We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ICEBERGS!”
Review of OQ Close Encounters Twillingate - CLOSED

OQ Close Encounters Twillingate
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ICEBERGS!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The trip was over 3 hours but felt like minutes! We got to see some really neat icebergs, were not rushed at all, had silent, peaceful moments and had a great tour guide. absolutely worth the hundred bucks!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank two_canadians_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is just what it says it is -- a close encounter.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a wonderful way to view icebergs and whales -- up close and personal. We were just three on the zodiac plus the driver. We went right up to several icebergs (keeping a safe distance of course) and followed a humpback whale for 30-40 minutes. It was lazing away, just coming up for air every 4 or 5 minutes. And then, all of a sudden, it got a spurt of energy and breached right in front of us -- then went back to lazing away. There weren't a lot of whales around that particular day, but we got great time with the one that was.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellicottg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliette, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wish come true!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Early July I dropped by this place in order to realize my dream of kayaking among icebergs! Mitch and Grant were adorable. I had such a blast! A "private" late afternoon trip (because we were three). Thanks Grant for the breathtaking pictures you took of us!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaLaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tour of a lifetime!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Grant was AMAZING! He took four of us on his Zodiac with double kayaks. Then, we were "launched"off the side for a couple of hours of thrilling time with the humpback whales and so close to the Iceburgs! I was so nervous with the swells but he was so calming and reassured me especially ! Can't say enough about his enthusiasm, kindness and giving us the best tour of anything we have ever experienced! We couldn't sleep when we got back to the hotel! We were so "pumped"from something like this! The Iceburgs in the sunset (yes, a sunset trip) were outstanding! At the time, we were following 5 humpbacks. Grant always stayed close by which was a comfort for sure! If you are in Twillilngate, you HAVE to go with Grant!!! His mom had made him supper and he had a bit of it left over and even offered us his sandwich! What a guide! He knew so much about the area too! This is a MUST - whether you just ride in his Zodiac or try kayaking! You wont regret this! We will NEVER forget this experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Grant (the tour guide) is fun and very knowledgeable about the community, whales and icebergs. His enthusiasm is infectious. We did the zodiac tour rather than kayak due to the weather conditions. It is great to zip around so quickly. We saw a few humpback whales pretty close to our boat and saw some spectacular icebergs. It was just the two of us and Grant, so the overall experience was pretty amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OQ Close Encounters Twillingate also viewed

Twillingate, Newfoundland
 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing