We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emlyn Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Boar's Head Hotel(Carmarthen)
$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spilman Hotel(Carmarthen)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen(St Clears)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveler rating
376
146
30
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
376
146
30
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelhigh standardwest walesfunction roomthe main hotelbreakfast was excellentmodern bathroomstayed here for one nightmarmaladeevening meallarge roompublic areasno liftnight staysunday lunchcoach houseenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 584 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This small hotel is located in the market town of Newcastle Emlyn, in picturesque Carmarthenshire. The property has been renovated and although the rooms are very small, they are conveniently laid out. We really enjoyed our stay here as the food was very good and the staff accommodating. There is a spa next door--we didn't stay long enough to experience these facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIJknitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2015

Many thanks for your kind review! We look forward to seeing you in the near future and please don't hesitate to contact us directly to book.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I booked a weekend away in the hotel for a relaxing time...we received a fantastic welcome by all the staff, they could not have been more friendly and helpful. Our room was fantastic,large with a double sofa smart bathroom and was very clean,..
The breakfast was hearty and there was a great choice available, we dined in the bar on both nights as the menu suited us better than the main restaraunt the food was home cooked and the portions were more than satisfying.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a getaway weekend Keith and all his staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigphil61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review we hope to see you again in the near future.Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Myself and group of friends stayed here last week, we were all very disappointed with it. It claims to be disabled friendly but the room I stayed in was down the road from the hotel and around the back of it , to get to the resturaunt there was a steep flight of stairs, also it was extremely expensive , we were charged £2 per head to sit at a table that had been booked for a meal , the house wine was dearer than another listed wine and the meals were sparse and extremely expensive. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review.I would like to respond to your comments now, having done some research into your stay with us.Our restaurant is Michelin recomended and also has an AA Rossett for fine dining.These awards are made by proffessional mystery inspectors and our restaurant menu has 5 starters 8 mains and 6 desserts.The menu is changed weekly.We have a range of fish, meat and poultry so as to accomodate verying tastes.Our bar menu has 12 different dishes and as stated is only for the bar and not the Al le carte restaurant.Your party deceided to eat off the bar menu and, as there were 12 of you it was agreed for you to stay in the restaurant as not to disrupt you and also, we cannot accomodate 12 to eat in the bar area as a group.We do charge a surcharge for linen and staff costs in the restaurant, only for bar meals being served there, to cover our costs .I beleive this was £2 per person.We have a wine list by Bibendum wines which compliments the food we serve and must be wine of a particular standard for inspection by AA and Michelin.There are various cheap wines on the market which we would not contemplate selling.I must add that I find your review score of 1 out of 5 surprising as this puts the Gwestyr Emlyn Hotel in the "TERRIBLE " catagory.I can only reply to this as follows, 143 reviewers who gave us excellent reviews must have a totally different opinion of us than yourself. We are a boutique hotel trying to raise standards in Wales and this is our product ,of which both myself and my team strive to acheive the best service possible for our guests.We are not a budget hotel with budget wine and food and do not profess to be.We are Welsh Rarebits,Michelin and AA rossette awarded and voted best hotel in Carmarthenshire for the last four years running and we are all very proud of this at our hotel.
Kind regards Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed 18th to 21st March in this extremely friendly well run hotel. We dined in from the bar each evening as the menu was more to our liking. We had excellent wine though felt it was over priced. The breakfast was very good plenty of choice. The only downside was that we to had a room with a fire door and no opening window which was uncomfortable for sleeping even with heating off.

Room Tip: Room No 20 has fire door and no window.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review we hope you return to visit the Gwestyr Emlyn shortly.
Kind regards Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this Hotel in Newcastle Emlyn, Ceredigion in Wales. With friendly staff, excellent accommodation and lovely location, we couldn't go wrong. The breakfast was very good and the one evening we dined in house did not disappoint. The meal was not cheap but the food was superb, with a good selection and generous portions. The town itself was interesting and the hotel was a pleasure to return to after a day out, exploring. Yes, we are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: The recently added rooms are not actually in the hotel, so you have to walk outside to access them, but the room we had was excellent, and the facilities first class. We were lucky with the weather, but they do provide umbrellas!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Gwestyr Emlyn we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you return to see us soon.
Kind regards Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews