We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarenville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island View Hospitality Home
Ranked #1 of 2 Clarenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent two nights at the Island View with the hostess, Pat. Pat made us feel like we've known her for years and it really felt like we were returning home. The all-day sticky buns and muffins were an unexpected treat and probably responsible for the 2 pounds I gained during our trip.
Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_in_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Island View Hospitality Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

There is a lovely view from the front porch of this B & B, but only a bit of a view from the rooms. Except for the ubiquitous antique dolls, and carriages, if you like collectibles of this sort, you'll be in heaven, but if not, it's dust-collecting frozen faces.

The room was alright, but the bed mattress sagged in the middle.

On the positive side,the owner went out of her way to accommodate my food issues. This place is always booked, and the price is reasonable, so it must be a hit with some people. By the way, though the famous sticky buns don't quite live up to their reputation, the home made cinnamon bread is a knock out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miraclecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This facility has an amazing collection of antiques and collection of local artifacts, along with many dolls. Pat takes much pleasure in her B&B and was a very gracious host. The entire main floor is at the guests disposal. Room #1 was adequate but a little small for space. The ensuite and shower area were very clean, as was the rest of the facility.

Her breakfast was well proportioned and accompanied with her home made "sticky buns". A must even for the diet conscious eater.

It was a pleasure staying here and would definately stay here again if the opportunity were to arise.

Thanks Pat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Pat, the owner/hostess of the Island View, greeted us with friendly eastern hospitality. Pat lives in the basement. The entire main floor is for guest enjoyment, with the accommodations on the second floor. The main floor is filled with antiques and collectibles and all very carefully labelled and displayed, which guests can enjoy at their leisure. There was a gazebo with a lovely view where we sat and enjoyed a glass of wine before heading out for supper. Her sensational sticky buns were available anytime. She served an excellent full breakfast with homemade jams, bread, and sticky buns giving us a great start to our day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pat's Island View Sept. 20 and 21 st., her great hospitality and friendly welcome made our stay a very pleasant experience. She is so willing to make you feel at home and to enjoy your stay, adding to that the "stickey buns " and well prepared breakfast including her homemade bread served in her dining room overlooking the beautiful bay.. Thanks for sharing your home and wonderful collection of days gone by with us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed with Pat at Island View for just one night, but we highly recommend this inn. Pat is warm and friendly. The whole main floor of the house is for the use of her guests, and it is also a wonderful museum with antiques and collections throughout the main floor. Her breakfast was wonderful, and the sticky buns were delicious. This is likely the best B&B I have ever stayed at, and the price is exceptionally good. It is well located for touring the Bonavista Peninsula, and easy to find. Allow yourself some time to relax and enjoy the atmosphere of this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise_B_533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recommend this B&B. The owner, Pat, is very friendly and accommodating. When we arrived she was helping some people (who hadn't booked a place) find accommodations. She helped us book a tour (Rugged Beauty Boat Tour). Food is excellent.very positive experience. Much better than a hotel (and we're not always fond of B&Bs)
Good location to explore bonavista peninsula and terra nova national park

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
1.7 mi away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
22.4 mi away
Kilmory Resort
Kilmory Resort
#1 of 1 in Swift Current
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Hospitality Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Hospitality Home

Address: 128 Memorial Dr, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1N4, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clarenville
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Island View Hospitality Home Clarenville, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing