We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarenville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarenville Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Certificate of Excellence
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

If you are deciding where to stay when you are in or around Clarenville, this is the place. The desk clerk, Gail, was a pleasure to deal with, as were the rest of the staff. Friendly and very accomodating. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The king size bed is very comfortable - plenty of pillows and a down comforter. We had an ocean view room with a balcony which was wonderful. The flat screen TV was a nice surprise. Rooms also have an ironing board and iron, mini fridge and hair dyer. Remodeling was in progress when we stayed but was not at all a detriment. Even the people who were doing the remodeling were super friendly.
We had originally made a reservation at "another motel" in the area, but could only stand one night, and then spent the next 5 days at the Clarenville Inn. Trust me - it's the best place in town. We hope to be back in the future!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the ocean. Never heard any traffic noise - slept like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutch0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    70
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
46
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I recently stayed at the Clarenville Inn for the first time and it won't likely be the last. The room I was in (and apparently all the rooms) was just recently renovated and they've done a pretty decent job. There did appear, based upon the noise when I first arrived, that perhaps some further renovations were continuing in other rooms further down the hall. I could also smell paint while walking to my room so I suspect renovations are finishing up. I did notice that many room doors could use a second coat of paint.

Check in was OK, check out wasn't as good but the desk clerk had worked all night and was getting off soon. She didn't seem to be the friendliest or most cheerful person but I wouldn't be either if I had worked all night.

The room was nicely decorated, very big, flat-screen TV mounted on the wall. Desk area was great to work on, lots of room. One of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. Like many Newfoundland hotels the sink area and the toilet/tub area are in separate "rooms". I found the toilet to be placed awfully close to the wall and it seemed a bit claustrophobic sitting on it.

The Inn does have a bar and a restaurant but I didn't go to either this stay - perhaps in the future?

I was in a room facing the TCH and I did hear some traffic noise during the early evening but it certainly wasn't anything too bad. I would think the rooms facing away from the highway would be quieter.

All-in-all one of the better hotels that I've stayed at throughout Newfoundland and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Away from the highway would be quieter (but more costly) but I didn't find traffic noise to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gutch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden
Level Contributor
114 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

A really nice hotel. Front rooms can be noisy from road traffic. Appears very isolated bu a 10 min walk takes you 9doewenhill0 to the residential are which is very pretty. Chinese Restaurantand General Store there. But then you have to walk back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is an older style motel but the rooms were totally renovated and are very nice. The beds are comfortable and well appointed. The service was also friendly. Some of the rooms have two doors that let you go directly to the parking lot from your room, making it convenient to load and unload.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed three nights at the Clarenville. Our room was bright and clean, with a very comfortable bed, and many pillows. The set-up of the room was very thoughtful and elegantly themed with black and white - High-low bedside lamps above night-tables, a long desk/dresser/fridge unit along one wall, and two easy chairs. The on-site restaurant, Bacalao, has a good variety of very well-prepared food, and there is a good variety of art by Newfoundland artists on the walls throughout. We had no occasion to use the outdoor pool, Newfoundland weather being what it is, but it's there, and looked clean and new.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjymorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked this place on line as a stopover driving across from Gros Morne to St. Johns, not expecting too much for a one night stay. Boy, were we impressed!
The staff were attentive, quick and polite, the rooms upscale, clean and quiet, and the attached restaurant equally outdid our expectations with excellent dishes of local and "nouveau" classics
The swimming pool was just another added perk
the only drawback, and a little one at that, is the business facilities have no printer, so you won't be able to print up your boarding passes or other documents

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mund00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
239 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed one night at the Clarenville Inn and were very pleased with the hotel. Our room was on the first floor and had entrances from both an interior hallway as well as an exterior one. This gave it an appearance more like a motel or motor inn. The room itself was recently remodeled very nicely. Everything appeared to have been updated - bathroom, linens, furniture, etc. It was very nice and very clean. The rooms are all non-smoking. Our greeting upon arriving and assistance when checking out was very friendly and helpful. We also had a very nice meal in the hotel restaurant.

Overall, we were very pleased and pleasantly surprised with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissaJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
0.6 mi away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
21.2 mi away
Kilmory Resort
Kilmory Resort
#1 of 1 in Swift Current
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarenville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarenville Inn

Property: Clarenville Inn
Address: 134 Trans Canada Hwy | Clarenville, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarenville Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Inn with a view" Featuring 63 entirely renovated air-conditioned rooms and 5 banquet facilities. Renowned for its panoramic view, this property is located on the gateway to Newfoundland's most prominent vacation destination - the Discovery Trail. Enjoy flavorful and hearty style bistro cooking at Stellar Bistro & Lounge while overlooking picturesque Trinity Bay. Disability accessible, wireless internet, fitness centre, seasonal swimming pool and warm hospitality. If you require any further information please don't hesitate to call, our friendly certified staff will be pleased to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Clarenville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarenville Hotel Clarenville
Clarenville Inn Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing