We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern rooms, excellent staff”
Review of Emlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emlyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in November on a Groupon deal with only previous Tripadvisor reviews to go on and we were very pleased with our stay.
The staff were excellent throughout finding that balance between friendliness and efficiency without being intrusive. When we arrived, the check in staff found our room had not been made in to a double, but they immediately offered to upgrade us to a suite rather than have us wait for someone to sort it out. This was an added bonus on a lovely weekend and it came not through a complaint but by the member of staff trying to get our weekend off to a good start.
The room itself was spacious and as the rest of the hotel was decorated to a modern and high standard.
We ate in the hotel both nights and found the quality of the food very good. The scrabbled egg muffin with smoked salmon at breakfast (along with other similar nice choices) was delicious and the salmon was plentiful.
It seems this hotel often runs deals, especially out of season, and if you can stay on one of these offers it is good value. Both the hotel and the customer win as ultimately the money saved on the hotel will end up in their tills through the good quality food and drinks on offer within the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardiff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. It is our pleasure to give out of season deals to the general public so that you may enjoy the Gwesty'r Emlyn experience. Please keep an eye on your emails for future deals thoughout the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Emlyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 568 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked the hotel through late hotel deals website for two nights – two different prices. Found the hotel relatively easily and secure parking was great. First night one other guest in the hotel and second night just us; surprised then, to find that we were on the top floor – four flights of quite steep stairs especially when carrying cases etc. We were told that lack of lift is because it is a listed building. Room was fine and newly refurbished, clean and well presented. Beds were ok. On reflection, room could have been a bit warmer especially as snow was forecast. From the hotel website you can see that some rooms are quite lavish and large; guess these are for those who book direct (?) Loved the fact that the hotel have used local companies to refurbish and decorate the rooms. Great welcome from reception staff - all other guests had checked out early because of red weather alert. First 10 mins free on wifi but then a charge which is disappointing in this day and age. Ordered bar meals and they were good and very well presented. Drinks menu showed good variety including cocktails but overall a bit expensive. Staff and management very attentive, chatty and most obliging.

Would recommend hotel for able bodied otherwise check first. Enjoyed our stay despite the weather - only issue for me was the foul language from a couple of local gents in the bar on the first night – not in keeping, not necessary and, for the standard of hotel, should really have been commented on. Would definitely stay again if only for the excellent Welsh breakfast from the Welsh chef. Interesting to note, however, that this is the main hotel in a small Welsh town but the second chef and one of the waitresses are from abroad and some other employees are English. While they are all lovely people, one is led to assumes therefore, that there is nil unemployment in Newcastle Emyln?

Room Tip: Check re stairs. No problem with noise when we stayed.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiltshire-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review the Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel and your many positive comments. We are sorry that you were put on the second floor but that's the way it worked out with our booking system as due to the inclement weather, we had a rather large number of cancelations, snow can play havock with any business. We appologise for the foul language that you overheard. If my staff would have heard it then the person responsible would have been reprimanded. 95% of our staff are Welsh and indeed welsh speaking however we do have a very good English Barman who's moved to the area and married a Welsh girl. We also have one of the top chefs in West Wales who is Latvian, Italo Veretas and together with Ian Williams, our Welsh Head Chef, are responsible for us being selected for the Michelin Guide for good food and accomodation 2013. We do hope that you return soon to the Gwesty'r Emlyn and if you ask in advance, we will try to accomodate you on a lower floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel hidden away

Plenty of free secure car parking

Decor fantastic in all rooms, clean and luxurious for such a small hotel in such a rural location. Reception checkin was easy and very quick. I was shown to my room and wlecomed to the Hotel. A table was reserved for me in the restaurant for 8pm so I had a drink in the bar which was rerally nice with good service

Upon arrival to the restaurant I was shown straight to my table the service was faultless considering there were a group of approx 20 eating at the same time, the food was amazing The restaurant is a real hidden gem, affordable and fantastic. Breakfast was also 1st class it was cooked fresh so was piping hot, good selection of fruit as well.

Highly recommended for the weary traveller

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller113355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and facilities. We look forward to meeting you again in the very near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

What a joy to stay in such a wonderful hotel, as the stars show everything was excellent. The staff were all very helpful, friendly and had a genuine sense of customer care.
The quality of food was outstanding and portion sizes not at all skimpy.
My one tiny criticism would be that if, like us you are not used to traffic noise (this is quite light I would add) possibly request a room at the back of the hotel.
We have recommended this hotel to many of our family, friends and colleagues already and would love to return soon.
To the lady (appologees for not remembering your name) who served us breakfast on the 4/1/13: we managed to get our sausages! Delicious. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicMan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My partner and I visit this hotel regularly for the Sunday lunchtime carvery. It's worth booking ahead, as it fills quickly (and the wise will aim to be seated and eating before 1pm, when the hoards arrive)

The staff are always attentive, and the food is consistently excellent - fresh, flavoursome, hot, with generous portions. The vegetables are a treat (look out for the swede, and for the divine cauliflower cheese), and there is usually a choice of turkey and two other meats.

Starters tend to fare better than the desserts (which are, I suspect bought in, which is a shame).

The bar offers an attractive range of wines by the bottle and the glass, and there is usually a real ale on draught, in addition to the usual nitrokeg suspects.

Mae'r rhan fwyaf o'r staff yn ddwyieithog.

If you're in the area, this is a safe bet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwleddwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Michelin Recommended restaurant after Sunday lunch. We were delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us, Chef has asked me to point out that his deserts are home made. Next time you are in with us, please don't hesitate to remind him. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had enough of christmas cooking, so decided to go out for a treat. First impression of the hotel was oh dear! we were greated by a big canopy housing a huge amount of solar panels. We entered Ty Nest and were surprised by the beauty of the hall. We were shown to our table,and went for the carvery.The food was beautiful,I could not have cooked better myself. Usually with carvery, they tast the same,but this one I could not have found any fault and the taste was out of this world. If you decide to go for Sunday lunch at Gwesty Emlyn book in advance,as the are very busy. One piece of advice,have handrails instaled on the wall on the way up to the toilets.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sunday lunch that you enjoyed at the Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. Sorry that you weren't impressed by our Solar Canopy but it is an undercover parking area for your convenience which also doubles up to do our little bit for the planet. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our first family Christmas away and a break we were all very much looking forward to. We arrived on Christmas Eve to a very warm welcome before sitting doen to a delcicious lunch. All the food is sourced locally, the dishes freshly prepared in the hotel kitchen and portfion sizes are probably the most generous I have ever experienced.

Without exception the staff were outstanding and Keith the GM made every effort to ensure that all guests had an enjoyable time. Infact, I cannot recall a situation at any other hotel I have stayed in where every aspect of the stay was so enjoyable and the staff so efficient and friendly.

Christmas lunch was amazing and the chef and his team ought to be congratulated for their high standards. There must have been about 100 or so for lunch and there was no sacrifice of quality as one would expect from a large sitting. Everything was perfectly cooked and the waiting staff were excellent.

This is a great find and we will certainly return in the future. Congratulation and thank you to Keith and all the staff at the Gwesty'r Emlyn for making this such a memorable Christmas. Well done guys - you nailed it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BullRun66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review of your Christmas stay at the Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your Christmas break was all it should have been. We hope to see you next Chistmas where you will be more than welcome to our now Michelin recommended Hotel and Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle Emlyn
10.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
835 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
10.7 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
466 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,205 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlyn Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range: $95 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing