We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thriller in Twiller”
Review of Canvas Cove Bistro

Canvas Cove Bistro
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Twillingate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Canvas Cove Bistro, offers a panoramic view of Twillingate harbour: fishing flakes, sail boats, fishing schooners and Greenland icebergs in season! Our licensed bistro offers the finer side of dining. Relaxed ambience. Gourmet, local seafood dishes. Elegant soups and salads. Extensive wine selection. Sit back and savour the view while enjoying our signature drinks or locally brewed Quidi Vidi Iceberg beer. Free WiFi. Fresh. Local. Delicious.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thriller in Twiller”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great food and atmosphere and very friendly hosts. Owner pours her heart into it. Excellent chef. Also features a chocolate shop on site.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanHM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    58
    26
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ate Here Every Night!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were in Twillingate for five nights and ate at Canvas Cove every single night. Lovely atmosphere, fresh and imaginative food (I had the cod every night!), and excellent service. They serve no fried food and they take reservations. What a wonderful find in this part of the world.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, NH
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice view and good food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After a poor experience at another Twillingate restaurant, we were pleased with this one. The decor is simple but the place is right on the water and the food is very good. My husband enjoyed the lobster and I had a delicious vegetarian soup and panini. Service was friendly and efficient.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NHtraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Cod”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had the best pan fried cod here from our entire time in Newfoundland. Very moist and not over cooked. Also made outstanding fish chowder.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Upscale and delicous”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Delicious lunch here discovered on Yelp. Relatively new, open for lunch and dinner contrary to info on that site. We lingered for quite a while planning our next stops. The wait staff was wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank newfound721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canvas Cove Bistro also viewed

 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 

Been to Canvas Cove Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing