We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Lovely Base. 12-15th September”
Review of Emlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emlyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Lovely Base. 12-15th September”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

On arrival we were impressed by the exterior of the building, clean and well kept, found the hotel car park of very good size with ample parking.
We booked three night’s using a Groupon voucher and have to say when I saw the quality of the hotel I did wonder if we would get second class service because of this, that was very quickly forgotten when we walked in and were greeted by the receptionist.
The check in was very smooth and the receptionist very friendly, She explained that if we got back to the hotel after closing time we had a key for access. She gave us a brief tour of the bars’ etc and explained about the leisure facilities. She then proceeded to show us to our rooms and reiterated that if there was anything we needed we just had to ask. She wished us a lovely stay and left us to have a cuppa and unwind before brining in our suite cases. .
Our check out was just as smooth and it was really nice not to have to check out until 11am with weekend breakfast until 10am made it very relaxed.
From early morning until last thing at night the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Even when they were obviously very busy the staff always acknowledged us with either a smile a nod and eye contact.
The room was well presented, very clean and comfortable, the only negative comment was that there were only two teabags (I love my two cups of tea early morning to get me going) and one hot chocolate, maybe the quantity could be doubled. Yet, hey that’s a very small negative.
Breakfast was excellent, with a wonderful selection of fresh fruit, fruit juices , continental, and a cooked breakfast and toast all being available, Tea and coffee was also plentiful and no rush to leave your table. The staff were cheery and although busy were very attentive and didn’t forget a thing.
We didn’t eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food and service there , However we did hear people compliment it. We did eat in the bar on the Saturday evening and as the restaurant was busy we had a very long wait, ah hour. I had the Lamb and although nice was not very warm. My advice, order your dinner early .
We had a room to the rear of the hotel and didn’t hear that much noise, Light sleepers may want to request rooms at the back as there's a fair amount of traffic at the front, and a pub nearby, I suspect this could be rather noisy.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will hopefully get the opportunity to return, A lovely hotel in a very picturesque town with plenty to do in the surrounding area and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Maybe one and the rear, also if you need a lift then a ground floor as there are four flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquimass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review we hope you return soon,
Keith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    137
    27
    14
    14
See reviews for
88
296
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

booked an executive double room via amazon local.
on arrival was met by who i assume to be the manageress where we were taken to what i can only describe as a box room with a bed, obviously i went to complain and was met by two very helpful receptionists who sorted it out in minutes,and was given the room i should have had. this was clearly a deliberate attempt to keep the room for a full paying guest.
then breakfast which was buffet style, two out of three mornings we had to wait for trays to be replenished. not rocket science, running low then top up.
then evening meal, ordered a bar meal and told 15.min, 45 min later was told the restaurant was busy? so what? i ordered before some of those came in, as for drinks, pint of lager and a baileys next door £4-90 here £6-85 £2 difference, finally the wi-fi not accessable because of the thick walls, but guess what ? for a fee the walls get thinner and hey wi-fi
despite all of this i did enjoy our stay, the room in the end was excellent, the staff were very polite and the food was very good

Room Tip: avoid room 24 at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
The rooms at the hotel are of different sizes but I would not stay we have a box room in the hotel. You were allocated an Exec Room as the offer states however as you were not satisfied we allocated you another one which was bigger. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast with us, we cook everything fresh and yes its not rocket science to replenish the trays but this is the time that the food takes to cook.
The building is 300 years old and the walls here are thick and due to this we have installed a much faster wifi server in the property and this is complimentary to all our guests since summer time. The previous one we had and maybe this is what you experienced did not work throughout the hotel as it was of different strength.
we sure hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future and should you need assistance making a reservation please do not hesitate to contact myself or any of my reception team.
Kind regards,

Keith Eaton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for three nights with a Groupon deal.
The hotel is beautifully refurbished, extrememly comfortabke, and spotlessly clean.The staff were all extremely friendly and couldnt do enough to help us..., we truly felt at home from the moment we arrived!
The breakfast was delicious, with a wide spread of foods, and rhe evening meals we emjoyed in the restaurant were of a very high quality.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring this beautiful part of Wales, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinehall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel and hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future
Kind regards,

Keith Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clavering
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Delightful hotel - very friendly staff - good food and excellent accommodation. We will definitely return at sometime in the future
Onsite parking was handy and the hotel well placed for visits to some truly stunning scenic views on the coast and inland

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am very proud of my staff as they always provide great service. We opened 3 new Suites last August and as you saw they are luxurious and designed to very high standards.
Hopefully you can return to the area for a little longer next time

Kind regards,

Keith Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for only one night but would have liked to stay longer. We were upgraded to one of the new suites, which was lovely and spacious with a sitting area and separate bedroom and a fabulous bathroom with claw footed bath and generous walk in shower. There were good quality toiletries provided. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable, ensuring a good night's sleep.

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

Breakfast was great, particularly the bacon and sausages. All was freshly cooked and there was a good choice of food from the buffet.

Would definitely stay there if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwirlCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your time to review your time with us at the Hotel.
Its great to know that our team did well and that you enjoyed the services throughout the hotel.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future#
Kind regards,

Keith Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Could not fault the evening, great food, great service and a great venue. We went as a group of 6 and we were very well looked after from the moment we arrived to the time we left! We would be definitely going here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mw59wzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taken the time to review your stay.
I am pleased that the group enjoyed your time with us, and if you fancy escape to the country please give us a call.
Looking forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards,

Keith Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebush, Clunderwen Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A lovely place to stay the rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard. The spa is a bit small, Staff very friendly. Went on a Groupon voucher so very good value. Would recommend to other People. Breakfast was good with a good choice. Overall a very nice Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantmawrcheeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I am pleased your enjoyed your break with us.
The spa is to be enjoyed by our guests only and for the size of the hotel its of a sufficient size as we only allow two people in there the same time for them to enjoy the Sauna & Spa pool.
The Groupon deal that we had was a great value for money and hopefully if we should have another offer you may come back and see us.

Kind regards,
Keith Eaton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle Emlyn
10.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
783 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
440 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
447 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
713 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlyn Hotel

Property: Emlyn Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing