We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Cottage”
Review of Hillside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twillingate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside B&B
Ranked #3 of 19 Twillingate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This cozy little B&B was just what we needed after a long day of travelling. The cottage was our home for 3 days and we loved it. Winst and Wavey are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed meeting them. Every night Winst would bring us some home made muffins and a big bowl of fresh fruit. There is a supply of cereals in the cupboards with everything else you would need to cook your own meals. It was just what we wanted. Cozy, cute and comfortable with a beautiful view, just minutes walk to boat tours and restaurants. The bedroom is small but the bed is comfortable and there are lots of quilts to snuggle in. After a day of touring the quaint town of Twillingate, I would snuggle in front of the TV with a quilt and relax. The big wrap around porch is great to sit on and watch the sunset over the ocean and it you have enough energy left you can hike up the path out back of the cottage to an amazing view of the town. I highly recommend this B & B, especially the cottage. Thank you Winst and Wavey for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beni635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had a very nice stopover in Twillingate Newfoundland at the Hillside B&B. This B&B l was told is the oldest in the town and there are many to chose from. Current hosts have run the business for 6 years and they are apt hands at catering for their guests. Hillside B&B is well positioned near the Iceberg/whale boating tours. Wavey (the owner) gave us a great summary of everything to do in the town including the tours, walking tracks, shows/theatre restaurants and where to find the eateries. Hillside B&B is also located overlooking the harbor and what a picture it was with the glorious sunset followed by the harbor lights coming on. Winston (Wavey's partner) cooked a great breakfast with fresh fruit, muffins and waffles (or cereal if you preferred).

We even had a damaged suitcase which we had to discard and they kindly took it off our hands for us.
Whilst l am sure the hospitality in Twillingate would be matched in the other B&B's, you cannot go wrong by staying at this one!!!

Room Tip: Second floor would be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_S255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent three nights at Hillside B&B in May, and enjoyed our stay so much that we hope to come back on our next trip! Wavey and Winston are wonderful hosts, and our ground floor room was conveniently located next to the kitchen for making tea in the evening. Next time, we won't be so lazy about carrying our bags upstairs (and Winston would be glad to help with this, if needed!), as I love a bath, and the upstairs rooms have spacious baths. Wifi can be a bit spotty, but we learned that this is the case in much of Newfoundland, so be patient!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne and Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely, 2 night stay. Wavey and Winston were wonderful hosts. They made us feel very welcome. Room was lovely, bed was comfortable. Sheets were soft, towels fluffy. Breakfast was delicious. Would go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a lovely stay in Wavey and Winston's cottage that was next door to the B&B. Took the hike up the trail behind the cottage for an amazing view of the Twillingate town area. Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great visit with Wavey and Winston in their B & B. Comfortable surroundings and great gab around the breakfast table with W & W providing insights and humour. There's nothing like the personal touch to add to the experience. Great view of the harbour and proximity to everything. A strong recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaughn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a lovely time staying at Hillside B&B in Twillingate. The accommodations were comfortable, Winston and Wavey were warm and friendly, and the location was great--just up the road from the Iceberg Quest boat tour and Canvas Cove Bistro. Would definitely stay here again. The only thing to complain about is that the wireless internet connection was difficult to pick up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katherine404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twillingate hotels
0.8 mi away
Anchor Inn Hotel
Anchor Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Twillingate
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Inn - Twillingate & Beyond
1.0 mi away
Whitsha Inn B&B
Whitsha Inn B&B
#9 of 19 in Twillingate
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
North 99 Motel
North 99 Motel
#7 of 9 in Twillingate
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
White On Wood
White On Wood
#5 of 9 in Twillingate
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside B&B

Address: 14 Blanford's Lane, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Twillingate
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside B&B located in the heart of Twillingate is the oldest and most established B&B and has been welcoming visitors from around the globe for 23 years. The original charm and character of this beautiful home has been carefully maintained while offering modern conveniences including spacious, private en-suites. Each room is fully equipped with a new bed, cable TV, digital alarm clock and Wi-Fi access.Nestled in the hills of picturesque Twillingate, Hillside B&B offers guests unmatched views of the Atlantic Ocean and Twillingate Harbour. Often referred to as Iceberg Alley, breath-taking icebergs dot our coastline throughout the spring of the year leaving our guests in awe. Our gourmet continental breakfast includes: selection of fresh fruit, choice of cereals, house made muffins and breads, local berry jams and a variety of hot foods.Within walking distance you will find the Canvas Cove Bistro serving fresh local food specializing in seafood and vegetarian dishes, The Newfoundland Chocolate Company making fresh truffles on site daily, iceberg & whale tours, Cameron Hall Theatre, craft shop, Twillingate Art Gallery and numerous walking trials.You are never far from home at Hillside B&B! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside B&B Twillingate, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing