We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ludo's - CLOSED

Ludo's
Cuisines: British, European
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Tal-y-Bont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had been meaning to come to Ludo's for a while but as we live far away had not managed. It was worth the wait. Lovely décor ( not sure about the mirrors though, a bit too "megalomaniac"...), excellent service and a warm welcome for humans and dogs (by Darren?) . Good value for money 3 course lunch . Very nice food. But some of the dishes spoilt by addition of "salt flakes" on top. Slightly disappointed as not as French as I was hoping. Also no reply to e mails and message on answerphone when we wanted to book. But would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwmleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food small portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited on a Thursday night and the food was good but portions far too small! We felt that it was extremely expensive for the amount of food, pleasant atmosphere good staff but more to eat please!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“£44 for inedible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were the only couple in that evening. The bread offered at the beginning of the meal was supermarket pap. The special had been on for several days and it showed. The pear and cheese starter, with what seemed to be packet crutons was flavourless, and the cheese beignets were also flavourless, The main course was ox cheek, obviously cooked many days before, looked unappetising and tasted vinegary with an unpleasant flavour. The carrots looked as if they had been boiled to death, prepared days before, warmed up and were opaque . The polenta was dry on the outside and tasted of nothing. We left most of the main course, we just could nor eat it. My wife visited the loo and noticed only one BLACK towel in the washroom. This seemed to be unhygienic but the waiter assured us that the towel was changed every other day, although they have a potential 50 covers a night! Our biggest mistake was that we paid, never again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“STYLE AND VALUE COMBINED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We (a group of friends) have visited Ludo's several times in the past year and have always found the ambiance pleasant, the service friendly and competent, the food excellent and very good value.
The menus are varied and they include very good vegetarian options ... so good that even the meat eaters among us select from the vegetarian options from time to time.
One of our number usually makes the booking ... which is advisable if you want to be sure to get a table (and arrive when it is actually open!)
The facilities are always clean and pleasant, and there is free car parking (off-road) outside the restaurant ... which IS inside an old pub, so look out for that along the road (it is near to CK's supermarket).
Having said that, it is not like an old pub inside ... there is a smart bar to sit at for pre-dinner drinks, and the internal setting is contemporary.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank georgiahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best restaurant found so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just dined at Ludo's for the first time and immediately booked for a family party next month. Food was absolutely delicious and the service excellent. A real find!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 479SueH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ludo's also viewed

Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire
Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire
 
Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire
Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing