We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gros Morne Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gros Morne National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gros Morne Cabins
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

These cabins are terrific for vacationers in the area, with fully equipped kitchen, sitting area with TV, and cozy bedrooms. The entire cabin was clean and tidy as can be. Although locals considered the weather warm while we were there, we did not miss air conditioning - we're from the southern US where temps were over 100 so the 70's temps were wonderful to us with very cool temps at night. Cabins are placed closely together, and the cabins appeared to be fully occupied when we were there. Lots of children played on the lawn during the day, but our area was totally quiet at night. Very enjoyable. View of the harbour is beautiful with big picture window looking out on it from the sitting area. We were very happy with our cabin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WobblyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in cabin 19 with a friend (a group of 24 of us hikers) and was quite pleased w/ the kitchen facilities, the separate bedrooms, and overall cleanliness. The staff at the store next to the complex were quite helpful. Includes a laundromat as well so no need to schlep dirty clothes home. The view from the cabin was wonderful. There are plenty of picnic tables to gather around to celebrate the end of another great day in Rocky Harbour.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura30226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Check in was rather awkwardly through a desk in the rear of the adjacent shop, itself rather distant from some of the accomodation. The cabin itself was a bit dated, but perfectly outfitted and very clean, with full kitchen, sitting area, small bedroom and nice bathroom. The huge "living room" windows look out over the bay. Laundry facilities are nearby, as are the amenities of Rocky Harbour. The cabins are well-priced, but worth it given the location and amenities. For those who like complete privacy, this is not the case since most are "duplexes" and I could hear the people "next door".

Room Tip: Bayside is clearly best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed at these cabins in October. Beautiful view. Cabins are spacious and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cabins are well equipped with fridge, stove and, microwave, and bbq. It would be helpful to include a few of the basics (a roll of paper towels, coffee filters) the cupboards though. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jsobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston
Level Contributor
144 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

If you are touring Gros Morne and tired of restaurant food this place is just the ticket. All the roomy squeaky clean cabins have a kitchenette. Food can be purchased in small quantities in the hotel store and there is a large fish market about a block away. The view of the harbour is great. The people who work there are cheerful and very accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

the good:
on check-in, the cabin was spotless and even smelled clean. The bathroom had been recently remodeled and updated. The cabin had picture windows in both the bedroom and living/dining room overlooking the cove.
the bad:
No filters provided for the coffee maker, no paper towels, $20 per night "cleaning fee" if you have pets (even though they clean only after departure)
the ugly:
The cabins are a bit dated -- vintage 70s or 80s couch, though still clean and in good condition, walls and ceilings are all wood-paneled, taking the rustic theme a bit too far for my taste.

Room Tip: there are 3 cabins without water views -- all appear to be 2-bedroom units
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBPnfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The cabin our family stayed in was nice. It had a nice view of the light house across the bay. When the sunset behind it, it was beautiful. The beach area was disappointing as there was a large amount of sea weed. When we were near the sea weed, it had a strong odor. The cabin did had a nice kitchen, stove, and refridgerator. There is a very good family restaurant across the street from the cabins that I would highly recommend for authentic newfoundland cuisine. Sorry, I don't remember the name.

Room Tip: Stayed in large 2 bedroom cabin (second from the end of the row).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarlandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Morne National Park
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
12.2 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
23.4 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.2 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gros Morne Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gros Morne Cabins

Property: Gros Morne Cabins
Address: 66 Main Street | P. O. Box 151, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gros Morne National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gros Morne Cabins are located amidst the scenic beauty of Western Newfoundland, Canada, in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. We're a cozy and picturesque property nestled along the waterfront offering spectacular view of the ocean. Open year round to provide you with first class accommodation, truly a home away from home. "My favorite thing about the Gros Morne Cabins? Pulling up and seeing the long lines of freshly laundered sheets billowing in the sea breeze, like a Christo installation." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gros Morne Cabins Hotel Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne Hotel
Gros Morne Resort
Gros Morne Cabins Newfoundland
Gros Morne Cabins Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing