We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, but 4 star?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twillingate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Legacy B & B
Ranked #1 of 19 Twillingate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at the Captain's Legacy for one night only. Our room at the front of the building had a nice view, but was quite on the small side. In fact there was hardly any room to move around. Compared to other B&B's we stayed at during our visit to The Rock this room was the least comfortable.

Although we would probably stay here again we cannot see how the Captain's Legacy got a 4 star Canada select rating, especially not compared to other B&B's (in Newfoundland and other Canadian provinces).

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2008

We went to NL for our honeymoon and stayed at the Captain's Legacy B&B for one night (around Canada Day). It was an extremely enjoyable experience to stay at this lovely guest House. The bedroom was a good size, bright and airy, with a pleasant ocean outlook. The B&B is extremely well maintained, has an excellent standard of cleanliness, and provides all the comforts anyone could require for a nice relaxing break away from home. In particular, the owners Ron & Rita are very guest orientated and make you very welcome from the moment you arrive until the end of our stay.

Paid $89 a night for the ocean view room with ensuite shower. Breakfast was great (eggs or pancakes with bacons / sausages / fruits / pastries / toast). The room was lovely and the house has a lot of character to it. Very tasteful decoration.

We casually mentioned to Rita during the time of booking that this was our honeymoon...and to our surprise, we were welcomed with some chocolates & a bottle of wine in our room! It was a very nice personal touch!

We have no hesitation in recommending the B&B to anyone who wishes to take a break in Twillingate... we truly believe that you won't find a better value for money at any hotel or B&B in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcmug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We stayed one night at the Captain's Legacy B&B in Twillingate on our recent two week travel of Newfoundland. The booking on their website was really easy to make and everything was as confirmed when we got there. The room was lovely but quite small -- it did have a private bath -- and was spotless. The owners are very pleasant and knowledgeable about the area, and they prepare a great breakfast in the dining room where you can have your own table.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WileyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

On arrival we were met by our hosts Ron and Rita and made very welcome. Our room, The Captain's Quarters, was lovely and comfortable, a good size and with excellent views.
We drove into town for dinner at The Anchor and had a very good meal - too far to walk there from the B&B sadly, but no matter as we took the opportunity to drive on to see the lighthouse.
Breakfast the following morning was delicious and afterwards Ron and Rita sat and chatted with us which was lovely.
Would definitely recommend this B&B .

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Spent two nights at the Captain's Legacy B&B. Hosts Ron & Rita were very friendly and helpful. The home is circa 1881 and is beautiful. Specify breakfast on a check off menu the night before. Scrumptious breakfast. The most comfortable bed I had slept in for the 3 weeks in NL. View of Twillingate from the room is awesome. (Elizabethan Room) . Recommend this B&B.

4  Thank Sandraem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank DieCeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twillingate hotels
0.8 mi away
Anchor Inn Hotel
Anchor Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Twillingate
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunshine Inn - Twillingate & Beyond
0.4 mi away
Whitsha Inn B&B
Whitsha Inn B&B
#8 of 19 in Twillingate
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
North 99 Motel
North 99 Motel
#7 of 9 in Twillingate
3 reviews
0 mi away
White On Wood
White On Wood
#5 of 9 in Twillingate
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Legacy B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Legacy B & B

Address: 14 Ocher Pit Road | P.O. Box 103, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 1Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Twillingate
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Legacy B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canada Select 4 1/2 star ocean front Historic Bed and Breakfast circa 1800s. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, queen beds, premium bedding and guest robes. Full hot breakfast included. Located on the shores of scenic Hart's Cove in the out-port fishing village of Twillingate, Newfoundland. Former home of Order of Canada recipient Captain Peter Troake (M V Christmas Seal). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain's Legacy B & B Twillingate, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing