We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fabulous views, warm & welcoming service”
Review of Anchor Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twillingate
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights so that we could see the icebergs & do a bit of hiking. Deborah & Wilma were fabulous hosts. always on hand with a great listening ear & great suggestions to make this a fabulous experience. Our room had a great bed with superb linens & pillows. Continental breakfast was okay but dinner more than made up for it with fresh lobster & cod & unique starters. After a day of hiking, who could ask for anything more. It was fun having a bar in the hotel, a great gathering place for all. The icebergs were so close, it was amazing. If you get here, go to the Crow's Nest for lunch, another unique experience. Would we come back here.....in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanis351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay in Twillingate. It sounds as if you had a chance to experience quite a number of lovely experiences in our town - it is the very best way to make great memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Anchor Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The only things where I could see improvement is having some sort of information pamphlet in the rooms with the amenities and some contact numbers for the hotel. I am sure it was a isolated incident but there was a group that were up really late making a lot of noise so I mentioned it to the lady at the front desk in the morning and she said I should have called but I didn't have a number for the front desk. I did plan on staying two nights but the stairs to the second floor suites were a bit too much for my elderly mother so unfortunately I had to cancel the second night but was informed if they if the room did go out I would be reimbursed . I was told that there was a ninety percent chance the room would go out but I guess it didn't . Like I said at the beginning it was a very nice place and I would stay there again ,I was informed it was on the second floor and my mom would have to use the stairs but it ended up being a bit much for her. The stairs in my opinion are wide with one landing and not bad but just a bit much for my mother.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Newf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! There is now a comprehensive room manual in each room - internal phone numbers included.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I checked into the Anchor Inn on May 26, 2014. I happened to be on business in Twillingate, NL for the day and decided to stay for the night. The Anchor Inn is recently renovated to a very high quality standard. The owners Deborah and Wilma are very friendly and welcoming.

During this time of year there are giant icebergs visible from the windows of the rooms. There are a lot of walking trails in the area which I did not get to but will definitely get to when I return with my wife later this summer.

You can relax in the pub or eat in the restaurant. Continental Breakfast was included and served fresh baked blueberry muffins.

The rooms are very tastefully decorated with new beds, linens and towels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view or take the suites up on the hill.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Ha! And who said one cannot mix business and pleasure! Hope to see you back with the family later this summer. Our team appreciates the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Wonderful hotel so relaxing and comfortable. The hostess and staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The room was very clean bed comfortable and breakfast served in our room was delicious. The restaurant has a terrific view fabulous food and warm friendly staff. Thank you to Wilma who took us hiking showed us private coves and secluded beaches, as well giving us a history of the town taking us to a fishing hut and root cellar. We felt that we were amongst friends and family. Would stay here again and recommend it to any one.
Hope to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your Spring Package excursion with us and I had an equal amount of fun hiking with you - glad the icebergs showed up at just the right moment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Being a hockey mom I have traveled and stayed in many hotels and this one was by far the best .The service was great ,very friendly and knowledgeable staff who don't mind going the extra mile to ensure a pleasant stay ,I will plan another trip with a longer stay .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Hi Michelle,

Thank you for your review! We know that travelling with sports teams can be stressful & we are happy to hear that your stay at the Anchor Inn was enjoyable. Have a great summer & we look forward to seeing you in Twillingate again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We drove to Twillingate and took a chance on finding somewhere to stay. The Anchor Inn Hotel certainly surprised us. It was clean and comfortable and very quiet. We really enjoyed our stay there.
The dining room wasn't open for breakfast but they brought us a boxed breakfast the night before so we had something to eat before taking in a fantastic hike.
We had our evening meal at their restaurant "Georgie's" and we were very suprised to discover a lovely fine dining experience. The food and atmosphere was very pleasant.
We would stay at the Anchor Inn and would love to dine in their restaurant again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbottlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Anchor Inn Hotel! Of course we'll make sure you have the fuel to enjoy Twillingate's many hikes - so glad you did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've spent the last couple of years doing a lot of travelling, both for work and for pleasure. I stayed at The Anchor several times during 2013 for business but the staff of The Anchor and the town itself made my business trips there a real personal pleasure. Many thanks to Deborah, Wilma and the rest of the gang at The Anchor for showing us a such a good time. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was good and we really couldn't have asked for better customer service. Hope to be back in 2014!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thanks so much for your great review! We are keeping fingers crossed that your team will be back this year too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twillingate
0.8 mi away
North 99 Motel
North 99 Motel
#7 of 8 in Twillingate
3 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunshine Inn - Twillingate & Beyond
0.7 mi away
Whitsha Inn B&B
Whitsha Inn B&B
#9 of 19 in Twillingate
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
White On Wood
White On Wood
#4 of 8 in Twillingate
7 reviews
23.7 mi away
Gillespie House
Gillespie House
#1 of 1 in Fortune Harbour
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Hotel

Address: 3 Path End, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada (Formerly Anchor Inn Motel)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twillingate
Price Range: $129 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean at the award-winning Anchor Inn Hotel and its Hilltop Suites. Enjoy fresh seafood and Newfoundland dishes with a modern twist at Georgie's Restaurant (May - Oct) and relax in Captain's Pub - enjoy an Iceberg draught beer or take in a Kitchen Party or show during the summer. Friendly staff are ready to welcome you and and make your stay memorable! Make this is your base for iceberg and whale watching, kayaking, coastal hiking and exploring outport culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anchor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Hotel Twillingate, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing