We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Western Brook Pond

Western Brook Pond
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you are in this part of the world you cannot miss this. It is a 3km walk into the site but it is level, comfortable walking. Boat tour is spectacular - we had a very, very windy day but the temp was around 15 degrees so we were comfortable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    71
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This boat trip was wonderful. Definitely worth the 3 km hike to get to the dock!! Beautiful waterfalls and interesting information about the geology of the area. Very good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank grandkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fjords in Newfoundland! Great scenery!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The walk in (45 min recommended) from the parking lot to the dock is beautiful so allow yourself at least an hour so it can be enjoyed. The boat tour guide was very informative and interesting. The mountain and waterfall sights were beautiful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatMilland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful Inland Fjord”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I took an early afternoon tour with Bon Tours on Western Brook Pond. It was thoroughly enjoyable. The scenery is marvellous, with massive mountains on each side and waterfalls that seem to plunge from the heavens. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful, and exhibited that wonderful Newfoundland hospitality that goes so far in making a tour special. Please note: Don't let the term "pond" fool you. In Newfoundland and Labrador any body of water seems to be called a "pond". Western Brook Pond is a 16 kilometre long lake surrounded by 600 metre mountains and has a depth of 165 metres (10 miles long, 2000 foot mountains and 550 feet deep).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan20120525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We signed up for the 10AM boat trip - less expensive and better lighting. It didn't take long to walk the 3km path to the launch and we enjoyed a cup of coffee at the boathouse.

There appear to be three different boats used (depending on numbers expected?) We were on the mid-sized boat. There was room for about 30 people on the upper deck (which we wanted) so when we saw a line start to form about 30 minutes before departure we quickly got into it - the views from the top deck were outstanding so I recommend arriving early in order to queue up.

The trip itself was great - interesting information, Newfoundland music, times of quiet, and plenty of geology to see.

Following the trip we ate food purchased at the dock. The sandwich was terrible but the soup was excellent (and a generous portion).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WeVentureForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Brook Pond also viewed

Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
 

Been to Western Brook Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing