We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprisingly interesting site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prime Berth Fishing Museum

Prime Berth Fishing Museum
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Twillingate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prime Berth Twillingate Fishery & Heritage Centre is a private interpretive fishing center and craft studio created by David Boyd as a tribute to his fisher forefathers.In honour of this tradition, and as a tribute to proud people so dear to his heart, David decided to call his heritage centre - "Prime Berth"- meaning literally -"the best spot!"
Ottawa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A surprisingly interesting site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a privately developed site focussing on the history of fishing in Newfoundland. The owner, Dave, has collected a wide variety of everyday objects that were once common and are now falling out of use. He even salvaged a whale skeleton from a beached whale and preserved and re-assembled it. The bleached bones are easily visible from the road. We got a tour from an associate who explained anything that we didn't understand and told us stories from the past. We also got a demonstration of how to clean and prepare a cod for salting and drying. You could spend several hours here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    30
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very educational and interesting, you could spend an hour or so exploring this spot! The gift shop is good too, with a great selection and good prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An historical adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

David Boyd has worked hard to put together an exhaustive collection of early fishing artifacts and practical tools that gave us a very clear idea of what it was like to work and live in the early days of Twillingate.
He is a wonderful storyteller and poet.
We loved our visit
A must see for the whole family.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank casey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

You can't help notice the whale skeleton on the stage....what a highway sign! There is so much to look at here you had better book off at least 1.5 hours! Very interesting and informative dispalys and the owners are very friendly and informative. Great to see!
Paul Rose

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulwrose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyburn, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Iceberg!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The owners were very friendly and accomodating. We were properly outfitted with gear they knew we would need when out on the water. Toques, boots, rain gear- all of which we were very glad we had on.

We got to see an iceberg close up, had ample photo time and angles, heard stories of life in NL and got to see some local fish.

We got way more than we expected, all for a very low price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaynie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Berth Fishing Museum also viewed

Twillingate, Newfoundland
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 

Been to Prime Berth Fishing Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing