We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal on the waterfront!”

Mallards at the Wharf
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Onancock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Waterfront dining with an upscale casual seafood focused menu. Specializing in the use of Local, sustainable and fresh products with an award winning chef.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal on the waterfront!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by several locals and we ate an early dinner on a Saturday night. This is a white tablecloth and cloth napkin restaurant. Our waitress let me sample a wine before buying. The Maryland style crab soup was wonderful! Also, salads were very fresh. We split the Filet Mignon dinner on 2 plates, but the portions were quite large even for a split plate. The steak was cooked perfectly and served with garlic mashed potatoes and asperagus. In all the meal was wonderful and the service excellent for the price paid. I highly recommend this restaurant on a visit to Onancock!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    100
    36
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really good seafood”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I had the fried oyster sandwich with wasabi mayo. Really fresh tasting oysters and the mayo had just the right amount of wasabi. My MIL got the crabcake sandwich and it looked like it had a lot of crab, and she said she enjoyed it. My daughter had chicken fingers and fries. The fries were decent, but the chicken fingers were really large and yummy (I snuck one). All 3 sandwiches had a side of macaroni salad which we all gobbled up. A little sweet and lots of flavor. The service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We dined here for lunch on a Tuesday off season. Hubby had crabcake sandwich. It was quality crab meat but accompaniments were plastic container of store bought macaroni salad and bag of chips. Come on! For $11 at least make a homemade side! I had Mallard salad (greens, walnuts, blue cheese vinaigrette, apples, craisins) which was tasty. Rockfish bites appetizer was pathetic, lukewarm and tiny, no seasoning remarkable. Service was average. Crew gossiping at the bar instead of tending to customers. It is at the wharf however view is minimal through two small windows in dining room. Don't bother!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Evening Dinner”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Food was good, service was excellent, view was spectacular. Definitely recommend stopping at Mallard's.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank eelom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Casual Dining on the Water”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Try to get table 11, which has the best view of the water. The food is tasty and varied. My favorite is the fish tacos, which are the best on the Shore, followed closely by their crab cakes (again, I think they are the best on the Shore). If you don't like fish tacos, then you've never had a *real* one. Johnny Mo is dubbed the singing chef. His cookbook comes with a CD too. His original songs about the Shore are good, but will stick in your head for hours. They have dining on the patio in summer. Really good Margaritas. Take a look at all the old historic photos of Onancock on the walls. The only thing I dislike about the restaurant is their use of plastic glasses for lunch trade. Tastes terrible and not green. i ask for a glass, which is cheerfully provided.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mallards at the Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing