We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a relaxing weekend”
Review of St. Jude Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Jude Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
1 review
“Great hotel for a relaxing weekend”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great hotel, service and food is excellent in the resturant , and very friendly and helpful staff on the front desk. We stay there every time we are in Clarenville, rooms have always been clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty G, Operations Manager at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Brenda,

Thank you for taking the time to review St. Jude Hotel and for choosing us as your place to stay while in Clarenville. We'd also like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and our restaurant.

We look forward to you staying with us again the next time you are in the Clarenville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    57
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
48
1
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Was a great stay, staff was nice and personable, clean rooms lots hot water, lots of clean towels, clean beds, no problems at all food was good, easy access from the TransCanada highway, all was a very good stay!. ...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty G, Manager at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Mr. C,
Thank you for recently staying with us here at St. Jude Hotel. We appreciate your business and are happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasurable one. We strive to provide the best experience possible for all of our guests. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great hotel and easy to access. Drive up rooms really make things convenient especially with luggage. Clean and comfortable especially for the rate. Definitely recommend for travellers on business. Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty G, Manager at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review St. Jude Hotel. Our main goal is customer satisfaction and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I just stayed at the St. Jude for one night. Our daughter was playing in a volleyball tournament in Clarenville. The hotel is right on the TCH. It has a restaurant in the hotel. Nothing within walking distance so if you need anything, you are driving. I had a room on the main floor on the back side of the hotel. No highway noise. This is a typical small hotel. You can hear all doors opening and closing in the hallway. The room had all the necessities. It was clean though a little tired. My bed was clean though the white bed sheets were a tad gray. The bed and pillows were good. I had a good night sleep once everyone else settled down. (closing hallway doors) The upside of this hotel is the front counter. The staff was very friendly. I forgot my cell charger. When I asked at the front counter if they may have any, they pulled out a box full of them and we were able to find a fit. This was a lifesaver. I did not eat in the restaurant but our daughter did. She said the food was good.

Room Tip: The TCH is not busy at night so either side of the hotel would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADBOCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty G, Operations Manager at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback. Our goal is to provide top notch service and receiving feedback helps us to attain that goal. We want to thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit Nunavut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Rolling down the TCH #1 across Newfoundland, this hotel provides an excellent stopping point in a town which is a good half way point between Gander and St John's
A good restaurant, senior's room rates and lots of easy parking make this an hotel we will use again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polarpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty G, Manager at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review St. Jude Hotel. Our main goal is customer satisfaction and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel while on a vacation trip. It is conveniently located along the TCH. Check-in was expeditious, our room was extra-large, clean and very quiet considering the proximity of the highway. Service and food in the restaurant was okay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples Florida
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent one night here, room was clean, comfortable all necessary amenities. Chose this hotel over Clarenville Inn which is advertised as a family place, thought it would be quiet, which it was. Had planned to have dinner at Stellar Inn Bistro, ended up having late lunch there instead, which was OK. Had late snack at Dustabella's great Greek salad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammyofTriplets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
0.6 mi away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
47 reviews
20.9 mi away
Kilmory Resort
Kilmory Resort
#1 of 1 in Swift Current
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Jude Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Jude Hotel

Property: St. Jude Hotel
Address: 247 Trans Canada Hwy, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1Y4, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Jude Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Jude Hotel is a Canada Select 3 1/2 star award winning property located on the Trans Canada Highway in the town of Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador. St. Jude Hotel provides a great base from which to explore the historic Discovery Trail with its numerous tourist attractions. We are located within half an hour of major industrial sites including: Bull Arm Offshore Fabrication Facility, Whiffen Head Trans-Shipment Terminal and North Atlantic Refinery. We are open all year round and have a full service restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your St. Jude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Jude Hotel Clarenville, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing