We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twillingate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside B&B
Ranked #3 of 17 Twillingate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
455 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We are sitting at the Deer Lake airport in Newfoundland. A few short hours we left Hillside after 2 nights. This little gem is the perfect place to stay in Twillingate. It is in a central location to everything. It is clean, comfortable and has lots of character. We really enjoyed sitting in the kitchen/ sitting room chatting with the owners, Wins and Wavey. They are such nice people and so easy to spend time with. We will return and we have been promised the sun will shine on our next visit. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
103
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fergus, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed two nights in this bed and breakfast in August. The location is lovely, and we really enjoyed the short hike up the hill behind the B and B, from the top of which there is a fantastic view of Twillingate (and for us, a breath-taking sunset!) The room was comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious. Wavey and Winston provided us with some really good advice about travelling in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liveandbreathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

As a cousin travelling with us on a recent cross island trip
said, ``All you really want in a B&B is clean, comfortable,
friendly.'' And while these were characteristics of every
single place we stayed, the Hillside was our favourite. Wavey
and Winston are wonderful people. Our bedrooms were large,
beautifully appointed and very comfortable. There were night
lights each side of the bed, warm quilts, a chair, large bath
room (and tub) and more towels and face cloths than two people
could use in a week! Wavey made waffles one morning, quiche the
next and muffins each day of our visit. There was fresh fruit
and juice and superb coffee. Wavey was only too happy to
tell us a bit about Twillingate and to make suggestions about
places to eat and visit. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: All three rooms were large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A fumble with our booking at the outset did not set the best scene but things improved over the days we were there. As is customary in Newfoundland, this B&B is a renovated nineteenth century building so you can expect the usual creaky floors, narrow stairs and poor sound insulation but the end result is a cozy and comfortable stay with good size bedrooms and plus size bathrooms and everything working as expected. The hosts are genial and helpful and the breakfast is adequate if not altogether memorable. Well located with parking at the door and all the rooms have a nice view out over the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband & I stayed one night at the cottage at Hillside B&B on Sept 11/13. The rooms in the old house were all reserved. Breakfast is not included in the cottage but it was very private with a great view. It has a deck which we didn't use because it was cool & rainy that day. I would recommend this for a family stay. Twillingate is a nice little town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanieWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the cottage, and it was great to have so much space, including a full kitchen, and a porch with a view of the waterfront. Don't miss the view from the hill behind the B&B! The breakfasts were delicious and ample and the town is lovely, don't rush the visit, spend at least a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amhale611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Twillingate at Hillside B&B. We booked the standalone cottage, which was awesome because we had our own private entrance, parking spot, full kitchen, TV, dining table, etc.

Hosts Wavey and Winston were wonderful and kind, Winston took the time upon our arrival to show us the amenities in our cottage, and went through a bunch of pamphlets and brochures that they had placed on the dining table, giving us suggestions on things to do, events in the area, and places to eat.

The cottage itself was very clean and comfortable. Our room was dark enough to allow for a peaceful rest. Bed sheets were soft and the bed was comfy. Having our own kitchen complete with cooking utensils was wonderful, we ended up going to the grocery store to pick up some items to cook breakfast with. Just a note, we did not get daily housekeeping, not sure what is standard for B&B's but I didn't mind at all.

Decor is older, yes, but I think it's all a part of staying in a historical building (the main B&B is a very, very old building and is in amazing condition! The current and past owners have put a lot of work into it). If you're expecting a brand new building, contemporary decor and are actually going as far as complaining on Trip Advisor about it, please stay in the city and pay $$$ for a 4- or 5- star hotel instead. The price for staying here is very reasonable, and you have the awesome hospitality of locals who live here!

Our TV was tiny and the WiFi connection was quite poor, but it was a good opportunity for us to disconnect for awhile and enjoy Twillingate.

There is a short trail behind the B&B that leads to a lookout with breathtaking views of Twillingate. My husband and I spent a bit of time there on our last night, it was amazing.

We got a chance to chat with both of our hosts prior to leaving. Just wonderful people and great hospitality in Twillingate! I will stay here again when we come back to Twillingate. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The cottage is perfect for a quiet, private stay. Reserve if you can, it's worth the slightly ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTGhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twillingate hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchor Inn Hotel
Anchor Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Twillingate
193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Whitsha Inn B&B
Whitsha Inn B&B
#9 of 17 in Twillingate
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Inn - Twillingate & Beyond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside B&B

Property: Hillside B&B
Address: 14 Blanford's Lane, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Twillingate
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside B&B located in the heart of Twillingate is the oldest and most established B&B and has been welcoming visitors from around the globe for 23 years. The original charm and character of this beautiful home has been carefully maintained while offering modern conveniences including spacious, private en-suites. Each room is fully equipped with a new bed, cable TV, digital alarm clock and Wi-Fi access.Nestled in the hills of picturesque Twillingate, Hillside B&B offers guests unmatched views of the Atlantic Ocean and Twillingate Harbour. Often referred to as Iceberg Alley, breath-taking icebergs dot our coastline throughout the spring of the year leaving our guests in awe. Our gourmet continental breakfast includes: selection of fresh fruit, choice of cereals, house made muffins and breads, local berry jams and a variety of hot foods.Within walking distance you will find the Canvas Cove Bistro serving fresh local food specializing in seafood and vegetarian dishes, The Newfoundland Chocolate Company making fresh truffles on site daily, iceberg & whale tours, Cameron Hall Theatre, craft shop, Twillingate Art Gallery and numerous walking trials.You are never far from home at Hillside B&B! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside B&B Twillingate, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing