We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Emlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emlyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Situted in the market town of Newcastle Emlyn which borders Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire and Cardiganshire this newly refurbished hotel was a delight. The rooms were well thought out, the public areas stylish and the staff very welcoming. I really enjoyed my brief stay and hope to return soon ..... Oh and the food was good to - enjoyed my big breakfast!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gwestyr Emlyn.We are so glad you enjoyed your business break with us and hope you return to visit us in the near future.
Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 573 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Had to visit West Wales with little notce and found this hotel on late rooms .com. On arrival we received a warm welcome and were shown to one of the suites that as with the rest of the hotel had been very tastefully refurbished. The room was very well appointed and very comfortable and all guest needs catered for. The bathroom facilities were as luxurious with a well proportioned walk in showert. The food in the restaurant was very tasty as was breakfast the following morning where the menu choice was extensive. All staff that I encountered throughout the visit were all helpful,courteous and professional, a good team for an obviously great hotel.

Room Tip: gwenllyn suite very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arty54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

We thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel and are deleighted you enjoyed your short break with us .We look forward to you returning in the near future.
Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here as part of a groupon offer. We got a very good deal. On arrival staff were quick to show us to our room which has been recently refurbished. We had a little explore and a few drinks in the lovely contemporary bar area. Despite the hotel being full it was surprisingly peaceful and the bar was quiet. The bar tender was very pleasant and we chatted about local tourist attractions. After a few drinks we had dinner in the restaurant which was to a good standard and very reasonably priced. After a lovely two course meal we retired to the bar where we chatted to the bar staff and manager, and then at ten ish the chefs came into the bar and we all had a nice drink and chat. I must say that although all staff were busy it was as if they made time to have a chat and it was great that the hotel manager made time and what a great guy!
We spoke about the food with the chefs and asked about local dishes not on the menu. This followed a lovely rack of lamb on the Saturday night (lucky me!)
Saturday night was also brilliant and there was an acoustic guitar singer which really was great and not cheesy at all. Finally we had a great stay all staff were great sometimes a little quirky but hey that's why we like to stay in Great Little gems like this.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Mr Driver,
We all have been very pleased to read your review on your resent stay with us at the end of June. Thank you for your positive and encouraging comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Should you need any assistance for future reservations do no hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards, Keith Eaton (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here after having found a great deal on Groupon. We arrived on friday evening to a friendly greeting from the receptionist who signed us in quickly and showed us to our room. Our room (Ty Meddyg) was at the very end of the hotel and was one of the most recently refurbished. It was tastefully decorated, decently sized and very welcoming. A previous reviewer has mentioned the smell of fresh paint was over powering in Ty Bont, a room next to ours and refurbished the at the same time, I cannot say that I noticed any smell of paint, just a general smell of newness but did not deem it acrid.The bathroom had a large double shower and the mirror had very attractive LED lights in set in it. The only thing that I would have improved on was a blind for the bathroom window as the room is set on an area where people frequently walk past and although the glass is frosted i'm sure that when the light is on that people would be able to at least be able to make out your shape in the shower! The room is also set very near the function suite that has music played on weekends, we could hear the music from our room but thankfully due to reading a previous review we came armed with ear plugs! As I mentioned the windows are on ground level so I didn't feel at ease leaving them open so the room was very stuffy over night so the next day we requested a fan and when we returned from lunch out it had helpfully been put in our room for us so it remedied the problem and we slept well the following night. The food in the restaurant is first class. Very tasty! I'm quite a fussy eater so for me there wasn't a huge choice but what I did order was delicious as was dessert. The second night we ate in the bar where the menu included a bit more variation, even though it was very busy there and the staff were clearly under pressure they still remained polite, helpful, friendly and attentive. I ordered a chicken madras and was served beef, when I informed the staff they were apologetic and rectified the mistake quickly and although I was a bit later starting my meal than my partner I did not mind as the pimms was so tasty! When the correct madras arrived it was again a lovely meal. The main areas of the hotel are very warm and inviting. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them. It was nice to see the manager interacting with guests, seeing how their stay was going and making people feel welcome. The leisure facilities are very well equipped. The hot tub would sit about 5 people comfortably but we luckily had it to ourselves, very relaxing! The only thing was that on the bubble setting it was splashing water out on to the floor which concerned me a little as the floor was tiled. The sauna was lovely and quite large, towels were provided for us too. The gym contains everything you would expect to find in a larger gym (except on a smaller scale), the only thing they could use there is a water dispenser. The only thing that bothered me a little was that we were unable to get a wifi signal in our room, we came for a break so it was not a huge deal but to someone on business perhaps it would be more of an issue. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we have joined the mailing list to receive future offers and will hopefully get the opportunity to return! A lovely hotel in a very picturesque town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Bethan T,

Thank you for your recent stay at Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel and for taking the time to pass your comments on to us from your stay.We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals in the Restaurant and I apologize about the slight mistake when you ordered Chicken Madras and you were presented with Beef. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, should you need any assistance for future bookings do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Keith Eaton (General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Spent two nights here and nothing to complain of at all, everything good. Lovely clean hotel, good beds, shower, nice food (we eat in twice), free parking onsite, gym, sauna, whirlpool bath (all free). All the hotel staff we met were excellent, all eager to please, they've got a top team together there. Well done! If there was a slight negative for me it would be the wifi, so many hotels provide it free nowadays but here you have ten minutes of very slow free time before you have to pay £2.50 an hour. I decided to pay for an hour and the wifi is obviously farmed out to a separate company, you don't pay the hotel, you have to enter all your card details online, I gave up at that point.

Room Tip: We had room 21, it's at the back, top floor, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omeyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Omeyas,

Thank you for your lovely review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read all your positive comments on the Hotel and Staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and all our future guests you have encouraged with your recommendation. Should you need any assistance for your future stay do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Keith Eaton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Firstly, I've given this hotel the rating it deserves. The noise did become a problem but this was no fault of the hotel...

Booked a two night weekend stay at this hotel to use as a base for exploring the Pembrokeshire Coast. Thoroughly impressed by the hotel and how accommodating the staff were. Upon arrival, the lady on reception upgraded our stay by showing us to a newly refurbished room which was a self-contained premise along the side of the main hotel. It appeared to be a converted shop frontage. The room was called 'Ty Bont' and the internal furnishing was at a very high and impressive standard. The walk-in shower was of high quality, contemporary and plenty of room. Equally, the room itself was brand new - so new that the smell of paint was strong and acrid. In addition to this, the room is directly on ground level and near to the road (only a few metres) meaning that vehicle traffic was loud and resonant, and above were the function room toilets, so people could be heard walking along the hard floors and using the hand-dryers! We gave it ten minutes to debate whether these faults would impact on our stay and in the end, decided to call reception. Staff were happy to accommodate and helpfully gave us a room within the main hotel on the first floor. Similarly, this room was of a very high standard with a separate sitting room with TV, settee and tea/coffee making facilities. With neutral decor and furnishings, this room was tasteful and impressive. Because we arrived late on the first day, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the cooking and presentation. Scallops, rack of lamb and fish dishes can be found on their stunning menu and would definitely recommend giving the restaurant a try.

If you stay at this hotel on a weekend, you will probably hear loud music and shouting from the nearby late-nigh pub called the 'Bunch of Grapes'. Or as the locals called it: 'The Flying Chair'. The booming base could still be heard after midnight and in the early hours a fight broke out immediately outside the hotel with shrieking voices echoing off the buildings. However, overall we still enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would happily book there again - just maybe not on a weekend! The quality of the hotel and helpfulness of the staff made a pleasant stay regardless of the noise.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Gwestyr Emlyn hotel.We have had some recent refurbishment which explains the smell of paint.We have also had sound proofing installed together with secondary glazing for noise issues.This has elivated the problems with neighbouring proprety where our young generation hang out.We all look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here with my hubby for weekend break , All staff of the hotel were very helping and loved the atmosphere around. Lovely relaxing break. Room decor was perfect , Nice clean crisp look.

We would recommand this hotel

Definately visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuntyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle Emlyn
10.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
866 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
10.7 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
479 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
735 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlyn Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range: $96 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing