We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Best Meals Ever”

Mallards at the Wharf
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Onancock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Waterfront dining with an upscale casual seafood focused menu. Specializing in the use of Local, sustainable and fresh products with an award winning chef.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“One of My Best Meals Ever”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Manhattan good. Crab soup unusual and good. Bread and seasoned butter other-worldly. Horseradish crusted salmon over smashed potatoes and sautéed spinach? Ridiculous. No! Subtle and fantastic. I hear the view is good, but I was there in the dark, and the only customer a few minutes after my arrival. Off season, I suppose, but I got the full treatment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    103
    36
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food. Fantastic view!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

You can't find a prettier spot to eat a salmon BLT (or anything else) in all of Onancock! In the summer, you can sit out on the patio right on Onancock Creek and enjoy your food and a little live music as you watch paddlers return to the kayak shop next door from their adventures on the water. Love it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maargvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Work on the brunch buffet”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Service is great, the menu items are wonderful,blackboard specials are always good....Buffet brunches need a little help

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Food_RocksVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Service”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Visited during the Thanksgiving holidays and were welcomed like we had been there a 100 time. Great wait and bar staff and excellent dining. Was very pleased with all of our selections and loved the duck spring rolls. Catered to my gluten free needs. Will return every time we are in VA.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieRedwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice, but ambiance better than the food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great ambiance. would love to be here in warm weather to eat outside. That would be a treat. Food not bad, but not inspiring either. Crispy duck spring rolls were greasy, fried oysters were good, not great, crab soup was better than most, no interesting beer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mallards at the Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing