We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great STay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn & Garden Cafe
Ranked #3 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great STay”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We just returned for a 2nd visit of 2 nights for a family reunion. Our host Sandra was so attentive and couldn't have taken better care of us. The rooms are spacious and supplied with everything from mini fridges to the softest robes and even flip flops. The breakfasts are fabulous and you have a variety of choices. The cherry almond muffins are the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have attended several functions at the restaurant and have always been pleased. This past week we attended the Tale of Two Chefs Night where Chef Cathey cooked with Chef Morrison of Mallards. They are both also musicians, so it was a fun night of great food and great music. Fun, fun, fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mheine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My new favorite place to eat! Friendly staff, wonderful service, out of this world food at a good price! Will be back again and again! My husband who has something negative to say everywhere we eat loved the food and had nothing bad to say

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kris10scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Sandra and her staff are perfectly wonderful You are made to feel at home instantly. Our room was lovely, big and immaculately clean. Dinner under the direction of Chef Ted Cathy was excellent. And then breakfast - first there is an extensive menu (at a B & B ?) and then it is all prepared and served by Sandra
herself. It was utterly delicious, with so many little personal touches. We were just so impressed with Sandra and her operation. If you are ever in this part of the Virginia Eastern Shore, THIS is the place to stay !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the inn and garden cafe. Were welcomed with a complimentary glass of wine and great conversation. Room very nice free dvds to watch and lovely decor. Breakfast was gourmet with several options including mimosas for 5 dollars and we set off with a goodie bag of snacks. If you are heading to places south such as outer banks good midway point or a great place to stay in itself.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The owner Sandy was the perfect hostess. She treats you like a friend and immediately makes you feel welcome and comfortable. Breakfast menu is extensive and included. The Garden Cafe is cheerful and dinner menu is creative and delicious. Chef Ted is awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just made our second visit in two years to this great B & B on our way to the Outer Banks from Jersey and cannot say how much we love it there. Sandy goes out of her way to make you feel like you are coming home. The room has everything you can possibly think of in it and is extremely comfortable.

But it gets even better beyond the room. This B & B has a fully stocked bar and a witty engaging bartender Britley who is good for more than a few laughs. Turning to the restaurant, we got a first class meal and the chef came out to talk to us after dinner.

And one last thing, the breakfast in the morning is to die for! Fresh fruits, home baked bread and muffins and Sandra's special omelet. Everything was absolutely wonderful! The Inn and Garden Cafe is a special place!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the blue and yellow rooms on first floor. Both are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magilla59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onancock
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
146 reviews
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
747 reviews
24.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Pocomoke City
134 reviews
24.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn & Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn & Garden Cafe

Property: The Inn & Garden Cafe
Address: 145 Market St, Onancock, VA 23417-4226
Location: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn features 4 beautifully appointed guest suites, all with private baths. Each room is furnished country style, featuring a queen size bed, armoire, cable television/ DVD, CD player, refrigerator, sitting area, and other personal amenities - affording our guests a comfortable "at home" feeling. In addition, a library of books, magazines, and DVD movies is available to all guests. We can supply rollaway beds, playpens, high chairs, card tables and such to fulfill all your lodging needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing