We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle Emlyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blaenfforest Cottage Holidays
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed in the Cottage in late April 2012, the Cottage was very comfortable and well equipped with just about everything you could need. It was extremely clean & well decorated.The surroundings are beautiful and peaceful with a pleasant woodland path. There are numerous attractions in the area if you can drag yourselves away from The Cottage.
We recommend Blaenfforest wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyandRussell, Owner at Blaenfforest Cottage Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review David, we really appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Sally & Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family and I rented both cottages, The Dairy and The Granary, in July/August 2011 and had the most perfect holiday. Both houses are beautifully decorated, with lovely furnishings and well-equipped. Sally and Russell were both very welcoming of the children (6 and 9) and our dog and insisted that we made ourselves at home in the grounds of the farm.

The children loved all the wild-life and farm animals, especially the cats, and it was great to have a fenced-off area for the dog so that he wasn't restricted to the house. There was a lovely welcoming pack when we arrived and the eggs from the farm were among the best that I have ever eaten.

Whilst the farm itself is quite secluded it is still easy to travel about and we visited many local attractions.

I would recomment Blaenfforest to anyone looking for a holiday let in Wales. My daughter describes it as the best holiday she has ever had!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyandRussell, Owner at Blaenfforest Cottage Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Just wanted to say 'thank you' for your lovely review.
Sally & Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Myself and my partner visited and stayed in the new addition to the blaenfforest holiday accomodation, The Granery, and had a fantastic holiday in early March 2012.

We thought the accomodation itself was fantastic, clean, smart and well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The starter pack that was provided was lovely - including fresh eggs and honey from the grounds. There is plenty of information on how to make the most of the local area - and Sally and Russell are ownly too happy to help with any tips and advice.The cottages and location are ideal for a range of visitors, including couples and families.

The local area was beautifull - we would highly recommend a visit to the local cheese farm - where you can view the cheese being made as well as sample before you buy! (The challenge is not buying all of them!) We also went on a coasteering experience which was around 50 mins drive away, with celtic quest coasteering - a great location and great fun! We explored the local roads and footpaths and would recommend the cottages as a good base to go walking, running or biking from.

Sally and Russell provide a warm welcome, are great hosts and at hand to help you make the most from your holiday - thank you and we will be back!!!

Paul and Grace, Nottingham.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Granery but the cottage would also be ideal for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyandRussell, Owner at Blaenfforest Cottage Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive review. I'm really pleased that you and Grace had such a great time and enjoyed all that Blaenfforest has to offer. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at Blaenfforest the Dairy Cottage in May 2010. We could not have chosen better. The cottage had all we could have dreamed of. The owners Sally and Russell who own the farm and cottages live next door and you would could not have better neighbours. The area is ideal for a day out in any direction.
G&B YORKSHIRE

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank geoff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Firstly, I must admit a vested interest in reviewing Blaenfforest Cottage Holidays as my wife and I (and our three young sons) lived the ‘Good Life’ and farmed at Blaenfforest from 1975 to 1987 (when there weren’t actually any holiday cottages at the smallholding), so we weren’t exactly strangers to the place when we first returned for a four day stay in the self-catering dairy cottage in October 2009. We enjoyed our nostalgic visit so much that we have just spent a wonderful week there with our three sons (who hadn’t been back since 1987), their wives/ partners, and our five grandchildren, this time hiring the dairy cottage plus the recently-converted granary.

Blaenfforest is reached down a half-mile sloping, hard-surfaced track, leading off a minor country road; our Nissan Note sailed along it, and over the years we have managed it quite easily with vehicles ranging from Morris Minors, through Volvos, VW Golf, Ford Focus, Skoda Octavia and various vans. The dairy cottage and granary are lovely conversions of the old farm buildings, with all mod-cons but still retaining the essential character of the originals. The cottages easily met all our needs during our stay – they were beautifully clean, tidy, warm, and comfortable, and everything there worked as it should. Heating and electricity were included in the rental, and all bedding and towels were provided. Each cottage has plenty of parking space, and each has a fenced sitting-out area with table, chairs, parasol, barbecue etc. so that visitors can take their ease there if they so wish. Complete access is allowed to all areas of the holding including the garden (with wonderful separate double pond area), old orchard, fields, babbling stream (actually the parish boundary), and a newly-constructed undulating woodland walk along the stream and through the wooded slopes (which the younger grandchildren delighted in using as a running circuit).

Sally and Russell Jones, are wonderful hosts -friendly, helpful and a fount of useful information. They welcomed us with much-appreciated ‘goodies packs’ of good wine, luxurious chocolate truffles, and half a dozen of their lovely farm eggs, and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. Sally and Russell have many years of agricultural experience under their belts, so we were pleased to see that Blaenfforest is still a ‘proper’ working smallholding with authentic Welsh Black cattle (who still sported their horns in approved manner), lots of assorted poultry, including chickens, guinea fowl, call ducks, and some artistocratic peacocks. (Unfortunately bureaucracy and economics have all but put an end to small-scale keeping of dairy cattle, pigs, and small numbers of sheep). There was also a patriarchal tomcat and two adolescent black kittens. Lots of local wildlife, and birds aplenty (including ubiquitous buzzards and magnificent red kites).

Blaenforrest cottages are ideally situated for exploring the countryside and coast of south-west Wales About 3 miles from the bustling Carmarthenshire market town of Newcastle Emlyn (with its medieval castle ruins overlooking dramatic loops in the River Teifi – which separates Carmarthenshire to the south from Ceredigion on the northern bank – and livestock marts on Tuesdays and Thursdays, quirky independently-owned shops, two small supermarkets, and a plethora of cafes, pubs, restaurants etc). A few miles downstream towards Cardigan town, the southern bank of the Teifi transforms itself seamlessly into Pembrokeshire, and, from Cenarth down, coracles can still be seen fishing for salmon. Half an hour’s drive will bring you to the southern Ceredigion coast (from Aberaeron in the north towards the sandy beaches of New Quay, Cwmtudu, Llangranog, Mwnt, Poppit), then from the start of the Pembrokeshire Coast Path at St. Dogmaels to Ceibwr, Newport, Dinas Head and Fishguard, with easy access then to the Irish ferries connecting to Rosslare and beyond, or southwards across the hills to Carmarthen. An hour’s drive will take you north to Aberystwyth, south-west to St, Davids, Haverfordwest and the Preseli ridge, south to Tenby, Saundersfoot, Pendine, Pembrey, Kidwelly, Swansea, and east to Llandeilo and the southern Cambrian mountains. The Teifi offers good game fishing (salmon, sewin), and there should still be plenty of fish in the sea (even after the Cardigan Bay dolphins and seals have had their fill).

Our stay at Blaenfforest cottage did not disappoint – the years fell away – and this peaceful, wonderful place, in its idyllic location, cast its magic spell over us once more. We certainly hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed in the converted Dairy- a cottage made for two, in a tranquil setting for those who love watching the birds, strolling in the garden or through the woodland on return from the many beautiful beaches or places of interest nearby.
The cottage was like our own hotel suite, small but well equipped with everything you need to cook for yourself or near enough to local eateries if you want to be waited on.
Sally and Russell were perfect hosts, unintrusive yet on hand if you needed anything. On arrival you are met with a warm welcome welcome and every comfort for a relaxing holiday.
Well worth the cost and a return visit.

Room Tip: There is a cottage for 4 available too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pernickity15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Since we discovered this cottage set in a most tranquil and serene setting some years ago, we have returned several times to Blaenfforest Cottage. We have always received a very warm welcome on our arrival, and the proprietors, Mr & Mrs Jones have been excellent hosts each time we have satyed at the cottage; nothing has been too much trouble for them and they have always more than fulfilled our expectations. We have been allowed to wander through the gardens, around the beautiful pond, the meadow and the woods with our dog. The owners are very dog-friendly, and our dog has always been made very welcome. For dog-owners, Poppit Sands, near Cardigan, only approximately 10 miles away is a dog-walkers' paradise. Aberporth and Tresaith beaches are easily accessible too. The owners have made several recent improvements to the property, and they have plans for yet further improvements. Latterly, the owners have added further accomodation, known as the Granary; this has two bedrooms, each with modern en-suite shower / toilet, etc; the bedrooms sleep four. Both, Blaenfforest Cottage and the Granary are the ideal place to stay if all you want is to re-charge your batteries in a most enchanting and peaceful enviorenment.
Shopping is only just over a couple of miles away at Newcastle Emelyn, If one does not wish to go out on long drives, nearby Canarth is only about six miles away, it is a most beautiful spot on the River Teifi; it houses Welsh Coracle Centre, there are walks along the riverside, as well as a couple of pubs which serve good bar meals. Should one wish to wander further afield, the Cardiganshire and the Pembrokeshire coasts and villages are within easy reach of Blaenfforest. Carmarthenshire, with its pleasant countryside is very close at hand as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandyWetherby_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blaenfforest Cottage Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaenfforest Cottage Holidays

Address: Blaenfforest, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9JD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range: $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blaenfforest Cottage Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaenfforest Cottages are in a perfect holiday location from which to explore the stunning countryside and beaches of West Wales. Both cottages offer luxury 4 star self catering accommodation and have exposed beams, a wealth of original features and free WiFi. They also have enclosed courtyards ready for you to unwind and relax and each Cottage has sole use of its own Jacuzzi Spa. Pets are welcome at a small extra charge. Blaenfforest is also home to old fashioned poultry, peacocks, guinea fowl and bees in the orchard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing