We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent two nights in The Charlotte Hotel. Owner Gary was ever present at the front and was kind and welcoming. Our room was on the third floor, and while the view wasn't great from the back of the building, the room itself was very clean. The bed and pillows were excellent. Just as a note, there is no elevator, but there is a stair chair to the second floor, if that's something important for you.

The complimentary breakfast for guests is a simple menu but well cooked, and the coffee was also good. We didn't try the bar, but ate dinner at the restaurant, which I will cover in a separate review. Suffice to say though that it was an excellent meal and good atmosphere. The bar itself was frequently busy with what appeared to be locals and/or the owners' friends, and everyone was always in a good mood.

There is no hotel-specific parking, but street parking out front and a large public lot around the corner

Overall: great beds in clean (yet sparse - little seating) rooms, friendly owner, quality cooking.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the building and overlooked adjacent, rusty roofs. Get something in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Cycle trip of the eastern shore. Gary was so nice and let us leave bikes in a back building and sold us bubbly to drink in the park plus gave us champagne glasses to drink it! Comfortable room, cozy bar, pretty hotel. Only problem was a bad smell...not sure if it was our room or something in the town (Chicken farm?). Hotel very clean and attractive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahSturges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable, gracious hosts, terrific food (really good, locally sourced ingredients) and a lovely town in Onancock, Virginia! Great places to bike and walk-- no traffic. Plenty of nice shops, including a really good donut shop! Antiques, craft stores, galleries, open market outside the weekend we visited (Memorial Day weekend) with plants, fish, meats and barbecue. Lovely gardens and some fine architecture in the old houses and churches. Also, the room was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Three of us traveled to Onancock, VA on the Eastern Shore for the Easter Weekend. This quaint hotel of 12 rooms plus a tiny bar and exceptional restaurant was outstanding! The Manhattan cocktails and vodka martinis were exceptional! Met several locals who (along with Gary the owner) gave good suggestions for other local restaurants and places to visit. However the dinner at Charlotte's was the very best! Interesting art in each room and THE MOST COMFORTABLE beds! Will definitely return again in the near future!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFOSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

An adorable hotel in a quaint town... Finding this small inn/hotel was a lovely treat during a romantic get away planned by my husband (and he found it all by himself! :-)

Appealing art decorates each room -- we stayed on the third floor facing the front of the hotel. The room was clean, cleverly decorated and comfortable. It's a historic building, so the rooms can be small, however, the hotel and rooms have abundant charm and character.

Staff were friendly, warm and helpful but not over exuberant.

Decent breakfast....we also ate at the restaurant -- good fare, cleaver entrees --- small bar/lounge area good for a night-cap.

Definitely looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is something special. Friendly hosts, very good restaurant, good wine, unusual decore, boutique-style rooms. We traveled for 14 nights in Virginia and this was the hotel experience we shall remember.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abelvaering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Traveled to Cape Hatteras, NC over the Columbus Day weekend and had a reservation at the Charlotte for that Monday on our return to NYC. When making the reservation, our host Gary informed me that unfortunately, their restaurant was closed on Mondays. Gary graciously suggested another local restaurant (the 2nd best in town!) and also made a reservation for my wife and I to enjoy dinner around the corner from the Charlotte. This was our second visit to this most wonderful boutique hotel. We enjoy strolling around the quaint village, shopping in the local stores and art galleries. We appreciate the friendly atmosphere and townsfolk and will return in December to enjoy another visit during the holiday season.

Room Tip: I've stayed at the Charlotte three times - each time in a different room and each equally comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onancock
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
25 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
812 reviews
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Onancock
The Inn at Onancock
#1 of 6 in Onancock
235 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kingsbay Mansion
Kingsbay Mansion
#1 of 1 in Marion Station
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 7 North St, Onancock, VA 23417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price Range: $142 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is located on the Eastern Shore of Virginia just four blocks from the deep water harbor on Onancock Creek which empties into the Chesapeake Bay. The hotel features a full service bar, a restaurant with two dining rooms, one casual and one formal, and ten guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charlotte Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing