate that for two of our nights the other guests were quiet but on our third night the residents returned late a night and proceeded to talk - loudly - until the wee hours of the morning.

We had asked for an ocean view and were assured that "all cabins have an ocean view." That is really stretching it, as our cabin looked out at fir trees with small bits of blue visible between them. The Internet connection was terrible. When we checked in the woman said she hoped the Internet would work as she thought they should probably replace the routers. The man quipped up that he had just checked the routers and they worked perfectly. Of course, this is the same man that claimed all cabins have an ocean view.

The cabin was seriously dated - circa 1960 (except for the tub surround which has been replaced). While it was very clean (full points to whoever is in charge of this) you can only make decades-old flooring and laminate so attractive. The bed was very soft and uncomfortable. At the prices charged, there is no excuse not to upgrade the place.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank WeVentureForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 10 Newfoundland vacation. the cabins are cute and cozy, but very close together. Their "playground" consists of 2 sets of giant old swings, and the only place to have a campfire is a community camp fire down on the rocky beach. The location is great and the store contains just about everything you could possibly need.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Cabins are very nice with Liv room bedroom kit and bath. Each cabin has it's own wifi router, and it worked ok but not enough to download pictures to shutterfly. A place to eat is across the street and many more in town

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Booked here on the recommendation of friends who stayed two years ago. They were right. Stayed in a single cabin with a view of the harbour. It was clean and reasonably roomy. Parking was paved and we could park right beside the cabin. The laundry is a good size and the machines work well.

Kitchen has just about every appliance or implement you'll need. There is a store on the premises. It has basic groceries, clothing, souvenirs and beer.

The property is located two doors down from Jackie's restaurant, which I have reviewed separately. It is also about a 10 to 15 min walk to the Oceanview Motel where Anchors Aweigh play three nights a week. I have reviewed them separately.

Norris Point is a short drive away. The path into Western Brook Pond is half an hour away. This is a good place for a base of operations to visit Gros Morne National Park.

Room Tip: Ask for a single cabin. Is suspect the semi-detached ones could be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Cabin was charming, spotless, spacious, in heart of Gros Morne National Park. Fresh sheets & lots of towels. Bonus that we were not far from fish plant, boiled up fresh lobster one night. Stayed for 3 nights & going back next week for another 3!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoMcCoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a duplex cabin for four nights - comfortable living room, very comfortable bedroom, well equipped kitchen (chintzy not to provide salt and pepper shakers). Noise travels clearly between the two halves of the cabin. No housekeeping during the time we were there, but supplies were plentiful. Landry on site, although didn't use it. Fully stocked store, although if you want some specific things you might try to find them in Deer Lake before coming to the part. Nice location - off at the end of one of the arms of the community. Enjoyed it, and thought it was well worth the money.

Room Tip: Try to get one that isn't shared, although they may be more expensive. Also the cabins in the 20...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Morne National Park
0.9 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
215 reviews
24.0 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
8 reviews
23.4 mi away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gros Morne Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gros Morne Cabins

Address: 66 Main Street | P. O. Box 151, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gros Morne National Park
Price Range: $81 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gros Morne Cabins are located amidst the scenic beauty of Western Newfoundland, Canada, in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. We're a cozy and picturesque property nestled along the waterfront offering spectacular view of the ocean. Open year round to provide you with first class accommodation, truly a home away from home. "My favorite thing about the Gros Morne Cabins? Pulling up and seeing the long lines of freshly laundered sheets billowing in the sea breeze, like a Christo installation." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gros Morne Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gros Morne Cabins Hotel Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne Hotel
Gros Morne Resort
Gros Morne Cabins Newfoundland
Gros Morne Cabins Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing