We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't hesitate to stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maes-Y-Derw Country House

Maes-Y-Derw Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle Emlyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maes-Y-Derw Country House
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have just stayed here for the second time and were every bit as impressed with the standard as the first time which was two years ago. Katherine and Carl are perfect hosts and make sure their guests have everything they need. The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated with antiques. One other guest mentioned that there were no biscuits in the room and wondered why. I am sure Katherine would be more than happy to supply some if you asked for them. They like to provide as much quality as possible this is why they bring you up fresh milk and don't give you little packaged tubs of UHT milK. Katherine is a very good cook so I am sure she always has a few biscuits in the cupboard in case of need. She did bring us cake when we arrived (this might depend on the time of day). Breakfast is copious, I can't imagine how someone had a problem with the porridge portion....how much can one person eat at a time...because after the porridge you can have a fry and toast and more of anything if you wish. Free parking and lovely views, nice walks etc etc. The Woollen Mills are very interesting to visit, only a few miles away. Thanks Katherine and Carl....hopefully we will be back again some day!

Room Tip: If you feel cold just ask for the heating to be turned up. No point heating a house for it's gho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pebbles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
32
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Excellent country house in an outstanding location. The hosts were professional and friendly, providing a warm welcome and an excellent service. The menu and quality of food was superb and the entire hotel was spotlessly clean. Parking and access was very good and quite a few hours were spent sitting in the grounds admiring the view. Every effort has been made to identify local amenities and tourist attractions for the guests. Definitely will return and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderful four night stay with Katherine and Carl in their beautiiful home. Sadly the weather was not too kind for the first two days but this did not spoil our trip as we followed Katherine,s advise and spent a wonderful half day at the nearby Wool museum watching the process of making a blanket from fleece to finished product. The home baked bread and preserves were delicious as was the beautifully cooked breakfast and the provision of fresh milk for a late evening/early morning brew was a real plus and a great improvement in those horrible little milk sachets that most B&B's provide. The rooms are lovely and spacious and the antique furniture adds to the ambiance of this lovely Edwardian house. The area has so much to offer and we hope to be back again in the future for more rest and relaxation! Thank you once again to our wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just had a three night stay at this lovely house that is immaculately kept throughout. It was very beautiful and we were made welcome by Katherine and Karl. It is in a great location and Katherine and Carl both made suggestions of walks in the area to try, providing maps and personal recommendation. Our room was very beautiful with lovely views over the front garden. On a negative note, several references were made to the expensive furnishings in the house and the Edwardian stained glass in the front door and how guests would be asked to pay if any damages occurred. I don't think we gave any indication that we would be anything other than caring and careful guests but it was rather off putting to be told this on our arrival and then later during our stay. I'm sure Katherine did not mean to cause any offense but it left us wondering if we were really wanted in the house. One other point I would make was that although the food was lovely, it was a very up market presentation and not what I would class as a 'hearty full English'. Porridge was offered (and really lovely, too) but served in a tiny portion. Also, although tea and coffee was available in our room and fresh milk, there were no biscuits to accompany our cup of tea although this is standard at other B&Bs we have stayed in. I want to stress that the food is really beautiful here, Katherine is a wonderful cook but our experience and opinion seems to be different from some of the other reviews here. I would be interested to know what other guests who were there at the same time as us felt as in conversation with them there was some agreement on the points I have made. Still over all, this is a lovely B&B and we were grateful to Katherine and Carl for sharing their home with us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dontlikeroughinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just back from a mini break at this excellent Country House, we were made extremely welcome by Katherine and her husband Carl. The house is immaculately kept throughout, we stayed in the Towy guest room overlooking the long driveway and fields in the distance. A very comfortable room with everything you need to hand. On our arrival we were greeted with a piece of freshly baked Walnut & date cake, homemade of course.
The one point I would like to emphasise is we took our cocker spaniel as we do on every mini break we have, and she was also made very welcome, and I would recommend that if you like taking a small well behaved dog on holidays then this is the perfect choice. There are plenty of walks in the immediate area surrounding the house, and it is only a ten minute walk into Newcastle Emlyn. It is always handy to have dog walking facilities nearby when travelling with your pet, especially for early morning strolls.
On the whole I would definitely recommend this small and friendly hotel, and will probably return again in the future.
Dave , Sally & Meg

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This wonderful little hotel is perfect for a weekend getaway or holiday but is absolutely perfect for the single (and especially - lady) traveller. Katherine and Carl were superb hosts, welcoming, attentive, knowledgeable and superbly professional. As a single traveller Katherine and Carl welcome you to join them in the kitchen in front of the Aga for supper which was beauifully cooked by Katherine. Food is locally sourced and prepared by Katherine and her preserves, breads and porridge all made in Aga are just to die for. The rooms were spotless and the whole house was beautifully and tastefully decorated and furnished with great antiques and carefully chosen pieces many which are just perfect in the surroundings. Feather pillow and quilts make for a great night sleep and this is just THE place to unwind after a busy day at work. The prices are extremely competetive - so I urge you to give Kathering and Carl a try. I can assure any single traveller - be it a business or pleasure trip, that you you will be warmly welcomed and well and truly spoilt. Thank you Katherine and Carl

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

As a single woman business traveller staying in hotels and B&Bs can be a dispiriting and depressing experience. In big hotels especially you are reduced just to being a room number but not at Maes -Y- Derw. The welcome is what you would expect from an old friend you haven't seen in a while, the rooms are comfortable and well appointed and feel more like home than a sterile hotel room ever can. Katherine is also an excellent cook and for some reason thought I needed feeding up, she isn't mean with her portions! The Girls, the resident chickens and ducks, provide excellent eggs for breakfast and as an added extra there is home made, jams, pickles and chutneys to work your way through. I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle Emlyn hotels
0.6 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melin Pandy
Melin Pandy
#1 of 5 in Newcastle Emlyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-Y-Derw Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-Y-Derw Country House

Property: Maes-Y-Derw Country House
Address: Maes y Derw Cardigan Road, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9RD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impressive 5-Star Edwardian House, a short walk from the picturesque town of Newcastle Emlyn. Commands views over Teifi Valley with private fishing available. Three en-suite rooms, all immaculately presented, offering a balance of contemporary touches such as Plasma Digital TVs and Wi-Fi with a plethora of antiques and Edwardian features. The extensive Welsh breakfast menu includes locally made sausages and Penclawdd lava bread. Homemade items include fruit compote, marmalade, jams and breads. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing