We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the view”

Mallards at the Wharf
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Onancock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Waterfront dining with an upscale casual seafood focused menu. Specializing in the use of Local, sustainable and fresh products with an award winning chef.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Sitting on the deck with the Bay breezes and warm sunshine. The food here is very fresh and the are a number of tasty salads along with the usual Eastern Shore fare (all well prepared). We came for a late (3:30 pm) lunch which usually means poor service or limited food choices. Not here. Very accommodating owner and staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wundergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    97
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cape charles, va
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect afternoon”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lunch on the outdoor deck overlooking the harbor, beautiful day. We had mussels in a Thai Lemongrass/coconut broth and fresh salty seaside oysters chased with a glass of Muscadet. The perfect pairing. Steve the bartender helped us with the selections.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamcdevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“After one year living in town, this was the best meal we have had.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We had seven people for dinner. Each person ordered something different. Fish, beef, appetizers we're all served hot, on time and properly prepared. I suggest the spring rolls be ordered well done. This was truly a great meal with a lot of challenges for the chef. Excellent job.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DogHouse_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOSTIN, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Easter Brunch”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Took the family there for Easter Brunch. We got there at 2:30 and the brunch ended at 3:00. We were warmly welcomed by the "musical chef" and promptly seated. The brunch was AWESOME...Prime rib, crab cakes, nicely fried fish, and all the sides one could ask for. The crab cakes rivaled the best I've ever had. We could tell that these folks were interested in our satisfaction, as even at that late hour, the buffet was full, warm, and very attractive.

These folks get it. Stop in for a treat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDSHOREBILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset view and delicious food!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ate at Mallard's and enjoyed a beautiful view of the water. The restaurant is small and full of character. Everything we got was cooked perfectly-calamari, crab cakes, and salmon. My daughter's favorite was the red-skinned mashed potatoes, which were seasoned perfectly. It is definitely the best food that we've found on the Eastern Shore!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blipblops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mallards at the Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing