We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn & Garden Cafe
Ranked #3 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We just returned from spending five nights at The Inn & Garden Cafe and it was definitely a thumbs-up experience. Never have we stayed in a B&B where so many amenities were provided for the comfort and convenience of the guests. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable; there was also a small refrigerator with sparkling cider, snacks and water provided. Sandra and Paul have done a wonderful job in making this a place you to which you want to return and we will! I must mention the breakfast which was superb and varied; Sandra's pastries and muffins were mouth-wateringingly good. This place definitely deserves its three diamond rating.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crosswordfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 123 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2008

It was a hot day and we were travel weary but the welcome by Sandra was uplifting and we were lucky that Paul her husband was on hand to help tote the suitcases upstairs.

The room was huge and cheery and very fresh, a result of a great deal of thought and care,echoing Sandras own charm and elegance. Dinner was prepared,plated and presented with style and Paul who has had wine and food tuition was the perfect 'sommellier',please do rely on his judgement....it's spot on.

Although Dennis the Chef is the main man in the kitchen,both Paul and Sandra have their input and Sandra produces the finest Bread and Cakes, Paul cooks the most intriguing hash browns at breakfast...leave room though.

Their staff too deserve more than a nod of appreciation they were the friendliest and informative of any we met on our 2000 mile road trip.
All in all this was a memorable stay in an area thats so peacefull.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

My mother and I visited the Eastern Shore of Virginia for a Mothers Day family cookout. My mom had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast and I wanted her to have a pleasant experience. The first B&B I called was The Inn at Onancock but they did not have 2 rooms available so they referred me to the Inn and Garden Cafe. After reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor, I decided to call and make a reservation.

When we arrived, we were met in the parking lot by one of the General Managers. He was very pleasant and welcoming, carried our luggage and escorted us to our rooms. my mother stayed in the Blue Room and my 11 year old daughter and I had the Yellow Room. What a pleasant surprise!!!!!!! This B&B left no stone unturned. There were so many extras in the room. they tried to think of everything to make the experience a pleasant and memorable one. We ABSOLUTELY LOVED our stay at the Inn and Garden Cafe. Breakfast was wonderful and the hospitality was fantastic. I would stay again without a thought.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yahna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Incredible Inn with superior service

What a great place to spend a weekend with all
the special touches

Outstanding dining with a wide variety of creative selections

THANK YOU for all you did to make this and incredible weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DEGolferDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

The Inn and Garden Cafe offers the perfect respite for anyone wanting to "get away from it all" and enjoy quiet relaxation, the comforts of home, warm and friendly hospitality, and the ultimate in dining delights! We found the Innkeepers to be most delightful folks, while the culinary fare prepared by the kitchen was absolutely remarkable. In fact, without exaggeration, my wife and I agreed that our dining experience at the Inn equaled any we've had anywhere. This place is truly a gem!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Clarky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Hospitality abounds at the Inn and Garden Cafe in Onanock, Virginia. The Inn is beautifully appointed - comfortable and so welcoming. The Garden cafe is very open and airy, creating a beautiful and relaxing setting.

The delicious afternoon cookies were only a prelude to the gourmet breakfast that makes up the morning fare. Our host and hostess, Paul and Sandra Fox served a marvelous combination of fruits, muffins and creative egg dishes for us.

We only traveled about 100 miles from our home to reach the inn but we escaped to an inviting oasis where we could relax and be pampered. We now plan to return and experience one of their great weekend dinner offerings.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GourmetRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

This small B & B Inn and Restaurant is one of those wonderful surprises that are found from time to time. The Innkeepers have anticipated the needs of their guests in every possible way from fresh baked cookies, early morning coffee and juice to the well appointed and comfortable room. Sandra and Paul are wonderful and delightful hosts who take pride in everything they do. No review of this wonderful little inn would be complete without praising the dining room. Breakfast begins with freshly baked exotic pastries (Sandra, you are amazing) and fresh fruit with lime syrup!!!! The main course is chosen from a menu of 9 items which include such items as 'Hangtown Fry' (sausage crusted oysters and bacon omelet) or 'Truffled Egg Martini' (scrambled eggs, smoked salmon, chives, creme fraiche and caviar). Breakfast was superb and rates among the best we have had anywhere in the world. Dinner was equally as memorable. Our thanks Denis (Sandra and Paul's partner) for your excellent cuisine, truly wonderful. Thank you everyone.it was a pleasure to meet you all. We hope to see you again soon..

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GP-JPBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn & Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn & Garden Cafe

Address: 145 Market St, Onancock, VA 23417-4226
Location: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price Range: $110 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn features 4 beautifully appointed guest suites, all with private baths. Each room is furnished country style, featuring a queen size bed, armoire, cable television/ DVD, CD player, refrigerator, sitting area, and other personal amenities - affording our guests a comfortable "at home" feeling. In addition, a library of books, magazines, and DVD movies is available to all guests. We can supply rollaway beds, playpens, high chairs, card tables and such to fulfill all your lodging needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing