We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find”
Review of Emlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emlyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing find”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had a 3 night stay here, one word describes it Amazing, I was in contact with the hotel about 6 weeks prior to me arriving as it was a surorise for my partner, and they could not have been more helpful during this period if they tried, then upon arrival how welcoming the hotel was, we were shown around the hotel facilities and escorted to our room, the ambiance in the bar in the evenings was great and the the freindliness of the staff was throughout the hoek not just the reception, Breakfast was a challenge, on what to have such a choice e nights we stayed and three different breakfasts we had as there was so much choice. the Staff were knowledgeable about the local area and gave us guidence on which of the local pubs to use and they got this spot on,afternoon tea is a must have should you be in the mood like all the food in the hotel this was really great and again great choices to have. the restaurant evening meal was somthing to behold, the quality and choice was again just Amazing and tasted as Amazing as it was presented. Our room was very comfortable and well furnished and everything in it we wanted. To sum it up Location, Staff,food, ambience, All Amazing, felt like I turned up a friend and left the best of Friends. Special thanks to Caris in all her help in everything she done for us before and during our stay to make it such a memorable one and all the staff kept the secret well until I proposed could have not choosen a better hotel to Propose in Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barker1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
First of all Congratulation from Myself & the Team

I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and that we ticked all the boxes to what was a very special occasion for yourselves.

I sure hope that you will come and see us again in the near future and maybe we can help you to celebrate your 1st Wedding Anniversary!

All the best to you both in the Future,

Kind regards,

Keith Eaton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    138
    28
    16
    14
See reviews for
88
301
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked at short notice a one night stay. The hotel is lovely, recently refurbished to a high standard. Likes to support local traders and artists. The reception staff were helpful. The evening meal really tasty. The bedroom was clean, spacious and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was really good value and introduced us to a great locally made marmalade as well as laverbread. The waitresses at breakfast made us very welcome. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.Great to here you enjoyed the hotel and our michelin recommended restaurant.We hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked a two night weekend break (Saturday/Sunday) through one of the many on-line discount voucher sites. First experiences of the hotel were very good. There is plenty of parking to the rear of the hotel (some of the bays are obscured by large metal pillars so beware of those), and the reception area was tastefully decorated. We received a warm welcome and were shown to our large room on the top floor of the hotel. We couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, and decoration was again very well chosen. Both the evening meal and breakfast the following day were served in the restaurant. The food was delicious, of excellent quality, and the generous portion size resulting in a much needed hike on Sunday to work off the calories. We also ate in the restaurant on Sunday evening, by now a lot less busy. The hotel has two areas centrally served by a well stocked bar. One with a TV, and the other with relaxing armchairs & sofas. I can recommend trying the cocktails!!!
My only criticism would be regarding sound insulation between some of the rooms (I believe other reviewers have also mentioned this). The majority of the Hotel is constructed with substantial stone walls, but where dividing walls have been constructed to create other rooms and bathrooms, the sound seems to come straight through the walls. I wonder if any sound insulation was fitted between the divisions? Having said that, Sunday night was very peaceful and quiet, so no neighbours having a splash about in the bath.
All in all, a very pleasant stay, very relaxing, the owners and staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent (compliments to the chef and his team), and other than the minor gripe with the room we would definitely consider coming back.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with solid walls all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurboNutter810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
thank you for for your review.We are deleighted you enjoyed your stay with us As regard the sound insulation all of our rooms conform to building regulations for sound proofing but sometimes sound does travel.We hope this did not detract from you enjoying your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights over Christmas. The food was amazing. The staff were lovely. Our room was very comfortable and spotless. The whole experience was wonderful and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for your review ,great to here you enjoyed your christmas break.We hope to see you next christmas if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night and as all the other posts suggest the hotel is well maintained and a very high standard, The only issue is you can't teach all your guests about comon courtousey, We were kept up all night by a very loud tv from another room, (I mean all night) dispite being asked to turn it down it just ended up loud again. Wall mounted TVs tend to vibrate sound through all surrounding rooms and maybe the walls they are place upon needs to be looked at. this did spoil our stay and would make us think long and hard before returning as the next day we were just tired and just wanted to go home.

Room Tip: check where your room is
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aplacetovisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.We were so sorry to here that you did no have a good nights sleep on your recent visit.Unfortunately some times people do not have any consideration for others.We have a night porter on duty from 11.00pm to 7.00am and a phone call to the reception may have solved the problem allowing the porter to contact the room concerned.I do hope you return to visit us where I am sure you would not encounter a noise problem again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel following a 3 night groupon purchase. When we arrived at the hotel we were impressed with the tasteful decor inside. The hotel receptionist even remembered me from telephone booking and was extremely helpful showing us to our room ( great first impression).
The room was a great size, immaculately clean and provided us with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We were so happy each day our tea/coffee/biscuits were replaced.
Breakfast did not disappoint, I would go as far to say its the best breakfast I have ever had. I couldnt wait long enough each morning pass onto staff how great the breakfast was.The meat is of great quality and the cockles add a great flavour. On our last day the breakfast/restaurant area was redecorated to a light and airy room.
The staff are highly recommended and couldnt help us enough if we had any enquiries. If your thinking of visiting the area and looking for somewhere to stay look no further than Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.To be mentioned as 5star is indeed an accolade in its self.We have just been recommended by Michelin so the hard work of my team and the many positive reviews posted by our customers must have had an impact .It was great to here you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed at this lovely historical hotel to attend a wedding party. Although it was only for one night, we had a small taste of the wonderful hospitality on offer. The staff are to be recommended on their friendly and helpful welcome and the service was great. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rooms decorated with lovely wooden furnature and modern fixtures and fittings. Plasma screen tv, hot beverages and kettle, hairdryer, large wardrobe, fresh white linen with warm duvet and welsh style blankets and matching pillows. The bed was really comfortable and blackout blinds helped in arestful sleep. Breakfast was lovely, full welsh breakfast on offer if you fancy cockles and lavabread.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.Great to here you enjoyed the wedding and the hotel facilities.I will pass on your praise to my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle Emlyn
10.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
806 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
10.7 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
455 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
720 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlyn Hotel

Property: Emlyn Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing