We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel”
Review of Anchor Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twillingate
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Just returned from a trip to Twillingate, went there without a reservation knowing that there were at least two hotel/motel and countless B & B's. Went to book a boat tour and the first place they suggested and called for us had no rooms available, so they recommended the Anchor that had rooms, the man at the store even drove down the road in front of us to make sure we found the place. People in the area are very friendly and helpful.

Check in was easy, we were given two rooms. The rooms were clean, the entire motel was spotless, and the staff seemed to be going out of their way to keep it clean. The rooms were big, and had a view of the harbour. There was free wi-fi internet in the rooms, and a computer if you needed it in the lobby. The bathroom was well stock with brand name shampoo, another plus. There was no smell in the room or the hotel, which appears to be somewhat of an older building.

My only complaints are to do to the noise. The walls are thin, and you could hear conversations, even snoring from those in rooms on either side of you, and while there was lots of hot water, the pipes made s sound similar to a jet plane taken off. It started shortly before six when people started showering, and continued off and on most of the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank bart_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you took the time to give your feedback. Your feedback helps us to continuously improve our guests' experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    80
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
46
115
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

It was very, very clean! The new owners were just getting started on renovating. It was comfortable and had everything we needed. The restaurant was fantastic. The food was amazing and it didn't matter where you sat you had a wonderful view of the bay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side facing the bay. It was before the busy tourist time and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burdenbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! We cannot take credit for the wonderful view but love the fact that our guests can enjoy it from their rooms, our dining room our our lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

New owners here. They seem to care quite a bit. The hotel and restaurant appear to be in good working condition - perhaps in need of a few cosmetic enhancements, but overall friendly, convenient and clean. Only complaint was that the windows in our room did not open.

With the amazing hikes around town, you don't want to spend too much time in a hotel anyhow!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank westyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
We appreciate your feedback. We agree that the fresh air on Twillingate's safe hiking trails is a reasonable trade-off for windows that do not open. Unfortunately our air-conditioning and open windows do not like each other very much:(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THUNDER BAY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had a most pleasant 3 day stay. The room was large and comfortable and clean. The dinning room was excellent. This motel is under knew management, it is an older property that is about to get a facelift. The new owner and manager were great, very friendly and helpful and the location was handy to the main attractions in the area. We would not hesitate to return.
Karen & Peter
Thunder Bay, Ontario

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback, Karen and Peter. 2011 was our first season managing the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know so many wonderful guests, many of whom shared some great ideas with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We travelled to Twillingate with a group and stayed at the Anchor Inn for 1 night. A great view of thw ocean and a very nice restaurant, it made for an overall pleasant stay. The rooms are basic but are very clean and wireless interent is available throughout the facility. We were attending the "All Around the Circle" dinner theatre and John, the manager/owner was very accomodating in providing driving directions - since we were traveling in a large RV, he even offered us the use of his vehicle to travel to the event. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paluc502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2008

This was one of the worst experiences I've had while travelling... I was only fortunate enough to be staying for one night.

I had been given the room adjacent to the bar, which played considerably loud music all evening until midnight. When I called to complain there was no clerk at the main office, and the phone call was recieved in the bar. the bartender had no interest in turning down the music, and when I went in to meet her in person, I noted that there were only two other people in the bar, both of whom were gambling.

The next morning the power went out in my room at 7:30 am, and it took until 8:00 to locate a clerk to address the problem.

It made for one un-restful night in an otherwise lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TrivMastR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights. We weren't expecting much, but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and very clean. The restaurant has great service and great food. Wireless is currently available in the lobby and restaurant and throughout the hotel next year. Located right on the beach of Twillingate Harbour. Easy access to local businesses and attractions. The people of Twillingate are very friendly and welcoming. Of the whole trip, this was our favourite.

  • Liked — location, price, service
  • Disliked — no coffee bar
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy-Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twillingate
0.7 mi away
Whitsha Inn B&B
Whitsha Inn B&B
#10 of 18 in Twillingate
77 reviews
2.3 mi away
White On Wood
White On Wood
#3 of 8 in Twillingate
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
North 99 Motel
North 99 Motel
#7 of 8 in Twillingate
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gaultois Inn
The Gaultois Inn
#1 of 1 in Gaultois
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunshine Inn - Twillingate & Beyond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Hotel

Property: Anchor Inn Hotel
Address: 3 Path End, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada (Formerly Anchor Inn Motel)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twillingate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean at the award-winning Anchor Inn Hotel and its Hilltop Suites. Enjoy fresh seafood and Newfoundland dishes with a modern twist at Georgie's Restaurant (May - Oct) and relax in Captain's Pub - enjoy an Iceberg draught beer or take in a Kitchen Party or show during the summer. Friendly staff are ready to welcome you and and make your stay memorable! Make this is your base for iceberg and whale watching, kayaking, coastal hiking and exploring outport culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Anchor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Hotel Twillingate, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing